We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay at the inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Finn MacCool's Public House and Guest Inn
Ranked #8 of 27 Bushmills B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Our stay at the inn”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My wife and I have just finished 4 nights in Bushmills. If you are intended in visiting the Antrim coast do not go past the inn. Upon arrival we were greeted by Tracey and shown to a room which was bright, airy and clean. We then, as you do on holidays in a small pub, headed for the bar. This is where your enjoyment starts. We ordered Chinese, one of the locals went out to pick it up and we ate in the bar.

This is a family run small hotel and you soon feel like a local. The evenings in the bar with Raymond, Lee and the locals could not be bettered. The breakfasts are huge and nothing is too much trouble. The location is ideal for all the sights and we even went into Belfast from Coleraine by train one day. If you wish to have the perfect o/night stay this is the spot or, do as we did, stay a few days.

Again we thank all the family for our wonderful stay and Michael ( the local cafe owner ) for the game of golf although it did take quite a while to play the nineteenth hole.
Do not miss this place

Room Tip: Room 2 was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    40
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
31
71
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I could not speak highly enough of this place.The location is perfectly situated for the distillery,the giants causeway,the rope bridge and much more including wonderful beaches.
As soon as you arrive until the minute you leave you're made to feel welcome, I was travelling alone but didn't feel out of place with the staff and locals alike in the bar in the evening very friendly. The breakfasts in the morning were beautiful and served with a smile.i shall definitely be going back.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank randrews28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

If you are researching places to stay in Bushmills, look no further. Finn MacCool's was my favorite stay during our nearly 2 week trip. It's in walking distance to Bushmills Distrillery and just a couple of miles from Giant's Causeway and the Rope Bridge. But the real reason to stay here is the pub and guesthouse itself. The rooms are newly renovated and although they are small, they are absolutely lovely. I was in room 3 and the shower was not just the best of my Ireland trip but was one of the best ever. The bed was very comfortable and we heard no outside noise at any time while in the room. But the best part was hanging out in the bar with Raymond, who is the owner and evening bartender, and the locals. (Being an American fan of the EPL I don't have many people I can talk soccer with so, it was an extra special treat for me to be able to sit in the bar and listen to the local men talk and debate the teams.) Raymond's wife was there in the mornings to serve us breakfast, which was delicious. She gave us some great suggestions of things to see, the best of which was a visit to the Dark Hedges. Bushmills Distillery is right up the street and worth a visit. I'd love to go back to Bushmills, Northern Ireland just so that I hang out more at Finn MacCool's.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelchick8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
64 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We arrived late on a quiet Sunday evening and the Barman quickly took us to our room, showed us the ropes and offered to help us with our bags. We also were able to place breakfast orders at night for a specific time which got us up and going early in the morning. We spent the rest of the evening in the bar and had a lovely chat with the Barman Martin - who even hand drew us a map to help us find a specific spot the next day, and made many recommendations that made our trip the next day incredible. The personal attention was definitely a bonus.
The room itself was exactly as displayed in photos, very comfortable and clean. Had the best nights sleep of our entire trip there. Only downside was a paper bathmat, but that's hardly an issue.
Breakfast in the morning was HUGE and delicious. When they say Full Irish Fry breakfast, they mean it!
We really enjoyed our nights stay at Finn MacCool's and would definitely recommend it to anyone traveling through the area in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

This was the first place we booked on a two week driving vacation around Ireland, and it was a good first choice. The staff immediately made us feel at home, and set a high bar for the rest of our stay. The rooms are all upstairs over the pub, but we did not hear a thing from below despite a lively Saturday night crowd; those old stone walls are thick! There is some street noise if your room faces the front, but it was never bad. Spending time in the pub with the staff, locals, and other travelers was one of my favorite things. But ask Tressa, Shirely, Phyllis or one of the other staffers about local sites and they'll give you a lot of good pointers. Just walking around the village is a real treat. Don't expect it to be very fancy or to be treated like royalty. But if you want to feel like "one of the family," this is a great place to stay!

Room Tip: Bring your own shampoo and conditioner!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I have just returned from a two night stay and all I can say is what a wonderful, friendly place. The staff really make you feel at home and nothing is too much trouble. Unfortunately upon arrival a plumber was carrying out some works which meant that there was a lack of hot water for a few hours (hardly anybodies fault). Once the water was back on though what a shower!!!!! Just what was needed on a wet and wild day. The bed was comfy and the lack of tea making facilities was hardly an issue owing to the fact that the staff were all too willing to brew up! Massive breakfast, great location and an altogether fantastic experience. We'll be back!!!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hallows0111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

If you are heading to Northern Ireland, I would absolutely recommend staying at the big Giant's place, Finn McCool's Guest House in Bushmills. We stayed 2 night here and loved everything about this place. Lesley took us to our room, helped with the luggage and was super friendly. Lee and Tracy were terrific also. This was our home away from home! If you are interesting in getting a pint of Guinness, no problem, just walk downstairs and get one or take it to your room. This was one of our favorite places to stay. It is walking distance to the Bushmills distillery; the Giant's Causeway, Carrik-a-Rede Rope Bridge, Dunluce Castle, the Royal Portrush Golf Club are just a few miles away.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayLDesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bushmills hotels
0.2 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
1,748 reviews
2.0 mi away
Causeway Hotel
Causeway Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bushmills
733 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bayview Hotel
Bayview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portballintrae
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
PortCaman House
PortCaman House
#13 of 27 in Bushmills
87 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rest A While
Rest A While
#6 of 27 in Bushmills
231 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bushmills Hostel
Bushmills Hostel
#7 of 11 in Bushmills
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finn MacCool's Public House and Guest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finn MacCool's Public House and Guest Inn

Property: Finn MacCool's Public House and Guest Inn
Address: 124 Main Street, Bushmills BT57 8QD, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Bushmills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Bushmills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finn Mac Cool's Public House & Guest Inn is situated in Bushmills town centre, this ideal location is a 5 minute walk from our famous Bushmills Distillery and close to the Giants Causeway and other famous North Coast attractions such as Dunluce Castle and Carrick-a-rede rope bridge.Our accommodation includes a family room for 3-4 persons, double and single rooms all with en-suites. All rooms are newly refurbished including tv's, free wifi and private parking to rear.After a day of sight seeing you can sit and relax with a coffee or alchaholic beverage, and enjoy a hearty breakfast in the morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Finn MacCool's Public House and Guest Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finn MacCool's Public House And Guest Inn Bushmills, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing