We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Premier inn...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Carrickfergus Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Carrickfergus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2012

My sister and I,stopped here in August 2012 for a family wedding.My cousin was quoted £60 per night and on arrival at 9pm was told £80 per night,when it came to settle up this turned out a costly treat for him,as he had 3 rooms booked,and made us feel embarrassed, but what could be done at that time of night....Don't get me wrong the staff were very nice and friendly,but as I have stayed in many a Premier Inn over the yrs,it was no more special than any other.... which may I add I have stopped in for £49 per night. In the morning I was shocked to find breakfast was £8.50,being on a tight budget we walked 3mins across the road and had a Irish fry for £2.99.. £29 per night as on TV where!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms futher away from pub bottle bank.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bren758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (590)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

474 - 480 of 591 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2012

During our stay we had a lot of fun. The staff at this premier inn are so friendly and efficient, the most well managed premier inn I've stayed in (and there have been a few) all courtesy of the blonde bombshell of a manageress.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edd1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Premier Inn itself is nothing special, but it's location near the harbour and Carrickfergus Castle make it a perfect choice for this area! We loved walking near the water and thoroughly enjoyed the tour of the castle. The rooms are large, the hotel was clean and service was adequate. The adjoining restaurant had good food with great service.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nbrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

My friend and I have just returned from a Friday to Sunday stay in Premier Carrickfergus...and we had a fantastic time...the hotel is very clean and it is just a short walk to Carrickfergus ....The staff are very friendly nothing was too much bother . ...my friend and I both have a disability and the staff were very helpful with baggage...(.ask for a second floor front room as they have lovely views of the harbour)...The rooms are very spacious and whilst they are not 5* they are clean and have good beds...towels are changed daily and room tidied....The restaurant provides a substantial breakfast with a varied choice and the staff are very attentive. I think it is very good overall and we will be back again very soon.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mozees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Large very clean room, very friendly reception staff. Good views of the castle and harbour.
great pub next door serving very good food. sports bar around the corner showing all football.

a thoroughly enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stanleytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Thanks to Premier inn for making travel pdssible in hard times! Great location and super value. Views out over the sea and good food and supermarket nearby. Well done to all staff.We will definitely return to this area and hotel in the future.

Room Tip: Good Tapas place nearby
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marymce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

First impressions were great: friendly welcome, spacious room and spotlessly clean.

Less good was £3 for wifi after the first 30 minutes in what must be mainly a business hotel. Then there was the bed; all basically OK except there is some kind of plastic or rubber undersheet that felt very unpleasant to us.

The structure seemed to be very thin especially when someone in the room above began "exercising" around 1 am.

The shower was good but the toilet needed two or three flushes to be effective.

I'm off to try the Clarion tomorrow.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rally_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrickfergus
Loughshore Hotel
#2 of 6 in Carrickfergus
676 reviews
Dobbins Inn Hotel
#3 of 6 in Carrickfergus
317 reviews
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 2 in Holywood
1,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Carrickfergus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Carrickfergus Hotel

Address: Alexandra Pier Rodgers Quay | Rodgers Quay, Carrickfergus BT38 8BE, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Carrickfergus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Carrickfergus
Price Range: £52 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Carrickfergus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning coastline, gorgeous countryside and a thriving, historic town... there's loads to see and do at the Premier Inn Hotel Carrickfergus. In fact with so much to do within a mile of the front door - plus popular business destinations only slightly further away - your first visit is unlikely to be your last. Step back in time at Carrickfergus Castle and Museum, before stepping out to its Marina and smartly refurbished Amphitheatre leisure centre. And, if it's the right time of year, follow the steps at the Annual Irish Dancing Championships. Either way, kick back at our tasty Brewers Fayre restaurant before diving into your incredibly comfy bed. Important info This hotel is situated next to a main road. Bedrooms are insulated to minimise noise. Directions: M2(J2) out of Belfast City, follow M5 North onto A2 towards Carrickfergus along coast road. Follow signs to the Castle/Maritime Area. Turn right at roundabout adjacent to the castle. Hotel situated straight ahead, 9.5 miles from Belfast. Next to the Harbour Brewers Fayre. Transport and local information: Carrickfergus Castle Historic Site Belfast City Airport 11 miles County Antrim coastline Carrickfergus Train Station 0.5 mile George Best City Airport 11 miles Belfast International Airport 22 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Premier Inn and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Premier Inn Carrickfergus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Carrickfergus Hotel Carrickfergus
Premier Inn Carrickfergus Hotel Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing