We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just One Night - but Fabulous”
Review of Loughshore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Loughshore Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Carrickfergus
Certificate of Excellence
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Just One Night - but Fabulous”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Recently stayed on a one night (Friday) deal with Friends. The rooms were spacious and had everything you need. The meals in the restaurant, and at breakfast were lovely. The bar staff were extremely friendly and made a few jokes with us. We felt very welcome, even though the place was busy with a wedding. There was a two piece group on - sadly playing to very few people but we really enjoyed them. For the stay to be only one night - it seemed longer and we had a fabulous time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2getawaydeals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    179
    96
    49
    42
See reviews for
179
210
22
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed here last night and was really impressed with staff. Very helpful and friendly and eager to help in any way. Had a delicious meal in the red pepper restaurant. Excellent food and reasonable prices. Would highly recommend. Room was beautiful with patio doors. Will return at a later date. Thanks

Room Tip: Room 307 is ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maria f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowral, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed 2 nights and could not have been happier. The accommodation was clean and comfortable and the staff were very helpful, especially in finding a list camera! Meals were very good and it was a great base for touring the Belfast area. We would return.

Room Tip: Any room would be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carterton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed for 4 nights commencing Monday 27th May 2014. (Shearings Coach party). The hotel was nice with spacious comfortable rooms. Staff were satisfactory but did not make an effort to treat us as 'special guests'. Food was good but no hot puddings served!

However this was spoilt by very slow service and by being kept awake one night with a wedding party. It appears that Coach parties are treated second rate!

We were told they were 'short-staffed!' but they had plenty of staff for the wedding party held every day! Management must ensure there are fully staffed by employing additional staff and using agency staff.

Smokers were allowed at the front door resulting in smoke entering the building - not a welcoming atmoshpere!!!

It was dissappointing that there was no evening entertainment during the week and that meals were fixed at 7.15pm.

We are not able to recommend this hotel, although with some simple quick fixes it could be really good!

Upon leaving no-one bothered to ask us if we enjoyed our stay! We wonder why? (You can easily guess the reason!)

Room Tip: Check here are no weddings on before you book if you want to sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GordonPhillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for a friends wedding, the hotel was beautiful staff very helpful & rooms was clean & modern! The only downside was the bar closed just after 12 however the residence bar was available! I would have no hesitation to recommend this hotel for a wedding! First class

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Took 45 mins for Order to be taken. Ordered burger.so overcooked that my knife would not cut it. Staff passed table and looked at my plate and failed to ask if everything was ok. Rest of my party were satisfied with their meal. Management were apologetic and cancelled it. Probably will give it one more visit.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Had a very good meal with friends special deal 4 courses and a bottle of wine for 2 £39.99. Food excellent especially the steak which was 1st class. If I had to find fault a few more choices esp for mains would be nice.Good atmosphere and service.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
Helpful?
1 Thank theduch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrickfergus
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Carrickfergus Hotel
Premier Inn Carrickfergus Hotel
#1 of 6 in Carrickfergus
526 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dobbins Inn Hotel
Dobbins Inn Hotel
#3 of 6 in Carrickfergus
290 reviews
11.2 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Culloden Estate & Spa
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 2 in Holywood
1,715 reviews
12.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Belfast
Crowne Plaza Belfast
#15 of 44 in Belfast
1,532 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
#1 of 1 in Crawfordsburn
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loughshore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loughshore Hotel

Property: Loughshore Hotel
Address: 75 Belfast Road, Carrickfergus BT38 8BX, Northern Ireland (Formerly Clarion Hotel Carrickfergus)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Carrickfergus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Carrickfergus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Loughshore Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Belfast Loughshore Hotel is a modern comfortable 3 star plus hotel located 10 minutes from Belfast city centre and within 30 minutes of all airports & ferry terminals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Loughshore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carrickfergus Clarion
Loughshore Hotel Carrickfergus, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing