We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Loughshore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Loughshore Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Carrickfergus
belfast
Level Contributor
92 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“excellent hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

i absolutely love this hotel having stayed in both the executive room and the suite which you can't beat, the Jacuzzi bath is very relaxing and an added bonus to this room and the sea view is amazing.

The restaurant was also excellent value for money and the live music was good entertainment for a Saturday night. The breakfast was very reasonable as well.

overall is it well worth a visit

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank babes1690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    165
    92
    47
    41
See reviews for
167
198
21
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

I stayed at the Clarion Hotel in February 2012 and i was so disgusted with the service and the way i was treated. My check in was fine and the girls at the desk were more than friendly. I came down that evening for dinner and was left standing for 15minutes before a member of staff showed me to my table.Then when i ordered my drink i had to wait a further 15minutes for it to be served. I wouldnt of minded but i was the only customer in the restaurant.

The food was ok but my main course was cold and i also found a hair in my chips.The next morning when i came down for breakfast i once again had to wait for 20 minutes before offered a table to sit at. The waiter who served me stunk of alcohol and when he spoke it was very off putting. Breakfast was fine and the chef was pleasant in helping me when i asked for fried eggs.

I am coming to carrick again next month for business and i would not recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in carrick. It is a disgrace and i hope that the general manager would sort these problems out.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kim j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrickfergus
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

We attend our friend's wedding reception in the Clarion on 4th April 2012. When we arrived there was plenty of tea and coffee and biscuits. The room for the reception was the same room we had for our wedding in November 2011 and was beautifully decorated by the same company we used which was called Over the Moon. The food was delicious and served piping hot, nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Dave, the MC was excellent and made everything run very smoothly. The Events team who arrange the receptions are superb and very helpful and take all the stress out of everything for you.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Crusader1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

We stayed here again after having had a good experience when we stayed last year. It had not changed and again proved to be excellent value for money. Staff were very courteous and friendly. Will certainly use them again on our next visit.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bugling_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

i dont usually write reviews on here but i had to make an exception for this hotel i stayed here recently on business and i was really surprised at the level of professionalism displayed on every aspect of my brief stay. the staff were always friendly and acted in the most upbeat professional manner expected, the rooms are modern and clean the food is excellent and the management were always bending over backwards when i was sometimes a pain needing things photocopyied and printed. they went above and beyond in my opinion and hope to stay here again when im next in town, special thanks to duty manager charlene i think her name was always smiling and helpful

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

Well fist off when I arrived ther was no record of my booking even tho i had a booking ref so had to stand and wait for them to sort a room out for me then then when I got to the room the bed had no duet on the bed so went an asked for one but they didnt have one so they give me thin sheets which didn't keep you warm then the roomkeeper had to be told on three Separte times that we didnt want them in that's was in the space cumin every 5 mins to bang the door will not be back an would not recommend to anyone !!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richardjones1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballyclare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

Just ate tonight in the Red Pepper in the Clarion, Carrickfergus.

From making the booking to paying the bill - great experience.

Fantastic choice of food on offer, enjoyable ambiance - and he food and service added to this.

There were 4 of us and we all had different starters and mains. From soup, to spring rolls to croquettes, from burgers to salmon, to pasta to seafood noodles.

Excellent value for money and we will definitely be back soon.

Ps. Really busy so it's better to book!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NureKop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrickfergus
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Carrickfergus Hotel
Premier Inn Carrickfergus Hotel
#1 of 6 in Carrickfergus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dobbins Inn Hotel
Dobbins Inn Hotel
#2 of 6 in Carrickfergus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
11.2 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 mi away
Galgorm Resort & Spa
Galgorm Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Ballymena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,672 reviews
4.2 mi away
Culloden Estate & Spa
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 3 in Holywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,644 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hilton Belfast Templepatrick Golf & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loughshore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loughshore Hotel

Property: Loughshore Hotel
Address: 75 Belfast Road, Carrickfergus BT38 8BX, Northern Ireland (Formerly Clarion Hotel Carrickfergus)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Carrickfergus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Carrickfergus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Loughshore Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Belfast Loughshore Hotel is a modern comfortable 3 star plus hotel located 10 minutes from Belfast city centre and within 30 minutes of all airports & ferry terminals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Loughshore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carrickfergus Clarion
Loughshore Hotel Carrickfergus, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing