We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Opportunity Lost” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carrickfergus Castle

Carrickfergus Castle
Book In Advance
More Info
US$38.09*
and up
Game of Thrones Filming Locations Tour from Belfast including Giants Causeway
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Due to the military impenetrability of this castle the town of Carrickfergus long thrived even when surrounding villages suffered defeats.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Opportunity Lost”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

This place is steeped in the history of Ireland / Ulster. One of the most important figures in Protestant culture is King William of Orange or King Billy as he is fondly remembered by the Protestants. He landed here before travelling south to defeat the Catholic King James at the Battle of the Boyne river in 1690 then seized the throne of England. With that sort of historical significance you would think more would be made of it but it is a bit desolate with its unconvincing mannequins dotted around the place and little to tell the visitor of its history. That said, it is worth a visit although it is not terribly disabled friendly.

Helpful?
2 Thank barrada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    218
    54
    9
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
County Londonderry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Me and my husband spent an amazing day in carrickfergus castle, the castle was so well kept and all the staff were so helpful and friendly .... really worth a visit!!!

Helpful?
Thank yogibear85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limavady, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Well preserved Norman castle”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Visited the castle today with my family, nice to walk round with lots of nooks and crannies to explore. Some parts could do with maintenance, there did appear to be work going on, and the condensation on the tower windows does impede the views. I would recommend that public access to the roof of the tower is considered but the castle is still well worth a visit, combine your visit with other local attractions.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Derekangela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great historical treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

The castle is in remarkable shape considering it was constructed in the early 1100s. They try to keep the rooms as they were back then and I think they did an excellent job. I loved it so much I went twice during our vacation.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Floresv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
448 reviews
281 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 389 helpful votes
“Could Be Better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Couldn't agree more with the previous reviewer - I think this review says it all and I completely agree with all the points made.
We did enjoy our visit here - the castle is magnificent with some interesting history, views out to sea are great and we enjoyed strolling around the little marina after our visit. I thought it was a bit pricey for 6 of us to enter, we explored all the nooks and crannies, read all the notice boards, our son spent an eternity climbing on the cannons and we watched the films and had a game of giant chess but were not in there for more than about an hour.
I found the staff a bit disinterested and unfriendly, the visitor centre / shop is dull and uninspired and the cafe was shut when we were there.
There are maintenance issues for sure and the whole place just lacks something.
I wouldn't return and would only recommend if you are in Carrickfergus and find yourself with a spare half an hour. Even at that I would probably just take pictures from the outside and read a book about the history.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Joy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Carrickfergus Castle also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Carrickfergus, County Antrim
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Carrickfergus Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing