We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Carrickfergus stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Carrickfergus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Carrickfergus Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Carrickfergus
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Carrickfergus stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stayed 2 days in the Premier Inn in Carrickfergus during a 5 day short holiday to N Ireland, our first time there. The site of the hotel is excellent- down by the coast and close to a superb old castle. The hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the rooms were a good size, clean and comfortable. I would recommend this hotel to anyone planning to stay in this area.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank N K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline D, Manager at Premier Inn Carrickfergus Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thank you for the lovely review of your stay at Premier Inn Carrickfergus. The site of the hotel is in an excellent location with the Castle and harbour within walking distant. Also I would like to thank you for your lovely comment in regards to the Premier Inn Team as they work extremely hard to achieve these goals and it’s great you thought these were achieved. We are delighted that you will recommend us to anyone who will be staying in this area. Thanks once again for your lovely review and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    135
    29
    7
    5
See reviews for
175
172
15
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
County Londonderry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Booked into the Premier Inn while visiting family in Carrickfergus. From check in to check out our hotel experience was first class. Often staying in Premier Inns, we know exactly what's available and these hotels have everything you need. It was clean, tidy and staff were very polite and professional. Jacqueline at reception is fab at her job ... Backed up by staff in the bar and breakfast area. Thank you Chris W for looking after us at breakfast. A very pleasant and warm young man. The hotel was spotless and well serviced by a good housekeeping team. We had a great nights sleep and the location for us was perfect. We will def use again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WEEROSIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline D, Manager at Premier Inn Carrickfergus Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thank you for the lovely review of your stay at Premier Inn Carrickfergus. I am so pleased that your hotel experiences from checking in to checking out was first class. I am delighted that you found the Premier Inn Staff to be polite and professional and it is great for them to be recognised for all their hard work. Thank you for the special mention it’s great that you thought I was fab at my job, which does mean a lot to me. The housekeeping team will be delighted that you found the hotel to be spotless and well serviced as they work extremely hard every day and they are a really great team and it is so nice for them to be recognised for all their hard work they do. I will pass on your comments regarding the bar and breakfast team who will be thrill with these comments and I will also pass on the comments to Chris W for looking after you at breakfast he will be pleased with these comments. Thanks once again for your lovely review and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, England
Level Contributor
81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Stayed here for two nights and it was fine. The rooms were clean and comfy and the price was reasonable. The staff were very welcoming and friendly, the location is ideal for staying on the North side of Belfast. My only concern was the fire alarm. It went off three times within an hour or so on the first night. That's not an issue; these things happen and even if it's annoying at 0100 - there's nothing for it. I was more perturbed by the lack of management of the fire alarm. It is, I was told, Premier Inn policy that they clear the disabled room but make no effort to evacuate the rest of the hotel. While I understand their employees are not firemen, I think this was an example of why that policy is flawed - just because the first incident was a false alarm (or perceived to be a false alarm) doesn't mean the second or third are. And if it had gone off the next night, most of the residents would have just ignored it. Think about it, Premier inn - if it is a false alarm, you need to find some way of relaying that via a tannoy or some such; one of these days, in one of your hotels someone might just wrongly assume that it's 'another' false alarm. Premier Inn credited us in full for the disrupted night's sleep - that was appreciated.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank bps-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline D, Manager at Premier Inn Carrickfergus Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Premier Inn. I do apologise for the fire alarm please be assured I will be looking into the management of the situation. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the location and had a lovely welcome from our Premier Inn team and you found your bedroom clean and comfortable. The location of the hotel has some amazing surrounding right next door to the castle and the harbour. Thanks once again for your review. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

We were very pleasantly surprised by the location of the hotel as I hadn't really looked at it other than in relation to where we wanted to go and it really is a quite delightful location, under the watchful eye of Carrickfergus Castle, nestled in by the harbour.

We arrived to the most unusual Irish weather of bright hot sunshine which was great - until we discovered that the room had no aircon - obviously not much needed normally! Apart from that the room was of a standard you would expect of Premier Inn.

The restaurant was a bit of an experience, with the staff being somewhat confused most of the time, my wife had a bit of an argument with the manager on the Curry Night because despite the fact that there was curry left out on full view of everyone, we weren't allowed to order it, although we could order a curry off the menu... There's logic there I guess but not as we normally understand it...

I paid a visit to the gents on our first afternoon there, one of the urinals had an attempt at covering up forced upon it, obviously blocked the urinal was full to near overflow with old stale urine which was further enhanced in aroma by the abnormal levels of heat within the building brought about by a once in a blue moon summers day...

4 days later when we left the urinal was in the same state although the aroma levels were now at a higher level of pungency, I guess the Manager didn't consider it a priority to sort out as he was too busy telling people what they couldn't eat!

One night we tried to order a dessert, we had been sat in the restaurant for a good couple of hours and at 10:10 decided we would finish the evening with a cold dessert - no dice, kitchen closed, no-one available to cook.... (A piece of cake!!!!!)

The same evening I ordered a drink at the bar - nothing fancy, just a gin and tonic, only to be told by the young lady at the bar, "Sorry we've run out of gin" to which I replied really? for her to inform me it was not unusual, as the other night they had run out of Vodka!

I asked to speak to the manager at which point she decided to look out back and lo and behold found a bottle of gin, so I guess the shortage had more to do with her unwillingness to walk 20' to the stockroom than poor stock management.

All in all not a stellar performance from Premier Inn but didn't see much point in arguing the toss with them as the Manager was a little full of himself

On the plus side, the hotel staff were very good and its proximity to the Castle and harbour is delightful so if you choose to eat elsewhere and the weather isn't too sunny you will be in for a treat!

Room Tip: Its a premier inn, all the rooms are the same, none give you a view of the harbour to my knowledge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColinTodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline D, Manager at Premier Inn Carrickfergus Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Premier Inn. I do apologise that your had a bad experience in our adjourning restaurant please be assured I will be discussing these issues with the Restaurant Management Team. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the location and the hotel staff. The location of the hotel has some amazing surrounding right next door to the castle and the harbour. Thanks once again for your review. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Londonderry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed for one night in a family room consisting of a good sized double bed and two singles. It was extremely clean and comfortable, just what you come to expect from a Premier Inn. The room had tea/coffee making facilities and a fully equipped bathroom with loads of towels. Breakfast in the Brewers Fayre restaurant is served from 6.30 and costs £8.95 for all you can eat with the added bonus of children eating free. Also there is ample free car parking on site.

Room Tip: Book as early as possible to get the lowest price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DarrellCaskey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline D, Manager at Premier Inn Carrickfergus Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Premier Inn Carrickfergus. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us from the size and cleanliness of your room to your breakfast in the morning. I will pass on your comments to the housekeeping team who will be pleased as they continuously strive to achieve these goals. Thanks once again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Two night weekend family break

POSITIVES
Location - lovely location with easy access to Belfast.
Staff - very friendly, welcoming and nice to deal with.
Room - comfortable bedding.
Price - good value.

NEGATIVES
Noise - very disrupted sleep on first night. Fire alarm repeatedly going off with subsequent high levels of noise from residents awoken, doors banging etc. Noise from outside in the car park, which on this night appeared to have been the hang out spot of teenagers engaging in anti-social behaviours. Concerns discussed with staff who dealt very well with same.
Shower - very poor flow
Power points - lack of same and location of same.

But overall an ok hotel with price reflecting the experience.
Breakfast - good choice but substandard quality on the Sunday in comparison to a nice breakfast the day precious. Would not choose to eat again in the restaurant for evening meals.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ash1807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline D, Manager at Premier Inn Carrickfergus Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Premier Inn. I do apologies that your first night was disturb due to the fire alarm and ones in the car park, rest assure we are looking into your comments . We are so pleased that we enjoyed the location of the hotel which does have amazing surrounding, and you found the staff friendly as they work really hard to achieve these goals ,and you found the bedding comfortable. Thanks once again for your review . We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omagh
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

We had a great stay here in carrickfergus premier inn staff very friendly, the breakfast was great a wide choice. The Wind Rose Resturant n bar which is near is worth a visit even for just a drink, it is close to Carrickfergus Castle and marina

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline D, Manager at Premier Inn Carrickfergus Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
We are so pleased that you took the time to review your stay at Premier Inn Carrickfergus. We are so delighted that you had a great stay with us and that you found the Premier Inn staff friendly as they continuously strive to achieve these goals. I will pass on your comments onto the restaurant team with regards to them having a great choice in breakfast. Thanks once again for your review and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrickfergus
Dobbins Inn Hotel
#2 of 6 in Carrickfergus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Loughshore Hotel
#3 of 6 in Carrickfergus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Curran Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Larne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 3 in Holywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Carrickfergus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Carrickfergus Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Carrickfergus Hotel
Address: Alexandra Pier Rodgers Quay | Rodgers Quay, Carrickfergus BT38 8BE, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Carrickfergus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Carrickfergus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Carrickfergus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning coastline, gorgeous countryside and a thriving, historic town... there's loads to see and do at the Premier Inn Hotel Carrickfergus. In fact with so much to do within a mile of the front door - plus popular business destinations only slightly further away - your first visit is unlikely to be your last. Step back in time at Carrickfergus Castle and Museum, before stepping out to its Marina and smartly refurbished Amphitheatre leisure centre. And, if it's the right time of year, follow the steps at the Annual Irish Dancing Championships. Either way, kick back at our tasty Brewers Fayre restaurant before diving into your incredibly comfy bed. Important info This hotel is situated next to a main road. Bedrooms are insulated to minimise noise. Directions: M2(J2) out of Belfast City, follow M5 North onto A2 towards Carrickfergus along coast road. Follow signs to the Castle/Maritime Area. Turn right at roundabout adjacent to the castle. Hotel situated straight ahead, 9.5 miles from Belfast. Next to the Harbour Brewers Fayre. Transport and local information: Carrickfergus Castle Historic Site Belfast City Airport 11 miles County Antrim coastline Carrickfergus Train Station 0.5 mile George Best City Airport 11 miles Belfast International Airport 22 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Carrickfergus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Carrickfergus Hotel Carrickfergus
Premier Inn Carrickfergus Hotel Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing