We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ghost stories, good food and friendly staff.”
Review of Dobbins Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dobbins Inn Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Carrickfergus
Certificate of Excellence
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“ghost stories, good food and friendly staff.”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff, I stayed for three weeks and was made to feel welcome and comfortable by everyone and I've never seen any one multitask like the front of house staff. The food was very good and, as is expected the Guinness is lovely! I would recommend Dobbins to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crabbers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    89
    30
    14
    26
See reviews for
63
124
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Stayed there just a few days ago, the staff were very friendly and even let us check in hours early. Food was nice especially the steak and breakfast was good too. The room was nice and tidy and we were made very comfortable and very welcome, would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Krystle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I brought some friends visiting from England into Dobbins about three weeks ago on a Thursday night. It was just before 10pm. My friends and I where surprised to see four tables in the bar area already set up for breakfast. I know the hotel has a restaurant so we found this quite strange and off putting to be honest. But we had a drink and enjoyed the Guinness. However when one of my friends went to the bar maybe a minute or so after 11pm he was told by the lady behind the bar that last orders had already been called. We were very surprised as we did not hearing anyone calling last orders. She said she had been calling last orders for 15 minutes which I find VERY Hard to believe. I told her we didn't hear as we had to sit away from the bar area and perhaps she could have come over and told us it was last orders. She curtly said she would take it on board, not a very customer friendly response. They obviously can afford to turn away custom. It was a shame as my friends have been in Dobbins before when they visit, but this is the first time this has happened.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerDobbins, Manager at Dobbins Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Dear Guest,
In response to your comment about last orders. The evening you mentioned, the manageress was on duty and remembers your party. Last orders were called at 10.45pm the bar was rather busy with lots of other customers down in the bar lounge area, however those people in the same area as you were sitting did hear last orders being called. This was confirmed by the manageress asking them,after this was disputed by a member of your party.
We allow a period of 15 minutes to ensure all customers get a chance to order and like the majority of pubs in the UK close at 11.00pm, this is not unusual and a legal obligation for us.
With reference to seeing tables set up for breakfast, I don't see how this would be 'off putting' as we use the bar lounge to serve food and throughout the day it is set up for dining. In the winter months our guests are delighted to come down to breakfast with a roaring fire and cosy environment and often comment how this is a bonus to their stay.
At no stage did the manageress wish to be rude or offensive, just factual, given the response that was received from some of your party.

Kind regards

Kirsty Fallis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
610 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,265 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

A 15th century inn you can still stay in? Brilliant! 15 rooms, family owned. I was bowled over by the interior, which has so many historical features. Do ask about the priest-hole, where they’d hide away any visiting clergy. Other places put awful fake screwed-together roof beams up, here you get the real thing. I was struck by a mounted deer’s head over a big fireplace in reception. I haven’t seen a live one in years! Wheelchair access for the bar / dining areas, surprisingly, doesn’t seem to be a problem. Someone was in the other bar with one.

The hotel is right on the main street of Carrickfergus. You really can imagine horses and carriages picking people up outside in centuries past. Unique.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Steveodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerDobbins, Manager at Dobbins Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Dear Guest,

I read your comments and was delighted you enjoy the history behind Dobbins. Loved the pictures you took also. Thank you for taking the time to do so.

Kind regards

Kirsty Fallis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Live locally so been here quite a few times.

Breakfast, Saturday lunch and Sunday Carvery. Never leave hungry. Always good food.

All the usually high chairs etc available for families. Kids portions large enough for adult :-)

Free wifi.

Recommended.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerDobbins, Manager at Dobbins Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Delighted to read that you regularly visit Dobbins Inn. I am also happy to read that we are continuing to provide good food, good value and friendly service. Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.

Kind regards

Kirsty Fallis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CARRICKFERGUS N IRELAND
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

Visited family and stayed here for 3 nights.. room was spotless , food was excellent with varied choices and the staff we're extremely friendly .
This isn't a manufactured hotel so if that's what you want try the Lenny Henry hotel down the road .

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank TOOTSCarrickfergus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerDobbins, Manager at Dobbins Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments. We continuously work hard to be friendly, welcoming and offer best value for money.

Kind regards

Kirsty Fallis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Just back from a one-night stay at Dobbins Inn. Our room was clean, well-presented. The bed was unbelievably comfortable and the sheets were soft. I like my comforts; and this didn't disappoint. Another reviewer mentioned the "modern generic hotels" - Dobbins has character and I would prefer to support a family-run hotel. The highlight was a lovely breakfast in front of the fire. The staff were friendly and efficient. Would recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelturtle43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerDobbins, Manager at Dobbins Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Dear Guest,

I appreciate you taking the time to comment on your stay. Serving breakfast in the mornings in our bar lounge with a fire roaring is proving a popular part of our guest stay. Much cosier that a large and cold dining room. Thank you for your support and perhaps you will be back in this area again.

Kind regards

Kirsty Fallis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrickfergus
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Carrickfergus Hotel
Premier Inn Carrickfergus Hotel
#1 of 6 in Carrickfergus
526 reviews
0.9 mi away
Loughshore Hotel
Loughshore Hotel
#2 of 6 in Carrickfergus
651 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
#1 of 1 in Crawfordsburn
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Ballygally Castle
Ballygally Castle
#1 of 1 in Ballygally
1,322 reviews
4.4 mi away
Culloden Estate & Spa
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 2 in Holywood
1,717 reviews
5.7 mi away
Rayanne House
Rayanne House
#2 of 2 in Holywood
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dobbins Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dobbins Inn Hotel

Property: Dobbins Inn Hotel
Address: 6-8 High Street, Carrickfergus BT38 7AF, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Carrickfergus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Carrickfergus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dobbins Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Inn dating back to 13th Century, with many a ghostly tale, located in the heart of Carrickfergus.15 well appointed bedrooms, ensuite & with complimentary WIFI. Popular bar lounge & restaurant serving traditional food throughout the day.Small meeting room for personal dining or team conferences ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Dobbins Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dobbins Hotel Carrickfergus
Dobbins Inn Hotel Carrickfergus, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing