We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Smugglers Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Smugglers Inn
Ranked #8 of 29 Bushmills B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

I recently stayed here in November as part of a group of photographers visiting the local area. I had a large room with a double and single bed in and the room was spotless and well furnished. The hotel staff couldn't do enough to make sure we were happy and even provided a late breakfast to accommodate us, which was fantastic. We ate in the restaurant every night and again the food was great. large portions and well priced. I recommend this place to anyone wishing to visit the local attractions. Me and the guys will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    101
    36
    20
    11
See reviews for
81
158
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

Fantastic stay!!! Workers are lush.. Great food! Tottes beautiful! Fab location for tourist attractions. Very clean! Extremely helpful and cater for any needs (gluten free diet) Can't wait to return. Love the 6 lasses from newcastle xxx

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Emskii1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

Me and my husband came here for a 2 night stay and had a brilliant time. Brilliant part was that we were able to bring our dog with us. And with all the lovely walks round the Giants Causeway and to the beach it was brilliant to be able to bring her to enjoy. All the staff in the Smugglers inn were very nice and helpful. The food we had here was really lovely, the dinner selection was fantastic and a real ulster fry in the morning was just brilliant for getting ready for the day. Brilliant location to the Giants Causeway. We couldn't have asked for a nicer wee break.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamIT28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheadle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

My husband booked our stay at the Smugglers Inn. He had clients to see and I wanted to see Ireland.
When we arrived, we both commented on the view. It was so close to the sea it was fantastic! The man who was looking after the reception desk was so helpful. We were a bit disappointed that there was no lunch being served, but this later proved to be in our favour.
We had room 8 - Causeway. A fitting name as that was our first destination. We did not realise how close we actually were to the Giants Causeway! The room was massive, with a double and single bed. It was so clean as was the bathroom.
After a trip the Giants Causeway and a great lunch in The Nook pub, we later that evening got ready for dinner. My husband had lamb and rib off the specials menu, I had mussels and steak. We were both blown away by the quality and taste of the food! The chef is fantastic and I told him that when we went into the lounge area after our meal. We both thought that we couldn't be so lucky to have a great breakfast also.
The next morning, after a great sleep, we went to breakfast. The same man who greeted us, was serving our breakfasts. The coffee was hot, the toast was freshly done and warm (unlike so many places) and the Irish breakfast was to die for! The egg came out soft and perfect!
We will both definitely return to here!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrs-Ellis-2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John Bessbrook
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Booked superior room for a two night special and was told that we could stay an extra night bed an breakfast free.

The two of us paid £95 each for 3 nights B&B with one 3 course dinner. Sercice was excellent & food was of high quality.

I would recommend this deal to anyone.

Room Tip: Room number 8 has excellent view and is a good size
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johnc35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

Great location for exploring the Causeway coast and its various attractions. I was unfortunately not well and the staff were very great at making my stay very comfortable. The view from the room on the second floor is wonderful overlooking the farmland and the ocean in the distance. Very relaxing. The room was very spacious and neat and tidy. Nothing fancy, just clean. Downstairs the pirate theme is a little tacky but has it's charm.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kamelion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed here for 2 days for a nearby wedding. Located just outside of the town of Bushmills, and very close to the Giant's Causeway and Carrick-A-Rede rope bridge, so a perfect bolt hole for exploring.

On checking in we were upgraded to a second floor room with a view of the coast, which was a nice surprise. The room had lots of space, but being an attic room there were some low beams and awkward corners which you needed to be careful of to avoid bumped heads!!

Breakfast was good with the standard cereal and choice of cooked breakfast. I was encouraged to try potato bread by the helpful waitress and enjoyed it.

All the staff were friendly and helpful, especially the night porter. On the day of the wedding we arrived back at the bushmills after 2:30 a.m. and the nightporter was at the door ready to let us in (having spied our coach dropping us off at the corner) with a smile and a "goodnight", in my experience a friendly welcome from night staff is unusual and topped off a perfect day wonderfully.

The only negative could be the location, its only a 20 minute walk or very quick drive into the town of Bushmills, but the road is quite busy and there is no pavement or street lights, making it a hairy walk back up the hill after drinks in the town (or get a taxi!!).

Room Tip: Room 14 on 2nd floor has a nice view of the coast (see my photo)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KABReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bushmills
1.0 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,630 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bayview Hotel
Bayview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portballintrae
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
1.0 mi away
Causeway Hotel
Causeway Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bushmills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Royal Court Hotel
Royal Court Hotel
#3 of 8 in Portrush
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
0.8 mi away
Finn McCool's Giants Causeway Hostel
1.2 mi away
Finn MacCool's Public House and Guest Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smugglers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smugglers Inn

Property: Smugglers Inn
Address: 306 Whitepark Road | Giant's Causeway, Bushmills BT57 8SL, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Bushmills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Bushmills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Smugglers Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Smugglers Inn....... We are a family run Hotel located on the famous Causeway Coastal Route and one mile from Northern Ireland's only UNESCO world heritage site, The Giant's Causeway. We are the closest Guest Inn to The Giant's Causeway. The Smugglers Inn is situated on an elevated site with panoramic views off the surrounding north Antrim coast and rural landscape. Our facilities include a fully licensed restaurant, a bistro, bar, free wi-fi and extensive free car parking at the rear of the property for cars and coaches.Upstairs we have twelve en suite rooms consisting of doubles, twins, family and executive bayview rooms. The Smugglers Inn is the perfect base to explore the unique and mythical attractions of Northern Ireland's North Antrim Coast including The Giant's Causeway, The medieval Dunluce Castle, Bushmills Irish Whiskey Distillery and Carrick-a-Rede rope bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Smugglers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smugglers Hotel Bushmills
Smugglers Inn Bushmills, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing