We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff in a tired hotel”
Review of Dobbins Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dobbins Inn Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Carrickfergus
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great staff in a tired hotel”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

The positives:

The staff were very good and couldn't do enough from printing out our return flight boarding tickets to lending me an umbrella.
The beds and pillows were very comfy
The breakfast is good - although only served until 9am

The negatives:

The whole hotel has a very "tired" feel to it.
Decor is "tired"
Our Room 8 was a nightmare for the pigeons that started their noise at 5.20am - amazingly it seems nobody has complained about this before.
The shower did not run hot water - but apparently you have to run the hot tap in basin first!
The towels were bad quality and very small.
The fire doors were not fitted with a slow shut system so banged shut awakening everybody in the rooms.

We were able to park the car outside the hotel at weekend. On Monday they have traffic wardens from 9am so had to move to Castle car park which is very near.

If you are catching a flight from Belfast City Airport, give yourself at least an hour to get from hotel to airport as the ongoing roadworks make it a nightmare.

Would I stay there again? No.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 8 unless you like pigeons. They wake up at 5.25am every morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayne_zc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerDobbins, Manager at Dobbins Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. I am sorry that you will not be returning to Dobbins Inn, but appreciate that you found the beds, pillows and breakfast good.
We do find during the week most guests are up and out by 9.00am. At the weekends we serve breakfast later through to 10.15am.
With regards to your negatives, as you advised on departure to myself about the pigeons, this really was the first time that we were aware of any issue. Thank you however for bringing it to my attention and this issue has been quickly resolved with a large section of spikes on the outside of the windowsill so the birds are unable to rest there now.
I was not aware of the issue with the hot water and did run the taps myself with hot water coming out quickly, so perhaps it may have been that the hot water was in demand at the same time.
I have checked the towels and I would agree that some of them were worn, and have since purchased more, with the others being thrown out.
The noise from the 2 doors into the corridor have been checked and the closer has been adjusted to prevent them banging.
With regards to the traffic wardens and the road works, I am sorry but this really is out of the hotels' control and am disappointed that this is reflected as a negative against the hotel.

Yours comments have been taken on board and action taken on them to further help us improve.

Kind regards

Kirsty Fallis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    89
    30
    14
    26
See reviews for
63
124
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Stayed 3 nights at Dobbins. We booked in Early and was made very welcome from the start. This is an old Inn and the building and main rooms all had plenty of atmosphere. The accomodation was neat and tidy, and clean.
The bar and staff was very good, always had a smile on their faces. We only had the breakfasts which was quick, hot and more than enough. The staff were always willing to help and always with a smile on their faces. For our first visist to Carrickfergus this started our week-end off and we fully enjoyed ourselves.
Would we go back and stay in Dobbins Inn, more than willingly.

Room Tip: Twin rooms looked bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevenboldero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrickfergus
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I can't comment on the rooms because I've never stayed here. I do, however return for breakfast now and then. That I return says it all, really. The building is old (we're talking pre-dinosaurs) and the pub/dining area is ancient: stone floor, warm, cosy, authentic: in short, no nonsense and delightful. If you want to know about the food, just look and the photographs posted by other reviewers. There's football on the telly and a ghost (probably) on the spooky narrow staircase.

Carrickfergus is a stop-over for tourists taking in the north Antrim coast. They could do a lot worse than stop-over at Dobbins ... However, not wheelchair friendly, alas, where bedrooms are concerned.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidCarrickfergus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ardrossan, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Four of us had a meal here. The bar was busy which was a good sign mid-week. Large and varied menu with lots of gluten-free choices. All our meals were delicious, and portions were very generous. We only had main courses and had no room for desserts although they looked tasty.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivien2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff, I stayed for three weeks and was made to feel welcome and comfortable by everyone and I've never seen any one multitask like the front of house staff. The food was very good and, as is expected the Guinness is lovely! I would recommend Dobbins to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crabbers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Stayed there just a few days ago, the staff were very friendly and even let us check in hours early. Food was nice especially the steak and breakfast was good too. The room was nice and tidy and we were made very comfortable and very welcome, would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Krystle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I brought some friends visiting from England into Dobbins about three weeks ago on a Thursday night. It was just before 10pm. My friends and I where surprised to see four tables in the bar area already set up for breakfast. I know the hotel has a restaurant so we found this quite strange and off putting to be honest. But we had a drink and enjoyed the Guinness. However when one of my friends went to the bar maybe a minute or so after 11pm he was told by the lady behind the bar that last orders had already been called. We were very surprised as we did not hearing anyone calling last orders. She said she had been calling last orders for 15 minutes which I find VERY Hard to believe. I told her we didn't hear as we had to sit away from the bar area and perhaps she could have come over and told us it was last orders. She curtly said she would take it on board, not a very customer friendly response. They obviously can afford to turn away custom. It was a shame as my friends have been in Dobbins before when they visit, but this is the first time this has happened.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerDobbins, Manager at Dobbins Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Dear Guest,
In response to your comment about last orders. The evening you mentioned, the manageress was on duty and remembers your party. Last orders were called at 10.45pm the bar was rather busy with lots of other customers down in the bar lounge area, however those people in the same area as you were sitting did hear last orders being called. This was confirmed by the manageress asking them,after this was disputed by a member of your party.
We allow a period of 15 minutes to ensure all customers get a chance to order and like the majority of pubs in the UK close at 11.00pm, this is not unusual and a legal obligation for us.
With reference to seeing tables set up for breakfast, I don't see how this would be 'off putting' as we use the bar lounge to serve food and throughout the day it is set up for dining. In the winter months our guests are delighted to come down to breakfast with a roaring fire and cosy environment and often comment how this is a bonus to their stay.
At no stage did the manageress wish to be rude or offensive, just factual, given the response that was received from some of your party.

Kind regards

Kirsty Fallis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrickfergus
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Carrickfergus Hotel
Premier Inn Carrickfergus Hotel
#1 of 6 in Carrickfergus
526 reviews
0.9 mi away
Loughshore Hotel
Loughshore Hotel
#2 of 6 in Carrickfergus
651 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
#1 of 1 in Crawfordsburn
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Ballygally Castle
Ballygally Castle
#1 of 1 in Ballygally
1,321 reviews
4.4 mi away
Culloden Estate & Spa
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 2 in Holywood
1,716 reviews
5.7 mi away
Rayanne House
Rayanne House
#2 of 2 in Holywood
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dobbins Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dobbins Inn Hotel

Property: Dobbins Inn Hotel
Address: 6-8 High Street, Carrickfergus BT38 7AF, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Carrickfergus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Carrickfergus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dobbins Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Inn dating back to 13th Century, with many a ghostly tale, located in the heart of Carrickfergus.15 well appointed bedrooms, ensuite & with complimentary WIFI. Popular bar lounge & restaurant serving traditional food throughout the day.Small meeting room for personal dining or team conferences ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Dobbins Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dobbins Hotel Carrickfergus
Dobbins Inn Hotel Carrickfergus, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing