We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the most amazing view across the bay and within walking distance of the Giant's Causeway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carnside Guest House
Ranked #6 of 27 Bushmills B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We stayed here two nights in a triple and single room. I felt we were charged too much for the triple - £30 per person (after some negotiation) however the welcome was warm, the breakfast good and hearty (although you pay extra for cooked breakfast) and the location excellent. You could walk or take the car 3 minutes to the car park of the Giant's Causeway and Information Centre, and also walk to an excellent pub/restaurant - the Smugglers Inn. An excellent base from which to discover this wonderful corner of Northern Ireland and ideal for walkers.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harley003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2013

The B&B was somewhat of a let down - website and pictures posted here show something other than what we found upon our arrival. I will say that our host, Alice, was very friendly and available, she did do some laundry for us (it would have been nice to inform us before she did it how much it costs though). However, high speed internet advertized on her website was not available - she has the service although it is impossible to connect even when sitting directly beside the modem (this was also a problem for other guests staying there while we were there too). The rooms need some upgrades and minor repairs - the shower had cracked tiles under feet, mold was taking over the shower ceiling and the cocking in the shower was constantly falling apart and flaking off. The room was freezing to the point we had to go find Alice after 10 PM to turn on the heat, and the breakfast was mediocre. With some repairs and improvements this B&B could be five star, it is an excellent location with some beautiful views.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 92JAN92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

The Carnside Guest House is a wonderful B&B just off the coast near the Giant's Causeway. My friend and I stayed here one night while hiking through along the coast. The house is a big farm house, and it's really beautiful with lots of windows and sunshine coming in. We stayed in a twin ensuite room on the second floor. Our room was quite spacious and very clean. The heat worked wonderfully (we've found B&Bs in Ireland to be a bit cold overall), and there were a bunch of extra wool blankets to keep us warm (just in case). The shower was wonderfully hot (super important after hiking all day in the cold), and the water pressure was amazing (best shower we've had since we got here). The toilet was a little tricky to flush, but if you pull the handle with a bit of gusto, it works fine. We also loved the location. The house is surrounded by farms, so it's very quiet out there, and within walking distance to two restaurants. Alice, the owner, even drove us to a restaurant when we arrived because we were tired from hiking all day. The breakfast buffet was really great too. Overall, this may have been our favorite B&B during the trip. If you want to stay by the Causeway, this place is a gem!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Fantastic host , beautiful location,ideal place to stay if you are wanting to walk along the Causeway coast way. Alice ( the owner ) was very helpful and a good host, my wife and i did some walking along the coastal route ( outstanding views ) Great views from our room lovely and clean, breakfast was good. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank durhamrambelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We stayed here last year on way to Sligo. We liked it so much we went back again this year and took two friends. We hope to return again next year. We found it very friendly and clean. Breakfast was good, plenty to choose from and home made bread to die for. Thank you so much for making our visit so enjoyable.

Room Tip: The front rooms have a fantastic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rasen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We booked in for one night on the way from the ferry to our weeks holiday in Donegal. After enjoying the hospitality, breakfast and wonderful views from our bedroom we booked to stay on our return and were not dissapointed. Had a different bedroom on our return trip and both were very comfortable. Thought the choice of a buffet breakfast or paying extra if you wanted a cooked breakfast was a good idea as we don't usually want a large breakfast which you have to pay for anyway so we considered it good value. The two lounges were both very comfortable and the views great. If we return to Northern Ireland we will certainly come back here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ValandGerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Stopped here for two nights in June. No complaints at all. The breakfast was more than sufficient. The room was very clean, ok a bit dated but does it matter? Lovely views over the sea. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bushmills hotels
0.4 mi away
Causeway Hotel
Causeway Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bushmills
819 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
1,929 reviews
0.6 mi away
Smugglers Inn
Smugglers Inn
#9 of 27 in Bushmills
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Causeway Smithy B&B
Causeway Smithy B&B
#8 of 27 in Bushmills
126 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ballylinny Holiday Cottages
1.9 mi away
PortCaman House
PortCaman House
#13 of 27 in Bushmills
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carnside Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carnside Guest House

Address: 23 Causeway Road | Giants Causeway, Bushmills BT57 8SU, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Bushmills
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Bushmills
Price Range: £68 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carnside Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Carnside Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carnside Guest House Bushmills, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing