We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”
Review of Roughan Lough B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Roughan Lough B&B
Ranked #4 of 6 Dungannon B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 November 2012

We stayed here for four nights. The rooms were very clean and the breakfasts were very good. We stayed in the ensuite which had plenty of room and has a separate sitting room. This is much better than staying in a hotel! Anne and Ken are really helpful. The lake in front of the b&b is lovely.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pitufy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
There are newer reviews for Roughan Lough B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2012

Roughan Lough B&B is a perfect demonstration of how much better a B&B can be as compared with a motel or hotel! "Everything it said on the tin" (their website) and so much more - from a lovely welcome, exceptionally clean and comfortable room, choice of breakfasts, and right down to the details like fresh milk on the tea/coffee tray. A lovely quiet location - hardly another house in sight - with a wonderful view over the lough. We started most days with a walk round the lough, getting distant views of the Mountains of Mourne away to the South and the Sperrin Mountains to the North.

We soon felt "part of the family", and were genuinely sad to have to say "goodbye" to Anne and Ken after our stay with them. We have no doubts about recommending Roughan Lough to anyone - you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoughanLoughbandb59, Owner at Roughan Lough B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2012

Thank you Graham for taking the time to say such nice things. Looking after you both was an absolute pleasure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

We had a very pleasant stay at Roughan Lough. The rooms were spotless, and the beds were comfortable. The suite downstairs was enormous - plenty of room for a family with a sitting room and ensuite bathroom. Anne made a tasty and filling breakfast and was an absolutely lovely hostess. She and her husband were very helpful with directions and information about the area. We felt very welcome.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TxCaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

I have stayed in this B&B many times due to I was working in the area and I really like it. Anne and Ken made me feel as part of the family. The rooms are beautiful and very clean, the food is great and the location and views are amazing. I highly recommend this B&B if you are in business or if you are on a holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Purple7341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoughanLoughbandb59, Owner at Roughan Lough B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post this generous review. We are happy to accomodate people working away from home, should you need early breakfasts, dinner or the odd toastie if you end up working late.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

A fantastic B&B. The hosts were very welcoming and accommodating. It was also incredible value for money. The traditional Irish breakfast in the morning was a highlight. Would stay here again for sure.

Room Tip: The family room has a double bed and a pair of twin beds in the same room with a private lounge and...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrahamThompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoughanLoughbandb59, Owner at Roughan Lough B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

Thanks for your comments Graham. It was a pleasure looking after such lovely guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We stayed here for a few nights whilst in Ireland for a wedding recently and had such a nice time. We felt so at home I almost forgot we were going to have to pay when we left. Anne the owner makes you feel welcome from the moment you arrive and Ken her husband, is extremely friendly and welcoming too.
The cooked breakfast is a real treat and sets you up for the day. It isn't just a big breakfast it is a lovingly cooked breakfast with good quality ingredients. The breakfast room is also very nice looking out over the lake.
I would recommend this place highly and look forward our next visit.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happyhubby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoughanLoughbandb59, Owner at Roughan Lough B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

Thank you for taking the time to do such a lovely review. Look forward to seeing you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

What a comfortable house! The curragh and castle around Roughan Lough are nice local sites, with lots of cows around. This is an excellent base for visiting the O'Neill family sites: Grianan Ailech, Tullyhogue Fort, Dungannon (weep for the O'Neills), Shane's Castle, The O'Neill Chair in the Ulster Museum, and the site of the Battle of the Yellow Ford (1598). We stayed in a lovely suite and Mr. and Mrs. Badger were most helpful and can arrange local tours, such as to peat bogs and craft shops.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank KeenonTheKeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROUGHANLOUGHBANDB, Owner at Roughan Lough B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write such a generous review. It was lovely to share in your enthusiasm and trade information on The O'Neills and to hear of other family origins in the South. Looking forward to more O'Neill links.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dungannon
8.1 mi away
Charlemont House
Charlemont House
#2 of 6 in Dungannon
31 reviews
6.4 mi away
Grange Lodge
Grange Lodge
#1 of 6 in Dungannon
49 reviews
2.8 mi away
Tullylagan Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#2 of 10 in Cookstown
253 reviews
5.1 mi away
Glenavon House Hotel
Glenavon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Cookstown
393 reviews
4.7 mi away
Kensington Lodge B&B
Kensington Lodge B&B
#3 of 6 in Dungannon
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roughan Lough B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roughan Lough B&B

Address: 59 Roughan Road | Newmills Dungannon Co.Tyrone, Dungannon BT71 4EW, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Tyrone > Dungannon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Dungannon
Price Range: £66 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious,comfortable farmhouse bed and breakfast accommodation. Home cooked food, evening meal available on request.Half way between Belfast and Fermanagh. 3 miles off A29 Cookstown / Dungannon Road. Convenient stop for people traveling up from Southern Ireland. Locked garage for motorcycles. Dogs kept in adjacent farmyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Roughan Lough B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roughan Lough B&B Dungannon, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing