We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant experience”
Review of Loughshore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Loughshore Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Carrickfergus
Certificate of Excellence
Bowral, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A very pleasant experience”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed 2 nights and could not have been happier. The accommodation was clean and comfortable and the staff were very helpful, especially in finding a list camera! Meals were very good and it was a great base for touring the Belfast area. We would return.

Room Tip: Any room would be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    181
    97
    49
    42
See reviews for
182
212
22
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carterton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed for 4 nights commencing Monday 27th May 2014. (Shearings Coach party). The hotel was nice with spacious comfortable rooms. Staff were satisfactory but did not make an effort to treat us as 'special guests'. Food was good but no hot puddings served!

However this was spoilt by very slow service and by being kept awake one night with a wedding party. It appears that Coach parties are treated second rate!

We were told they were 'short-staffed!' but they had plenty of staff for the wedding party held every day! Management must ensure there are fully staffed by employing additional staff and using agency staff.

Smokers were allowed at the front door resulting in smoke entering the building - not a welcoming atmoshpere!!!

It was dissappointing that there was no evening entertainment during the week and that meals were fixed at 7.15pm.

We are not able to recommend this hotel, although with some simple quick fixes it could be really good!

Upon leaving no-one bothered to ask us if we enjoyed our stay! We wonder why? (You can easily guess the reason!)

Room Tip: Check here are no weddings on before you book if you want to sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GordonPhillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for a friends wedding, the hotel was beautiful staff very helpful & rooms was clean & modern! The only downside was the bar closed just after 12 however the residence bar was available! I would have no hesitation to recommend this hotel for a wedding! First class

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Took 45 mins for Order to be taken. Ordered burger.so overcooked that my knife would not cut it. Staff passed table and looked at my plate and failed to ask if everything was ok. Rest of my party were satisfied with their meal. Management were apologetic and cancelled it. Probably will give it one more visit.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Had a very good meal with friends special deal 4 courses and a bottle of wine for 2 £39.99. Food excellent especially the steak which was 1st class. If I had to find fault a few more choices esp for mains would be nice.Good atmosphere and service.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
Helpful?
1 Thank theduch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We had purchased a grab one voucher and stayed for two nights , the rooms were clean but maybe a fresh coat of paint to liven up the room. We had food in the restaurant on the first night and it was hot fresh and Michael the manager was very helpful in the planning of our trips . When we arrived back from our day trip to the causeway there was a wedding in full swing and the bar and restaurant was lively . Only problem was the children running up and down the corridors which the manager tried in vein to stop them but to no avail . If the hotel knows that a wedding is booked and members of the party are staying they should facilitate the other guests in a different wing of the hotel . Overall it was a good experience.

Room Tip: Ask if there is wedding and if so ask to be put in a quieter area
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here as my brother was getting married, wasn't impressed with our room as it was a bit outdated and we had travelled from the uk specifically from the uk for the wedding, the single bed we had was of poor quality, we were beside guests if another wedding party and were kept awake until the early hours not good when you have a toddler! Not sure if I would stay here again but my brothers wedding was nice they done a good job with that

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deanoboyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrickfergus
0.9 mi away
Dobbins Inn Hotel
Dobbins Inn Hotel
#3 of 6 in Carrickfergus
295 reviews
4.1 mi away
Culloden Estate & Spa
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 2 in Holywood
1,729 reviews
13.1 mi away
Ballygally Castle
Ballygally Castle
#1 of 1 in Ballygally
1,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
12.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Belfast
Crowne Plaza Belfast
#13 of 45 in Belfast
1,556 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
#1 of 1 in Crawfordsburn
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loughshore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loughshore Hotel

Property: Loughshore Hotel
Address: 75 Belfast Road, Carrickfergus BT38 8PH, Northern Ireland (Formerly Clarion Hotel Carrickfergus)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Carrickfergus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Carrickfergus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Loughshore Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Belfast Loughshore Hotel is a modern comfortable 3 star plus hotel located 10 minutes from Belfast city centre and within 30 minutes of all airports & ferry terminals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loughshore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carrickfergus Clarion
Loughshore Hotel Carrickfergus, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing