We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smugglers Inn is located close to Giants Causeway”
Review of Smugglers Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Smugglers Inn
Ranked #10 of 27 Bushmills B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2013

The Smugglers Inn is located a short driving distance away from the popular tourist attraction "Giants Causeway".
The common ares including bar and eating areas are comfortable. The staff are friendly. There is no lift so pack light!
The room was comfortable with an ok bathroom.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lonnie24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (389)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

244 - 250 of 389 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2013

Small, friendly, spotlessly clean and comfortable beds. Good food and very pleasant staff. Room was quite big and a large bathroom which was spotless......means a lot. Very convenient for all the touristy visits and lovely to come bacK to after a day out in PORTRUSH.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ANNNEWTOWNARDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

went there on sat 27 july my birthday my partner also was with me ,we enjoyed our food ,good service{a little slow}good value for money ,staff good all in all a good night ,would go back, and strongly recommend it

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jim m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Have eaten here a couple of times so far this week and on both occasions the food has been very good and the team incredibly welcoming without exception. It's a great place to go if you have dogs as there aren't many in the area that will serve food outside. It's approx 2 miles from bushmills and about the same from the causeway so a good stop off.

A relaxed option but with good food and a great view.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annette_Whalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

If your out and about especially at the Causeway/Bushmills area this is a great place to stop in for a relaxing meal. The staff and manager are very friendly and ensure all is ok with your meal. I have ate here loads of times and has been good on every occasion. Would recommend eating on a Saturday night in the bar to be entertained by the traditional musicians.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

After a day of exploring the Coastal region we dropped by here for dinner at about 8 pm. We were greeted and shown to a table in anow fairly empty bar/dining room. I enjoyed my honey glazed ham hock, but my wife's lamb shank looked over-cooked and un appealing. Apparently it tasted the same.

It's a shame the consistency wasn't there, so we didn't return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TrevMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013 via mobile

We visited the Inn after a day sightseeing on the coast, we arrived rather late as the kitchen was just closing (about 9pm on a Tuesday) The manager however was very accommodating and showed us to a table. The decor is a fun mix of antique nautical finds with nets, oars and maps dotted around the place.
The food was well cooked and good value for money (we had the Smugglers burger) as the portion was large and the price a bit too pricey, the bar prices however were a lot more wallet friendly!!. The staff were very helpful and polite, the location is very convenient after a day on the Causeway Coast, with great views over the sea and a lovely sunset. Would definitely recommend this restaurant!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryWylie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bushmills
1.0 mi away
Causeway Hotel
Causeway Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bushmills
807 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
1,886 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bayview Hotel
Bayview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portballintrae
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Royal Court Hotel
Royal Court Hotel
#2 of 8 in Portrush
415 reviews
10.8 mi away
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
#2 of 2 in Ballycastle
692 reviews
5.7 mi away
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smugglers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smugglers Inn

Address: 306 Whitepark Road | Giant's Causeway, Bushmills BT57 8SL, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Bushmills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Bushmills
Price Range: £88 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Smugglers Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Smugglers Inn....... We are a family run Hotel located on the famous Causeway Coastal Route and one mile from Northern Ireland's only UNESCO world heritage site, The Giant's Causeway. We are the closest Guest Inn to The Giant's Causeway. The Smugglers Inn is situated on an elevated site with panoramic views off the surrounding north Antrim coast and rural landscape. Our facilities include a fully licensed restaurant, a bistro, bar, free wi-fi and extensive free car parking at the rear of the property for cars and coaches.Upstairs we have twelve en suite rooms consisting of doubles, twins, family and executive bayview rooms. The Smugglers Inn is the perfect base to explore the unique and mythical attractions of Northern Ireland's North Antrim Coast including The Giant's Causeway, The medieval Dunluce Castle, Bushmills Irish Whiskey Distillery and Carrick-a-Rede rope bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Smugglers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smugglers Hotel Bushmills
Smugglers Inn Bushmills, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing