We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful County B&B With a View” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carnside Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carnside Guest House
Ranked #10 of 29 Bushmills B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
162 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Wonderful County B&B With a View”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Our stay was very pleasant in all respects. The view of the surrounding countryside was gorgeous. Our hostess was very accommodating. Very nice rooms and common area. Great guidance on activities in the area as well as a good local pub referral.

Room Tip: Any room is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    29
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
31
41
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Deal, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

best thing about Bushmills area is not just the giants causeway or the pubs but is the people, and here there was two of the finest.
beautiful scenery,lovely people and good value.
we was going to rent a holiday cottage so stayed here while looking and stayed the duration.
can't think of a better recommendation than that.

Room Tip: over look the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brett M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

We only stayed for one night as we wanted to be close to the Giants Causeway, so it was very convenient. Everything was fine but as I had bad knees from too much climbing, the stairs was a bit much. All the furniture is old fashioned and in some ways charming, (but I don't like old stuff) however all with modern conveniences. I really liked the bathroom. The breakfast was great, and I especially liked the fresh fruit. At 67 Euros this was a mid price B&B / Hotel for us, as I have stayed in 8 around Ireland.

Room Tip: I was upstairs at the back, I could hear the cows mooing, but I liked it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivienne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
132 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

My partner and I stayed one night at Carnside as part of an 8-day walking trip from Cushendall to Portstewart. We arrived at Carnside after a long 12-mile day of walking along the Causeway Coast trail, and our last 1/2 mile or so was in moderately heavy rain. Carnside is located up a gently sloping hill from Giants Causeway, itself, and the views over the coast and surrounding countryside are wonderful. While the address technically lists Bushmill as the location, Carnside really seems best positioned as an alternative to the Causeway Hotel. Our room was small but comfortable along the lines of B&Bs elsewhere along the Causeway Coast. Carnside offers complimentary wi-fi, but signal strength is limited primarily to the breakfast room.
The most notable aspect of Carnside is the warm personal service. When we arrived dripping wet and after shedding our outer gear in the foyer, we were offered tea and homemade cookies as we relaxed and tried to figure out our dinner plans. Once we decided to walk back down the hill to the Causeway Hotel for dinner, our host offered to drive us there since she was on her way elsewhere for a business meeting. This little gesture was most welcome since we weren't enthusiastic about even that short walk before dinner and after our long day's trek.
Breakfast the next morning offered the usual "continental" fare plus a variety of hot cooked items. We will certainly return to Carnside the next time we visit the Causeway Coast.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwitravelerpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Our plans changed at the last minute, and we needed a place to stay near Giant's Causeway. Everyone here was great. Accommodations were very nice, location was great, and so was breakfast! I am so happy that we happened upon this place. It was early in our Ireland trip, but definitely a great example of Irish hospitality!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Our party of 5 people stayed here recently and we had a great time. The rooms were very nice and clean, beds comfy and the breakfast was excellent. I wish that we had stayed two nights -- there is a lot to see in the area. Alice is a very nice host and she had a full house the night we were there. I recommend Carnside for your stay in Bushmills.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laurel t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cookham, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

The B&B is set well back from the road so it is very quiet. It couldn't be closer for visiting the Giant's Causeway and very reasonable B&B room rate.Our host rang and booked a dinner table for us and gave us good information about the locality.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlgeeCookham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bushmills
0.4 mi away
Causeway Hotel
Causeway Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bushmills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,631 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bayview Hotel
Bayview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portballintrae
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Adelphi Portrush
Adelphi Portrush
#1 of 8 in Portrush
4.5 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
0.3 mi away
Finn McCool's Giants Causeway Hostel
1.6 mi away
Ballylinny Holiday Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carnside Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carnside Guest House

Property: Carnside Guest House
Address: 23 Causeway Road | Giants Causeway, Bushmills BT57 8SU, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Bushmills
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Bushmills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Carnside Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Carnside Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carnside Guest House Bushmills, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing