We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WHAT A LITTLE GEM IN STRABANE”
Review of Oysters

Oysters
Ranked #1 of 27 Restaurants in Strabane
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Family of five went to oysters for sunday dinner. The presentation of the food served was excellent. The staff were very helpful and very plesant. The owner took the time to talk to us on a few occasions which was very nice of him. Dinner was beautiful. Dessert was perfect. Just one slight problem. An overdose of salt in the creamed potatoes. Im not sure if this was a one off or thats the way they are served normally. Potatoes dont need salt. Place was shining clean. I would willingly have given 5stars but saltbis a big issue. But thanks oysters I loved my dinner and will be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Seasonaltraveller54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oystersstrabane, Owner at Oysters, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Dear Reviewer,
Your very generous review is greatly appreciated. Thank you.
Regarding our potatoes, we actually do season them but perhaps we need to review the salt content in light of your review. It may simply have been a one-off occasion when there was a little more salt deployed than usual. It is the first time we have had feed back regarding same but we will certainly take into account.
Once again, thank you for taking the time to review us and we look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Regards,
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (293)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

183 - 187 of 293 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Had dinner here tonight with wife and three kids, absolutely fabulous food kids selection great and duo pork melt in the mouth. Owner and staff top rated couldn't recommend enough.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Patrickmartinrgn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oystersstrabane, Owner at Oysters, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Reviewer,
We are delighted that you enjoyed your dining experience with us. Equally so for your little ones.
Your generous review is much appreciated. Look forward to hosting you and your family again in the future.
Regards,
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Wow - stop reading reviews this place is quality fine dining
The staff are brilliant at creating the feel that all is a bit different here. It's not just sit order and eat, it's appreciation of the atmosphere and the time to create something better than normal.
If I am honest it is not the most perfect of meals, however the expectation when reading reviews on here was low. The fact is this place provides food that is worthy of people who appreciate food. It is beyond idiots who want food prepared on a frozen wagon.
This place is pretty special for this area enjoy it. It's different because its pretty good. Worth a few more quid if u have it

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dave E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oystersstrabane, Owner at Oysters, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Reviewer,
Your praise for our establishment is very kindly acknowledged. We are delighted that you appreciated our offering and took the time out to review us so positively. Perhaps we might have the pleasure to host you again in the future.
Regards,
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Lamb Shank was a Disaster , not cooked for the required length of time . Service was indifferent and on complaining, about the Lamb . the "Compensation" was a drink from the Bar, when the Lamb ????? price should have been refunded.

8  Thank Convoy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oystersstrabane, Owner at Oysters, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Despite investigating this review, we are unable to identify any complaint such as described. Additionally, it us not restaurant policy to offer a drink by way of compensation. If reviewer so wishes, they may contact us direct via email. Details on website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Ive been to Oysters restaurant Strabane, on numerous occasions in the past. My experience has always been great if not overwhelmingly positive.
Having agreet to have the lunch menu with some friends, we expected their usual excellent hospitality and mouth-watering food. Most of my guests enjoyed their meal, but one guest was horrified when their chicken in the Greek Yogurt Marinated Chicken Supreme was uncooked on the inside. We tried to address this with the chef, but he sent the food back stating it was the stuffing that made it look this way.
I'm a blogger that normally feels the urge to write glowing reviews, but on this time sadly, i need to say it how it is.
I wont be back in Oysters because of the food and the lack of respect that was afforded to my companion.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
17  Thank Rj9963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oystersstrabane, Owner at Oysters, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Reviewer,
May I begin by stating that we always welcome feedback in whatever guise. It is through customer feedback that we can continue to improve our offering. You state that you have eaten with us on several occasions and speak glowingly of same. However, the only occasion that you have chosen to review us is in a deliberately negative light despite your own claim to be an avid blogger who likes to tell it as it is!
I also feel that you have been rather sparse with some of the detail. The lady who queried the chicken, had consumed more that 3/4 of the fillet before deciding that it was not wholly cooked. She was unsure about her query as it was questionable even in her eyes. This bucks the trend with a small number of diners who opt to consume all but the smallest amount of the dish before they see fit to complain.
Our meats are all probed as a matter of routine pre-service as was indeed the case in this instance. The small amount of chicken returned to the kitchen was moist but certainly NOT raw. This was explained to the customer who, despite having eaten the majority of the chicken was offered an alternative replacement which she declined to avail of, despite the fact that we were happy to verify that it was indeed completely cooked through.
Equally, when you paid the bill personally, you affirmed to your server that everything was "lovely". Your table was checked prior to said complaint (during meal) and no issues reported then. Once again, the complaint only materialised towards the end of the meal. Surely if the chicken had been raw, as you suggest, your fellow diner would NOT have been happy to eat 3/4 of same? Neither would I have expected you to leave a generous tip in the event of a poor experience? We are somewhat bewildered by all of this.
As mentioned earlier, we are happy to accept constructive feedback but also reserve the right to clarify a set of circumstances that we feel are not wholly represented by a review such as this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oysters also viewed

 
Strabane, County Tyrone
Strabane, County Tyrone
 
Strabane, County Tyrone
 

Been to Oysters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing