We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Toilets stink and dirty glasses”
Review of The Fir Trees

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Strabane
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Fir Trees
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Strabane
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We came here for drinks and we were planning on eating as well. When we arrived we ordered drinks and sat in the bar area. The glasses were dirty. Had to ask 4 times for a clean glass as each one I was given was dirty. A bar man had to go out and actually clean a glass specifically for me. This made us decide to not eat here but we did stay for 4/5 drinks. The toilets also smelled really bad with toilet roll all around the floor. Had to go to reception and explain this. They did then tidy it up and leave in some incense sticks but as a hotel this is something that needs to be looked after.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrishTripTaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 239 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014

My wife and I recently dined in the newly refurbish restaurant with new menu. We were greeted upon arrival by the General Manager who escorted us to the Bar where we were taken by a very friendly Restaurant Manger to our table.
The surroundings were bright and modern and the menu had a wonderful selection (so difficult to decide upon what to eat). The wine list was also extensive and the young waiter who took our drinks order was friendly and informative.
Our food was served with no delay. It arrived hot and professionally prepared and the waiting staff were very courteous and attentive to us over the course of our meal.
Paying was simple through the use of credit card and I must say the meal we had represented excellent Value for Money.
Overall we had a lovely weekend experience and I would certainly visit the Fir Tress Hotel very soon again. I can only but recommend this gem of a hotel where staff are friendly and courteous and food and drink are of good value and a very high standard. I have no doubt the newly refurbished restaurant and new menu will be a big success
Well done the Fir Trees Hotel. A credit to all the staff and management!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Oh dear...the first poor review I've had to put on TripAdvisor. We were put in the bridal suite having arrived early. The room was OK but when we arrived back later there was a raucous hen party and another large function or two. They all spilled out into the carpark at 3am and the noise was deafining. A few boy racers were revving their engines and there were that many people smoking under our windows that the smoke came in even though they were closed. No point asking reception as they weren't going to be able to quieten 200+ people who were full of drink. The whole hotel is tawdry and needs a good cleaning and a lick of paint.A shame really as it is the only hotel in the town. Couldn't recommend.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Owens1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We booked the golfing package and had an extremely enjoyable weekend, playing two superb parkland courses, Strabane and Newtownstewart. This was a return visit to the Fir Trees Hotel and it didn't disappoint, with superb staff, delicious food and clean and comfy rooms. The bar had live music on both nights and there was a real buzz.In fact we have already booked our summer outing!!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Malinkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

My partner and I went here recently and although our meal was lovely the bathroom facilities were awful. Two of the toilets were out of order for hours and the toilet paper was never re-stocked. The sinks had never been cleaned and were extremely dirty.
Would recommend for food and drink but the cleanliness left alot to be desired.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michelle h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fir T, General Manager at The Fir Trees, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Having investigated this incident thoroughly we must offer our apologies to this reviewer and any other customer who used the facilities on the night in question. We did indeed experience a serious plumbing issue and given the time we were unable to locate a plumber until the following morning, when the issue was eventually resolved. We would like to assure all our clientele that measures have been put in place to prevent any similar occurrence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

I'm originally from Strabane so the Fir Trees was my first choice.... never again.

We found blood on the wall in our room. The restaurant messed up my food order 4 times! And then asked my husband "would sir like to finish his steak" ah NO.

It does get quite busy up there at the weekend so if your bedroom overlooks the car park then ask to be moved because you'll not get much sleep.

In the bathroom our toilet roll was covered in vomit (sorry if tmi), had to get staff to change it. Also had twin beds that one of the beds were broken.

All in all we won't be back!

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fir T, General Manager at The Fir Trees, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

We have an extremely conscientious housekeeping team and the rooms are audited thoroughly on a weekly basis and we have yet to come across anything of this nature; furthermore we do not have a record of this guest and have never had a complaint of this type. When you combine this with the fact that the ''review'' has been posted in January 2014 for a visit that supposedly occurred in April 2013, then you can only conclude that these are spurious allegations that in the interests of fair play should be deleted from our record.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We got married at the fir trees on 14th September 2013 we arrived on the Thursday before and we had a coach load of family and friends arriving on the Friday the staff where fantastic Joseph was just amazing and mr Duffy helped with all our planning and all went so smoothly as we live in England the food was fabulous the fir trees hotel was just the most fantastic place for us to have our wedding we enjoyed every minute thanks to all the staff we are going back for our 1st wedding anniversary and the only place we stay when visiting family is alway THE FIR TREES HOTEL
It exceed all our expectations.
A big big thank you
From Mr & Mrs McCollum

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Torie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fir T, General Manager at The Fir Trees, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Thank you for your kind comments which have been relayed to all our staff. We will certainly look forward to welcoming you back to the anniversary celebrations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Fir Trees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fir Trees

Address: Dublin Road, Strabane BT82 9EA, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Tyrone > Strabane
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Strabane
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fir Trees 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run hotel located on the outskirts of Strabane situated conveniently close to the Sperrin Mountains, three major fishing rivers and two of the finest parkland golf courses. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Fir Trees Hotel Strabane
Fir Trees Strabane
Fir Trees Hotel Strabane
The Fir Trees Strabane, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing