We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fir Trees

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Strabane
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Fir Trees
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Strabane
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, Wales
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

Amazing staff, room & food. Overall a great stay!! We had food in the pub also & again the service & food were great. The room was massive & had everything we needed, even a spa bath! We stayed in room 201 & would highly recommend this room & hotel to anyone.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank robbie_1_2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fir T, General Manager at The Fir Trees, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
It is very satisfying to receive such an upbeat review from a seasoned Trip Advisor reviewer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    50
    19
    18
    32
See reviews for
69
48
16
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Strabane, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

You know you have arrived at the right hotel when the face that greats you smiles,{thank you Catherine for all your help} Food and friendly catering staff totally spot on, Bar staff Oshen and LIndi made us feel so welcome that perhaps we all stayed a little over our time .Lets not forget the housekeeper Sharon who catered to our every need and told us about Sunday being country music evening .An extra night was decided . Great hotel,Great food,Great staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 275vince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fir T, General Manager at The Fir Trees, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Thank you for your kind comments which have been passed on to our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longford, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

Without doubt, this has got to be one of the most genuinely friendly hotels in northern Ireland.
The food, especially their "steak on a rock" is first class. The warm,friendly, genuine atmosphere starts immediately as you enter at the reception through to catering staff, through to the room fixing staff in the morning...everybody there seems to really love what they are doing.
They all make my stay there every time a very special one, and I intend to be a long term Customer of theirs....what's of equal importance is the really good value for money cost of a room.
If you're heading up north, you should definitely plan to stay here...you won't regret it!

Room Tip: Speak nicely to Eileen and tell her that Tony sent you....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blackwing1800i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fir T, General Manager at The Fir Trees, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
It is very reassuring to receive a review of this nature. Our staff work extremely hard to ensure that guests have an enjoyable experience during their stay and it is gratifying to hear that their efforts are worthwhile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chard
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

We have just stayed here for a wedding and found the hotel staff fantastic, the rooms were clean and food fantastic, although breakfast a bit haphazard.
Saturday night after the wedding we left our function room to be greeted by a huge amount of partying teenagers, sick and broken glass on the car park and a general party going on. However we were not disturbed in any way, everyone was friendly, probably not for the over 60's to be honest at the weekends but we would definately stay again if we were in the area during the week

Room Tip: Try to get to the end of the corridor to avoid loud music at the weekends
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jezabelchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

On first appearance o dear we did turn up after a saturday night.but once inside nice staff very nice bedrooms.nice bar area and a big function room.the bedrooms have all been done in a nice functional way.they were serving a carvery which looked and smelled lush.the manger was very helpful and seemed to know what we were looking for and had sum good ideas for the price.will be going back.




























  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimvdub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
augher
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Myself & a friend booked the Fir Trees whilst going to the Bluegrass Festival in the Ulster American Folkpark. On arriving at the hotel another friend decided to stay also & we were very kindly uograded to the honeymoon suite which was immaculate & a real treat. The hospitality we received from John the manager & Serlaith & Lindi was second to none. Nothing was too much trouble & they went out of their way to make our stay most enjoyable. We ate in the bar that evening and the food was excellent & very reasonably priced. We had breakfast brought to our room the next morning & thoroughly enjoyed it. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area. I travel quite a lot & this type of hospitality & friendliness is very hard to find.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnie42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

We called at the Fir Trees Hotel en route to Donegal and tried the Sunday Carvery. The hotel was very busy yet the food and service were first class, with 5 courses at amazingly good value. The hotel is very tastefully decorated with ample off road parking, and we will definitely return during our next trip to the N.West.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malinkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strabane
13.5 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 11 in Derry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
13.3 mi away
The Belfray Country Inn
16.1 mi away
Silverbirch Hotel
Silverbirch Hotel
#1 of 3 in Omagh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Villa Rose Hotel
Villa Rose Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballybofey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
11.9 mi away
Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre
12.5 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 11 in Derry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fir Trees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fir Trees

Property: The Fir Trees
Address: Dublin Road, Strabane BT82 9EA, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Tyrone > Strabane
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Strabane
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fir Trees 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run hotel located on the outskirts of Strabane situated conveniently close to the Sperrin Mountains, three major fishing rivers and two of the finest parkland golf courses. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Fir Trees Hotel Strabane
Fir Trees Strabane
Fir Trees Hotel Strabane
The Fir Trees Strabane, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing