We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful home from home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carrickfergus
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seascape Country House
Scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful home from home”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I was back at Margaret and Norman's beautiful home for a long weekend and didn't want to leave. There is such a welcoming atmosphere from the house, and Margaret is one of life's lovely people. Caring and helpful, interested in all you are doing. I can't recommend this beautiful place highly enough. Beautiful, spotless,cosy rooms with fabulous furnishings, marvellous views, and most important ... peace and quiet. Standing gazing down to the lough, watching the ships go by is truly a 'battery recharging' time. I could stand for hours!.And the breakfasts! Oh my!. A superb selection catering to every taste , freshly cooked traditional Irish, and as much as you could possibly eat! Can't wait till my next visit.

Room Tip: As all rooms have a sea view, any one of them is excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tuppi-two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
13
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Hospitality never known before. Maggie and Norman did everything they could to make our stay perfect. They made our stay exceptional and made us feel like family. A beautiful, spotless relaxing place to stay. Highly recommended. We would not hesitate to recommend and we could sum our review up in one word amazing.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank K_ianson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor and Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We are just back from a great stay (unfortunately 1 night only, but we will be back!) at Margaret's place and we were delighted by her welcoming ways, the cosiness and calm of the house and the rooms, full of lovely little touches, the magnificent sea view and the superb breakfast.
You simply do not want to leave :) Thanks for the hospitality!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Roberta P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

my family have had a few trips to margaret and norman bed and breakfast and everytime we go it is excellent .The place is great with a beautiful sea view looking over belfast loch and rooms are so clean and a lovely place to stay the ulster fry norman makes is delicious and it keeps you going for the day.margaret is so friendly that is why we keep going back.

Room Tip: all rooms are great at this country location
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Mrs Margaret Purdie, the owner of the above looked after me like I was one of her own! The property is absolutely gorgeous with lovely seaview, comfy cosy furniture, and lovely personal touches that made it better than a home from home. But the piece de resistance was the fabulous spread each morning for breakfast. Huge bowls of dried fruits, fresh fruit salad hand picked by Margaret and her husband, yoghurts, cereals, superb choice of cooked breakfasts (try the Irish kippers....magic)also lovely local breads. My mouth is still watering!
Although there is no provision for dinner, there is a superb Grill, just over the hill which provides a lovely selection of evening meals and excellent friendly service, or for a super fish and chip supper, head to Eden, a village three miles away.
Seascape itself is situated in the country and is visited by a lovely flock of birds including gold finches!! You can also expect a welcome alarm call from the old pheasant that visits each morning and evening to be fed. The country side around Carrick Fergus/Larne and the coastal route further North is also well worth the visit and the Glens of Antrim deserve a special mention..A lovely place to visit and three days wasn't long enough.
All in all a super wee break which the weather tried but did not succeed in spoiling! Thanks, Margaret and Norman, for a lovely time.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tuppi-two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

My husband and I stayed here one night this March. We absolutely LOVED our stay! Margaret and Norman were incredible hosts and we were so comfortable relaxing in their beautiful home. The room was clean, comfortable, and spacious. It had a great view of the water and an attached bathroom. The temperature outside was frigid and Margaret made sure our room was nice and toasty in time for our arrival. They recommended a great restaurant close by for dinner. Our breakfast at the house was delicious, prompt and we loved the views! In addition to the wonderful, homey feeling of the stay, the house was in the perfect location to begin out drive on the Causeway Coastal Route in the morning. We give this B&B our highest recommendation!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank valerie0709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012 via mobile

We have stayed with Margaret and Norman on a number of occasions and have returned due to a lovely warm welcome a beautiful spotless room with stunning room. The breakfast is to die for and one of Normans Ulster fries will set you up for the day.As well as all of this the position of the B&B is ideal for exploring in all directions. There are many good restaurants close by to enjoy a good evening meal. Highly recommended.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Terry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrickfergus
3.8 mi away
Dobbins Inn Hotel
Dobbins Inn Hotel
#3 of 6 in Carrickfergus
289 reviews
4.7 mi away
Loughshore Hotel
Loughshore Hotel
#2 of 6 in Carrickfergus
644 reviews
7.0 mi away
Culloden Estate & Spa
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 2 in Holywood
1,699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Rayanne House
Rayanne House
#2 of 2 in Holywood
212 reviews
7.1 mi away
Billy Andy's Bed & Breakfast
4.0 mi away
Premier Inn Carrickfergus Hotel
Premier Inn Carrickfergus Hotel
#1 of 6 in Carrickfergus
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seascape Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seascape Country House

Property: Seascape Country House
Address: 59A Quay Lane | Whitehead, Carrickfergus BT38 9SS, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Carrickfergus
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Carrickfergus
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Seascape Country House Carrickfergus, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing