We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Finn McCool's Giants Causeway Hostel
Reviewed 19 December 2013

My friends and I stayed for one night here and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We had the four bed room but found we spent more time in the communal kitchen and living room chatting and drinking with fellow guests and the host and his staff. Because it is a small place, everyone just congregates in the communal areas and socialises. We had an absolute blast with everyone who was staying there. The room was spacious and had lockers for medium sized baggage, enough to store valuables at least. Free breakfast was half decent, so if you are on a budget you won't complain. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would stay again if we ever find ourself in the area again, and would recommend for others to stay as well. For backpackers on a budget, it is a great little place and very affordable.

The Causeway is literally a 2 minute walk up the road, and best of all, because you walk there, there is no need to pay for parking, so you see the sight for free. It is only a small drive (longish walk) into Bushmills itself which is a great little town/village. Great location.

Room Tip: The four bed room had two bunks and was quite spacious. The bunks are basically timber frames, so th...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JDF86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
There are newer reviews for Finn McCool's Giants Causeway Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2013

Got in abut 5 the first night and was offered a free dinner of pork belly and veg. The hosts William, Irene and their employee Alex were all very helpful and friendly providing entertainment of a games for the nighttime. They all made it feel more like a home than a hosyel. They also provided great insights to the local sights - like not to pay the £8 for Giant's Causeway because it actually a free site. William was a great host and had the local Bushmills Irish Honey Whiskey flowing for us.
The free breakfast each morning was delicious and they also provided free tea and coffee throughout the day.
The rooms were a good size as were the bathrooms, but one of the showers only provided lukewarm water.
Would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone and everyone who is headed to NI.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Stayed one night on 19th October with two fellow walkers and had a great experience. Accommodation was clean and comfortable, and prices very reasonable. Staff could not have been better and had good information about local places to visit. The view from the conservatory is stunning. Overall a first class experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bob g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

This house has been converted into a hostel. Rooms are clean, modern, and light - though it would be cramped if full - likewise the common areas. Full kitchen is available to all.

Parking is available but limited, wi-fi is free but downstairs only. There is a TV - although channels are limited (BBC News seemed to be the only one available at the time) but there are plenty of games available as an alternative.

A simple cooked breakfast is also included in the rate - the breakfast room has great views and the filter coffee was much appreciated.

Location is spot on for the Causeway - 20 min walk and you're on it. So no excuse for missing the sunset!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GypsyJax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

This is the third time I have been here.So if you are like me and on a tight budget this is the place for you.Every time was different.Williem the owner was her this time.He likes to party and put a free meal on for all his guests.The Wine,Whisky and Beer flowed freely also.The other two nights you could have Burger and Chips for only £1.50.He has expanded also by opening a Day Restaurant for the Giant Causeway Visitors,The sfaff has changed but the atmosphere is just the same.

Room Tip: Go for a 4 bed Dorm as they are bigger plus a chair
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertEYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Amazing hostel- clean, friendly, great location. So close to the giants causeway! We found navigating the area without a car a little difficult, but it is doable. Highly recommend. Very comfortable, with lovely handmade wooden bunks. A great hostel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank othu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

What i found out in ireland... Some hostels make you feel like being home. So does this one!
A nice place with beautiful views from the wintergarden and kitchen.. And the 6 bed dorm.. I woke up with the view on the cliffs and the sea, the giants causeway just a few hundred meters away.
If you re heading here, just let the busdriver know (you probably come with the causeway rambler or the 172), he ll drop you out infront of the hostel. Or get out at giants causeway and walk down the road a 100m and you re there. Great thing bout the location: you can go for a walk to the causeway in the evening, when the tourists are gone. I had it for myself last week :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Anna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bushmills hotels
0.1 mi away
Causeway Hotel
Causeway Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bushmills
792 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
1,849 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bayview Hotel
Bayview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portballintrae
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Bushmills Hostel
Bushmills Hostel
#9 of 11 in Bushmills
43 reviews
2.1 mi away
Causeway Tavern Bed & Breakfast
0.8 mi away
Smugglers Inn
Smugglers Inn
#10 of 27 in Bushmills
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finn McCool's Giants Causeway Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finn McCool's Giants Causeway Hostel

Address: 32 Causeway Road, Bushmills BT57 8SU, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Bushmills
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Bushmills
Price Range: £26 - £43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Finn McCool's Giants Causeway Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 300 meters from the Giants Causeway visitor centre. 2 Miles Outside the small town of Bushmills A boutique hostel with character, perfectly located for hiking and enjoying Giant's Causeway and the surrounding natural beauty. The hostel is located about 400m from the Causeway itself, with stunning coastal views. Like our sister hostel, Lagan Backpackers in Belfast, we serve a great FREE hot breakfast (English breakfast: bacon and scrambled eggs, sausage, beans also with other options such as porridge etc). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Finn McCool's Giants Causeway Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finn McCool's Giants Causeway Hostel Bushmills, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing