We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't wait to stay again.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dobbins Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dobbins Inn Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Carrickfergus
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can't wait to stay again.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

My husband and I wanted to stay in a spooky hotel for our wedding anniversary and we got spooky alright, we went up on a Friday night and we loved it, the staff were brilliant the rooms were great the beds were comfortable and the morning breakfast was very much to our taste. There is a lovely atmosphere within the hotel and we were made to feel very welcome. We took pictures which to our astonishment showed interesting things very good stay thanks to the staff at Dobbins inn.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cailtin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    84
    29
    12
    25
See reviews for
60
116
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

I can only give a review for the restaurant. Lacking a bit on atmosphere, seats not the most easy to sit on....food, starter and main meal no problem. While I was there last Saturday evening only three tables in use. Value for money not to bad.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chas209947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

On arrival ,first glance looked ok,dont expect too much as its listed as a two star place. Howevr when we turned on the tv, the shelf was filthy, last guests sweet wrapper behind the tv. As the night fell we expected darkness but no due to the fact there was a BRIGHT ORANGE security light right outside our window, later on that we discovered the staff were actually taking their staff breaks right underneath our window and their cigarette smoke drifted up into our room.
As for the bathroom, we found it rather small and cramped, the shower failed to mix the water from the taps correctly, nearly scalded my partner. The shower rail itself was rather flimsy, nearly coming off the wall when it was pulled across. Another bath mat (or paper towel) would've been great as there was two of us staying. We only stayed as we had been out for a meal, and had a drink. We voiced our concerns to the staff who said they were sorry and would look into it, not very happy.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank karenokia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerDobbins, Manager at Dobbins Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Dear Guest,

I am familiar with some of your comments. On your departure, you did highlight a few issues, to which I apologised and stated I would look into. The only form of contact with you was an address, so have sent a letter to you. I will review your other comments and discuss with the staff members involved.

Kind regards

Kirsty Fallis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

This hotel is something else. The room was very comfortable with everything you need. From the moment we arrived the staff were so attentive from the reception to the bar and serving girls. The bar is in keeping with the age of the building full of carrector. The food was good and well presented. The whole experience was surpassed when we were told that we were in the haunted room, which explains the happenings. Spooky or what. I would like to thank all the staff for making our stay special. We will definitely stay again and hopefully get the same room.

Room Tip: Ask for room 21 the haunted room. (Unless we are there..... We want it)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerDobbins, Owner at Dobbins Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments. The spirits miss you too. Hope to have you back again with us.

Kind regards

Kirsty Fallis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corydon, Iowa
Level Contributor
210 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

I felt like I was stepping into the past when we entered Dobbin's Inn. It reminded me of the kinds of places I'd seen in old movies. The staff were friendly and helpful, the room was comfortable, and the price was reasonable. There was a large room on the second floor with a large fireplace (not lit) and stained glass, a lovely place to relax. The full Irish breakfast was delicious. There's free parking (most of it is on the street) and wifi. It's within walking distance of Carrickfergus Castle and the lovely marina, and PaPa Brown's Grill. There's even a legend about a haunted room. The only downside was that the tub in the bathroom had an extremely high side, so it could be a bit dangerous for anyone who has difficulty lifting his leg high enough to step over it. One thing to note about hotels in Ireland: they do not provide washcloths or tissues, and even if the room is for 3 people, they will only have 2 glasses and 2 coffee cups. I would highly recommend Dobbins Inn to anyone staying in Northern Ireland.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank empressoftheuniverse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerDobbins, Owner at Dobbins Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Dear Guest,

It is lovely to read such positive comments. Thank you for taking the time to post.
Will as always pass on to the rest of the team here at Dobbins

Kind regards

Kirsty Fallis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

Only used the pub part of the establishment. But a pub full of character. With reasonably priced food and seemed to be well used by the locals, which is always a good sign. Just a short walk from the railway station with its excellent links to Belfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikegyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerDobbins, Owner at Dobbins Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments about your experience with us. Hope we will be welcoming you back again.

Kind regards

Kirsty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisburn
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Called in today for lunch. Great selection and service superb. Food freshly prepared, tasty and great value. Staff are helpful,friendly and attentive without being overbearing. Would I return?? Yes, without a doubt. Few other pubs/restaurants in Carrickfergus could learn a few lessons from here.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank welltravelledLisburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerDobbins, Owner at Dobbins Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Inn. Delighted you enjoyed the food and service

Kind regards

Kirsty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrickfergus
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Carrickfergus Hotel
Premier Inn Carrickfergus Hotel
#1 of 6 in Carrickfergus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
0.9 mi away
Loughshore Hotel
Loughshore Hotel
#3 of 6 in Carrickfergus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
12.9 mi away
Ballygally Castle
Ballygally Castle
#1 of 1 in Ballygally
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
#1 of 1 in Crawfordsburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
9.0 mi away
Curran Court Hotel
Curran Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Larne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
6.5 mi away
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dobbins Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dobbins Inn Hotel

Property: Dobbins Inn Hotel
Address: 6-8 High Street, Carrickfergus BT38 7AF, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Carrickfergus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Carrickfergus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dobbins Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Inn dating back to 13th Century, with many a ghostly tale, located in the heart of Carrickfergus.15 well appointed bedrooms, ensuite & with complimentary WIFI. Popular bar lounge & restaurant serving traditional food throughout the day.Small meeting room for personal dining or team conferences ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dobbins Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dobbins Hotel Carrickfergus
Dobbins Inn Hotel Carrickfergus, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing