We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good facilities & location, but not very welcoming.”
Review of Bushmills Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bushmills Hostel
Reviewed 1 April 2008

Good location on the north coast and the facilities and rooms in the hostel are great. The welcome however left a lot to be desired. We were tutted at for bringing our own sleeping bags rather than use the bed linen provided, and were warned several times 'NO SMOKING OR DRINKING' even though we neither smoke nor drink. Didn't get a smile from the female owner at any stage - I think she might be stuck in the wrong job and is taking it out on others. The problem is, this is the second time we've stayed there and experienced exactly the same attitude the first time.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Spurano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2005

My family and I have just returned from a whistle stop tour of Northern Ireland doing the Northern Ireland Tourist Board's Seven Day Tour in three. We flew with Easyjet from Liverpool for the amazing price of £97 for us all and opted to stay at Youth Hostels in Bushmills and Enniskilen.
I have never stayed in a Youth Hostel before and had an idea that youth hostelling involved having to get up early to wash the floor or some other chore but it ws not like that though we did have to make our own beds with linen provided.
The family room we had at a cost of 40 pounds for one night had two single beds and two upstairs and the room had a sink shower and wc. There was no television.
Being a youth hostel there were amplecooking and dining facilities and a lounge with tv and board games.
Overall I would rate the youth hostels we stayed at somewhere under a travel lodge but for the money it was clean wam and ample for our needs but all things considered I will stick with hotelsin future.
As for the location it is brilliant for the causeway where the is an excellant pub called the Nook which served excellant evening meals. You could have two evening meals for twelve pounds I had an excellant duck and my wife had stak in Guinness pie whilst the children had enchilladas andahamburger all served with fresh vegetables.

6  Thank ethelred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Oliver R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Florian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mélissa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: mejor habitación familiar con baño privado
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Pietas V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bushmills hotels
1.9 mi away
Causeway Hotel
Causeway Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bushmills
828 reviews
0 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
1,961 reviews
1 mi away
Bayview Hotel
Bayview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portballintrae
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Causeway Lodge
Causeway Lodge
#1 of 2 in Dunseverick
157 reviews
0.1 mi away
Finn MacCool's Public House and Guest Inn
1.8 mi away
Finn McCool's Giants Causeway Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bushmills Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bushmills Hostel

Address: 49 Main Street, Bushmills BT57 8QA, Northern Ireland (Formerly Mill Rest Youth Hostel)
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Bushmills
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Bushmills
Price Range: £21 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bushmills Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Bushmills Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bushmills Hostel Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing