We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Suitable and friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Dobbins Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dobbins Inn Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Carrickfergus
Certificate of Excellence
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Suitable and friendly”
Reviewed 7 November 2012

i stayed here in october and the staff are excellent however if im coming here again, ill get a later flight. not much to do in carrickfergus apart from the event i was at. the only thing i would call a negative was that the room was freezing. if the temperature was turned up it would have got full marks. breakfast in the morning was great.

Room Tip: not room 21.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank londonderry1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerDobbins, Owner at Dobbins Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. All feedback is necessary and welcomed, to ensure we improve areas and continue to work on our business.

Kind regards

Maureen Fallis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    84
    29
    13
    25
See reviews for
61
116
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cumnock
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Stayed one night here, made very welcome, food looked amazing, pity we had eaten before we arrived. Breakfast was good though. Big comfy bed, tea and coffee facilities in the room. Glad I stayed here rather than the more modern hotels. Central location close to Carrickfergus Castle and the harbour. Lots of character and down to earth people. Will hopefully be back soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mogrob47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012 via mobile

Hotel is old but has great character rooms are nice lovely big comfy bed food was excellent and great value we stayed here with friends for the weekend and had a ball . What I will say that the staff have all been excellent and very attentive I've been to much larger and posher hotels which could learn alot from Dobbins !

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Puffdaddyjft96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Whilst you won't be blown away with the size of the room, the location of this place is ideal. Situated locally to the "main event" Carrickfergus Castle and a stone throw from the harbour complex which caters for people in both food and drink.

The staff were very warm and welcoming and their "If you're a resident the bar s open all night" policy couldn't have been a better surprise.

We ventured into nearby Belfast and enjoyed the experiece, although I will say, I'd like my bathroom a little cleaner and my shower with a little more oooomph!!

Generally a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gem-Gem2410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

second time staying, food still outstanding, home cooking at its best, room very clean and comfortable, very friendly owners, perfect stop off in our 3 day trip around the Causeway Coast...new cool cafes and shops from last visit...always a lovely visit!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheiladub37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2012 via mobile

Didn.t stay at hotel but would if the time was right. Lunch was lovely and staff were very helpful. Nothing was too much trouble and when the vegetarian option had run out they made something else vegetarian instead. Doesn't look like much from the outside but don't judge a book by its cover :-)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GHynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012 via mobile

Have ate in here on numerous occasions, always got a lovely meal and the staff are always friendly. The kids meals are great too, there is a good variety for them to choose from, they have daily specials and a roast of the day, you get plenty on your plate. The chicken goujons are lovely and it's thick home-made chips you get ( which are tasty) also the onion ring are amazing. The only down side is they stopped doing Budweiser on draught, but they do have it in bottles.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank William T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrickfergus
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Carrickfergus Hotel
Premier Inn Carrickfergus Hotel
#1 of 6 in Carrickfergus
497 reviews
0.9 mi away
Loughshore Hotel
Loughshore Hotel
#2 of 6 in Carrickfergus
623 reviews
12.9 mi away
Ballygally Castle
Ballygally Castle
#1 of 1 in Ballygally
1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
#1 of 1 in Crawfordsburn
946 reviews
4.4 mi away
Culloden Estate & Spa
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 3 in Holywood
1,663 reviews
6.7 mi away
Corrs Corner Hotel
Corrs Corner Hotel
#1 of 3 in Newtownabbey
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dobbins Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dobbins Inn Hotel

Property: Dobbins Inn Hotel
Address: 6-8 High Street, Carrickfergus BT38 7AF, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Carrickfergus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Carrickfergus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dobbins Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Inn dating back to 13th Century, with many a ghostly tale, located in the heart of Carrickfergus.15 well appointed bedrooms, ensuite & with complimentary WIFI. Popular bar lounge & restaurant serving traditional food throughout the day.Small meeting room for personal dining or team conferences ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dobbins Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dobbins Hotel Carrickfergus
Dobbins Inn Hotel Carrickfergus, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing