We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“can't believe this hotel isn't always fully booked”
Review of Causeway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Causeway Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Bushmills
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2013

This recently renovated, well-run hotel is located AT the Giant’s Causeway. Guests just walk out the door and down the hill to “the stones”…can’t be easier.
We booked our standard double room for three nights on the internet; even regular price during the high season is a bargain. We were greeted warmly and quickly checked into Room 9. All the rooms are upstairs from reception (and there’s no elevator). The large room has a good size window with a view of the green pastures beyond the parking lot. The window only opens a few inches but allows for a cool breeze even when it is “warm” like when we were visiting. The curtains block out the early sunrise to allow for sleeping late.
The simple furnishings are quality and make the room feel neat and tidy. The bed is double size with average quality sheets and nice duvet and pillows. There are bed side tables with lamps and a side table with tea making supplies. There is a wardrobe for hanging clothes. A couple hooks for coats near the door would be a nice addition. The free Wi-Fi works well, even in our room.
The bathroom is recently renovated with modern fixtures and plumbing. The shower has good water pressure and the temperature remains constant. The towels are nice; although a wash cloth is not provided. The long counter provides lots of space for your stuff. There is a really good hair dryer…my hair loved it.
The dining room is a nice spot and very well run. Of course, we ate our breakfast here (it’s included). We also ate all of our evening meals here. The food is excellent…the roast pork chef’s special was the best meal we had our entire vacation. Everything is prepared in the kitchen with specially selected local ingredients. The breads, scones, and sweets are freshly baked by a local lady at the hotel. The Guinness is as good as anywhere in Ireland. The breakfast menu is cooked to order. During our stay, we were treated like good friends by Lee and the restaurant staff. Lee does his job with graceful perfection! It was a pleasure to get recommendations from a local who enjoys living here.
The three nights we had originally booked did not give enough time to see everything in the area. So, we extended our stay. The hotel front desk was very helpful and arranged for us to stay in the same room.
We traveled through Ireland and Northern Ireland without a car. There are local and long distance buses stopping right at the hotel. It’s so easy to visit and there is so much to see, I can’t believe that this hotel is not always fully booked. There is a brand-new Giant’s Causeway visitor center offering both personal guided and audio guided included with admission. We did both and enjoyed learning the facts and the legend. There’s a discount for arriving without a car. Remember that visitors can go to the stones without entering the visitor center. During our four night stay, we walked down to the stones every day to experience the different times of day and weather. What an amazing experience!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank celusnek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (852)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

609 - 615 of 852 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2013

Stopped here for lunch (whilst hopefully waiting for weather to clear) and very pleased with service, food, and ambience. Maganificent chandeliers, some interesting artwork in the corridors; friendly welcome. Would love to stop over night as location and views are fantastic for Giant's Causeway.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Spent Saturday night at Causeway - all the staff were friendly & efficient from reception to bar
& restaurant staff.
The room was very spacious,clean & tidy.
The best part of the stay was the evening meal, the food was very tasty,fresh & lots of it. I had
a peach melba for dessert something I have not had for years & was delicious.
Breakfast was also very good with fresh pastries & cereal followed by a freshly cooked breakfast.
An excellent choice if you want to visit the stones as just 15 minute walk down footpath.
Wonderful stay - well done to all staff.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JANWED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Stayed at Causeway Hotel Saturday/Sunday. Were not able to book into room until 4pm - this was not a problem as we took our time having a lovely run up the Antrim Coast. Arrived within alotted time and Receptionist was very welcoming (was booked as a special birthday weekend). When we went to room was very delighted with it, clean, spacious, well stocked with Tea/Coffee, biscuits etc and to top it all was a SEA VIEW!(Room 28). After unpacking and freshening up headed to bar - again staff very welcoming and super efficient. Whilst sitting in bar the rest of my family appeared as my husband had also booked familyroom (room 16) and two further sea view rooms(rooms 27 and 26) for our children and partners to stay. Such a wonderful surprise and he did say he had made sure a note was on the booking for Receptionist NOT to say about further rooms booked! Had a lovely relaxing time in bar before heading to Restaurant. Orders taken promptly variety of meals ordered from steaks, salmon, seabass, kebab + chicken goujons. All meals well cooked and presented - only slight down side was that we had to request more Chicken goujons as portion came only had 3 small goujons (basically a childs portion!) - waiter duly apologised and brought out a further three goujons. Meal was lovely and the staff had looked after a special cake that had been brought by one of the children. After meal had a very restful night and went for breakfast which was all cooked to order (another lovely touch rather than all sitting out cooling!) waiter was able to see that our toast was taking a bit of time to come and went to chase it up - toast came when most of us had finished our breakfast. All in all it was a lovely break and would recommend hotel, staff very friendly and efficient.

Room Tip: Various sorts of rooms - chose sea view which open out on to small patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cazbfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Here we are on the cliff top right next to the Giants Causeway visitor centre. The hotel has clearly been recently refurbished and is well decorated, clean and fresh, retaining some of the features of the older part of the building. Spectacular views.
Our room (21) is in a newer part of the hotel, up stairs as no lift (although see on another staircase there is a chair on rails - so if mobility problems check with hotel on access, as corridors have also short flights of stairs). Room spacious and well appointed - nothing luxurious but more than adequate. Door out on to a rear terrace.
Dinner excellent but beware the portions are very large - small chowder starter was a meal in itself! The prawn and smoked salmon had very generous proportions.
Breakfast freshly cooked and excellent.

Staff very friendly and helpful.

Clearly to be here aft and before the deluge of tourists.

Off to the Giants Causeway itself now.

Room Tip: Room 21 is fine but a bit of a trek from foyer - with stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avocettoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Literally next to the Giants Causeway itself. Wonderful if you have National Trust membership as you could pop into the Causeway early morning and late afternoon before and after the crowds who arrive on tour buses. Excellent food (breakfast cooked to order rather than sitting around) - enjoyed a large room (number 31) with sea view and private patio. Staff couldn't have been more helpful, thank you to James behind the bar who helped with my ipad email problems (my fault) and the super waitresses who were attentive and so obviously enjoyed looking after people with a smile. Not luxurious but certainly comfortable and somewhere you are made to feel welcome and like a paying guest. Service how it is meant to be, but so rare to find these days.

Room Tip: We were thrilled with room 31 for its size, sea view and private balcony - but there are several sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank virginia046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

My wife and I arrived at about 7.30 in the evening and so having already had a meal on route and because it was a lovely evening decided to go staight down to the Giant's Causeway. A fifteen minute walk and we were there but with few other people around, some like me taking photos of the Causeway in the evening light, it was magical. We stayed around untill the sun finaly set at well past 10.00pm. Next day when we arrived back at the hotel from our day out I counted at least 12 coaches, not to mention all the cars, so if you get chance go down in the evening to avoid the crush in the daytime.

The hotel itself was first rate, our room was at the back but the view was great and we had a small patio area to step outside onto. Very comfortable beds, clean and well appointed bathroom with a poweful shower.

The food in the restaurant was excellent, and the breakfast was freshly cooked to order each morning. There is ample car parking for quests, All in all a good choice and value for money

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PANDA5661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bushmills
1.8 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
2,023 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bayview Hotel
Bayview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portballintrae
731 reviews
6.8 mi away
Inn on the Coast
Inn on the Coast
#2 of 8 in Portrush
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
4.1 mi away
Royal Court Hotel
Royal Court Hotel
#3 of 8 in Portrush
433 reviews
11.1 mi away
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
#2 of 2 in Ballycastle
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Causeway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Causeway Hotel

Address: 40 Causeway Road | Giants Causeway, Bushmills BT57 8SU, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Bushmills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Bushmills
Price Range: £74 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Causeway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Causeway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Causeway Hotel Bushmills, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing