We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice pleasant stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Loughshore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Loughshore Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Carrickfergus
Randalstown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice pleasant stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

Myself and my wife went to this hotel for a wedding and we were both very happy with the staff and also the size of the room..
The dinner was also excellent and breakfast too.
We would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 201 and was a nice size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    169
    93
    47
    42
See reviews for
170
202
21
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night in December 2013 for Christmas dinner. Hotel was nice an clean staff were v good even know there was 19 of use.the prices for drink was cheaper than the town. Will be going back in the new year for a weekend

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Harry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

We attended a wedding here between my cousin Brian and his new wife Belle on the 28th December 2013 and had an absolute ball.
Check in was quick and efficient and because of they wedding venue, I guess they let us check in earlier than the usual time.
The rooms were more than adequate, spacious, clean, bathroom was spotless, paintwork slightly tired and the beds were extremely comfortable and clean. We were in room 206 which faced toward Carrickfergus Castle.
The wedding suite was fantastic. It was well decorated, really fit for purpose and the MC did a fantastic job in ensuring a smooth flow to the proceedings.
Immediately after the ceremony the guests moved down to the front bar and even though there were only two bar staff serving, they were very efficient and no-one had to wait too long for their drinks order.
We then moved back up to the banqueting suite for our meal. Access for able bodied guests was the stairs but other guests with walking disabilities were escorted up by staff members using a private lift.
The tasty meal arrived promptly and was good and hot.
The rest of the evening was great, Fantastic band playing great sounds and the kids were looked after with different games and a free sweet shop - Excellent.
The Bed & Breakfast rate for a room for three was just £90 - great value at £30 per person.
We had our breakfast delivered to our room for a one of charge of just £5 and consisted of two cooked and one continental - That covered all bases and while the continental breakfast was very good, the cooked breakfasts were plentiful but slightly overdone. None the less they were very tasty and most welcome after a night of celebration.
This hotel is a great location for any function. The staff were brilliant and yes, even though the decor was a bid jaded here and there, it probably wasn`t noticed by the majority of the guests.
We had a great time and would have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank THB T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

The hotel looks clean and modern staff are ok, breakfast terrible, buffet style after being left under heat lamps for a long time was all hard and rubbery.
Evening meal was ok nothing special.
But we had booked a large suite including a jacuzzi spa bath at the cost of £170 per night, guess what? spa bath had note on it saying out of order, no one told us this when we booked, staff said they would get manager to ring me, never happened, even if everthing was alright it was massively over priced, and i know i live in hotels all year round. Very dissappointed.

Room Tip: There are many party's on at weekend so if you are after a quit night don't go to the Clario...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antrim
Level Contributor
222 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

Went to see mrs brown in the city (an ab hoot) and got a good deal in this hotel.
Nice big room , clean, very comfy bed. plenty of parking. Bathroom ok -
Restaurant - they have a hidden gem in Carla she went the extra step to ask chef could he depart from the standard script and indeed to finish provided a cheese board that wasn't on the menu with a flourish.
I was delighted by the meal and the service.

Breakfast the next morning fine,filling and plentiful

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bigmacAntrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

Booked an overnight stay here, arrived in late and the staff were most welcoming, friendly and extremely helpful. We got up to our room and we were very impressed, the room is well furnished, huge bed and lovely bathroom. Shame we could not sleep due to high levels of noise both inside and outside the hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was fantastic, and such great value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

This hotel is a lovely place to stay, but the noise from the room next doors tv kept us awake till after 3 am, when we decided to report it only to find out that the room was not in use. Do they not check these rooms and clean them when guests leave. I am just sorry I was so slow to report it, we were only there for 1 night and it was ruined by this. I am sorry that I have to write this report as I really like this hotel.

Room Tip: If there is noise report it straightaway
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrickfergus
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Carrickfergus Hotel
Premier Inn Carrickfergus Hotel
#1 of 6 in Carrickfergus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dobbins Inn Hotel
Dobbins Inn Hotel
#3 of 6 in Carrickfergus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
11.2 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Culloden Estate & Spa
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 3 in Holywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,664 reviews
10.7 mi away
Hilton Belfast Templepatrick Golf & Country Club
13.1 mi away
Ballygally Castle
Ballygally Castle
#1 of 1 in Ballygally
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loughshore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loughshore Hotel

Property: Loughshore Hotel
Address: 75 Belfast Road, Carrickfergus BT38 8BX, Northern Ireland (Formerly Clarion Hotel Carrickfergus)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Carrickfergus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Carrickfergus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Loughshore Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Belfast Loughshore Hotel is a modern comfortable 3 star plus hotel located 10 minutes from Belfast city centre and within 30 minutes of all airports & ferry terminals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Loughshore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carrickfergus Clarion
Loughshore Hotel Carrickfergus, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing