We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a weekend's sailing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carrickfergus
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Keep Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Booked two rooms for the crew for a weekend sailing up in Carrickfergus, and we couldn't have been made more welcome - the rooms are comfortable and clean, and the stay was very flexible (we were an hour late arriving and there wasn't a mention) Thanks again, and hope to be back next year!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LondontoDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thekeepcarrick3, Owner at The Keep Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Hi Ed,

It was a pleasure having you and the your crew stay with us. Sorry about all the rain.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay.

You don't know what you missed by not eating the N. Ireland made crisps we left you, maybe just as well you didn't, don't think you can get them where you live. Lol

We are looking forward to seeing you again next year, don't forget to book early.

Warmest regards,
Raymond.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
There are newer reviews for The Keep Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

This was the best B&B we stayed in during our trip to Northern Ireland. Raymond and Heather were very accommodating with everything from storing our bikes to advice on the local area. The breakfast was top notch and our room was very comfortable.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thekeepcarrick3, Owner at The Keep Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Hi Ian,

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you very much for your kind comments. We hope you got to Comber on your bikes without getting wet. We can do most things at The keep but cant promise, no rain. Lol

Warmest regards,

Raymond.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I have been commuting to Carrickfergus the last couple of months and staying at the Keep Guesthouse. It really is a wonderfully comfortable place to stay run by super nice people. No question that I will continue using the Keep Guesthouse as my "home-away-from-home".

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jkocornik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thekeepcarrick3, Owner at The Keep Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Hi, James,

Thank you very much for your kind comments and for your regular return visits. We will see you again soon. Take care.


Warmest regards,
Raymond.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Set in the picturesque seaside town of Carrickfergus in Northern Ireland, it is located a short walk from the sea front, the magnificent Norman Castle and ancient city walls. There is a large supermarket a short walk away as well as a cinema and local, good quality restaurants. there is a wonderful harbor and a magnificent walk along the seafront, along which there is a very large adventure play area for younger children. There is a good bus service nearby, but the nearest train station (Troopers Lane) is a bit of a trek however such is the level of service provided by the owners I am sure though if you asked they would pick you up!
I received a very warm welcome from my hosts, Raymond and Heather who were in no way put out by my late arrival.
The rooms are spacious, well decorated, and those that I used had en suite facilities. They were spotlessly clean and tidy. The double beds are comfortable and the rooms quiet being fully double glazed. There is tea and coffee making facilities in the room. My work required a very early start, which was outside the normal start timing for breakfast, however this was absolutely no problem for Raymond who got up at the crack of dawn to ensure I was
set up for the day with a quality big 'Full Ulster' breakfast.
In short this is a little diamond of a place to say, perfectly placed, excellent quality and hosts who don't know the word 'No' . Put it at the top of your list!

Room Tip: Call first, explain what you require and they will do all they can to accommodate
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Graham A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thekeepcarrick3, Owner at The Keep Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Hi Graham,

Its always a pleasure having you stay with us, its like having a family member coming to visit. Remind us on your next visit to let you know about the 2 closer places to get off the train for Carrickfergus, they are both within a 6 to 8 minuet walk to us, the Trooperslane stop is more for people who would work in the industrial site near to there. We both look forward to seeing you again soon, until then take care.

Warmest regards,
Raymond.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here. The room was clean and bright and felt like home. Comfortable beds, almost didn't want to get out of them! The owners were great, they gave us pointers on what to do and where to go and how to get there - even drove us to the train on a rainy morning! Great people for conversation over breakfast or on the way out the door.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lyndi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thekeepcarrick3, Owner at The Keep Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Hi Lyndi,

Thank you very much for your kind comments. We hope on your next visit to N.Ireland the weather will be kinder to you both.


Warmest regards,
Raymond.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Booked this B&B on a local recommendation and glad we did. Owners really friendly they were in the middles of decorating the dining room but still welcomed us in and apologised for the upheaval. This did not really bother us in the slightest.

Nice room, was offered late checkout with us being the only couple due to the redecoration.

Lovely breakfast, Nice people easy to chat to.

We stayed there 2nd Jan 2014

PS We got to Egypt just.

A great place to stay carrick fergus is a good base for getting about too.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VISTABOY1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

we happened upon 'The Keep". We were driving and started to get late as we got closer to Belfast. Heather answered the door and we found ourselves talking to Raymond and Heather for some time, before checking in. They love a chat as do we. Raymond helped with our heavy cases. Heather suggested we consider 2 nights to enable us to have a good look around Belfast. Our room was up 4 flights, but very comfortable. The B&B was on the busy Coastal route, but not at all noisy. We slept with a window open. Free wifi, but had to go down a couple of levels to get it working. Tea and coffee facilities in the room and Raymond even offered us a glass of wine.Heather and Raymond were very helpful with evening meal suggestions and things to do in Belfast. We could have caught a train or a bus into Belfast, but we chose to drive. We followed Heather's instructions and it was easy to find a park (it was a sunday) and return.She directed us to a pub wherev we could catch up with live music and a bite to eat. It was great.We stayed the 2 nights. Asked Heather whether there was a laundrymat around..she said she could get our washing done for us for ten pounds.Breakfast was great and we enjoyed our stay. When it came time to leave, Heather waived the washing cost, which was a nice gesture.
No hesitation in recommending "the Keep" as a good place to stay if visiting Belfast and surrounds

Room Tip: Wifi struggled in the upper level room and staircase is steep with Heavy cases. Get smart and just h...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrickfergus
0.3 mi away
Dobbins Inn Hotel
Dobbins Inn Hotel
#3 of 6 in Carrickfergus
301 reviews
0.6 mi away
Loughshore Hotel
Loughshore Hotel
#2 of 6 in Carrickfergus
663 reviews
13.0 mi away
Ballygally Castle
Ballygally Castle
#1 of 1 in Ballygally
1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Culloden Estate & Spa
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 2 in Holywood
1,747 reviews
8.9 mi away
Ramada Encore Belfast City Centre
6.5 mi away
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Keep Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Keep Guesthouse

Address: 93 Irish Quarter South, Carrickfergus BT38 8BW, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Carrickfergus
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Carrickfergus
Price Range: £35 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Keep Guesthouse is conveniently located in Carrickfergus Town centre. The superb guest rooms all have en-suite shower facilities. We trust you will find your stay with us extremely comfortable whether it is for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Keep Guesthouse Carrickfergus, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing