We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and cheap hostel to visit the north coast.”
Review of Bushmills Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bushmills Hostel
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The staff is very nice and discrete. No special atmosphere but perfect for a good night. The breakfast is not included but they offers coffee, tea and biscuits. A well equipped kitchen is provide. It was really calm.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aymeric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hostelling_Intl_NI, Public Relations Manager at Bushmills Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Hi Aymeric L

Thank you for taking the time to review our Bushmills hostel and for leaving such positive comments. I am delighted to hear that you availed of Denis' hospitality of tea and biscuits! I very much hope you enjoyed your trip to the North Coast of Northern Ireland.

Cathy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

Not knowing what to expect, we were pleasantly surprised. We stayed in a 6 bed room with ensuite to accommodate our adult daughters, husband and me. It had 2 sets of bunk beds with two twins in a loft above. All was very clean and while basic, met all of our needs. We used the industrial kitchen to make our meals - easy enough with plenty of grocery stores close by. Internet access was available in the lounge - which was very roomy, complete with fireplace and a tv for those who wish. The location is great. It's along the main street, across from the shuttle to Giant's Causeway, although we chose to drive ourselves since it's less than 10 minutes away. Also well situated to get to the Old Bushmills Distillery (within walking distance), the Dunluce Castle (10-15 min by car), Carrick-A-Rede Rope Bridge and about ½ hour to Balleycastle, a beautiful coastal resort town. What really made our experience special was meeting others at the hostel - folks from Belfast, Spain and Philadelphia. Since it was such a positive experience, we have since stayed in other hostels and will look at this option for subsequent travel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valarie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hostelling_Intl_NI, Public Relations Manager at Bushmills Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Hi Valarie2014

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review of our Bushmills Youth Hostel. It is such a treat to read such positive comments and I am delighted to hear that you and your family experienced the major attractions of the North Coast.
Meeting other hostellers and sharing space with like minded travellers, being able to swap stories and experiences is an aspect that is unique to hostelling and why it remains so popular despite the increase in budget hotels etc. Many of our guests report that they have made lifelong friends whilst sitting in a common area of a hostel!
I am absolutely thrilled to hear that we have converted you to the hostelling way and wish you all the best on your future travels!

Cathy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Me, my husband and our two little boys (3.5 years and 8 months) spent the night here to see the Giro d'Italia pass through Bushmills.

The hostel was lovely, very clean, with a lovely garden area, a courtyard with very colourful murals of local history / culture, a well equipped kitchen area, free wi-fi in the lobby and an open fire to relax beside.

We opted for one of the larger rooms with a mezzanine, which is perfect for anyone with young kids because it was en-suite, had loads of room and the upstairs mezzanine level is perfect to sit up on and watch a movie on the laptop when the kids have (finally!) conked out downstairs.

The hostel was very quiet at night so we all got a great night's sleep but it is ideally located, right in the middle of the town, with car parking just across the road, a nearby play park for the kids (if they eventually get bored of the hostel garden) and a Co-Op for groceries just a few doors up.

Bushmills makes a great base for exploring tourist attractions along the north coast such as the Giants Causeway, the whiskey distiller, Carrickarede rope bridge or the beach at Ballycastle, and the hostel is an ideal option for families or groups of friends who want great value for money, a very friendly host and excellent self catering facilities.

Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Opt for a larger mezzanine room if one is available - extra space is well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maevedave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hostelling_Intl_NI, Public Relations Manager at Bushmills Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Hi maevedave

Many thanks for taking the time to review our Bushmills hostel. I am delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your recent stay with us and it is such a pleasure to read some positive comments.
I agree that our mezzanine rooms are ideal for families because of their layout; perfect for parents to get some quiet time (or indeed watch a movie!) when the little ones eventually give into sleep after a day of exploring!
I hope your boys enjoyed the excitement and buzz about the town for the Giro and very much hope that you will return to stay at Bushmills, or another of our hostels in the not so distant future.

Cathy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Dennis who ran the hostel made our booking procedure and time at the hostel very straight forward. It is a great location and all of our young people thought it was our best venue we have stayed in yet. It is warm, comfortable and even has an open fire. The kitchen is a great size and all beds had their own bedding. Highly recommend this as a venue for a youth or church weekend.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clare W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hostelling_Intl_NI, Public Relations Manager at Bushmills Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Hi Clare W!

Many thanks for taking the time to review our Bushmills Youth Hostel. It means alot to receive 5 stars as it shows our hard work and commitment to our guests is paying off!

We very much hope that we can welcome you back to stay again in the future.

Cathy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We stayed along with a group of international volunteers for 4 days at the end of March 2014. We were brilliantly looked after - we were given use of the conference room for our training sessions and the Warden lit the fire for us each night :) Being able to do our own catering gave us great freedom and the Hostel is really well located for visits to the Giant's Causeway, Dunluce Castle and the Bushmills Distillery. Many thanks to the lovely staff for such a warm welcome!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hostelling_Intl_NI, Public Relations Manager at Bushmills Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Hi Mary H

Many thanks for taking the time to review our Bushmills Youth Hostel and for giving us an amazing five stars! It was our absolute pleasure to have you and your group stay with us and we very much look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Cathy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

stayed late january 2014. had access to three rooms and all were very well set out with plenty of room. brilliant shower, plenty of space in kitchen and a nice common area. happy service from people looking after hostel. would stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mablecross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hostelling_Intl_NI, Public Relations Manager at Bushmills Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Hi Mablecross!

Many thanks for taking the time to review our Bushmills Youth Hostel - the feedback of our guests is very important to us. I am delighted to hear that you found our facilities useful but most importantly that you would return to us on your next visit to Bushmills!

I very much hope you and your family had an enjoyable stay.

Cathy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed with three friends last year and had a massive split level room. It was cold outside but nice and cosy by the fire. Right in the centre of town and all kitchen supplies are available. The floors we're a bit creaky but I would stay here again.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
Thank CindyJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hostelling_Intl_NI, Public Relations Manager at Bushmills Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Hi CindyJane!

Many thanks for taking the time to review our Bushmills Youth Hostel. I am delighted to hear that you managed to keep warm from the Northern Ireland elements by snuggling up to the open fire and keeping cosy!

I hope we can welcome you and your friends back sometime in the future and perhaps next time you can have a BBQ in the sun out in the courtyard as opposed to needing the fire!

Cathy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bushmills hotels
0 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
2,021 reviews
3.8 mi away
Causeway Lodge
Causeway Lodge
#1 of 2 in Dunseverick
157 reviews
1.8 mi away
Finn McCool's Giants Causeway Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Bayview Hotel
Bayview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portballintrae
731 reviews
2.6 mi away
Causeway Tavern Bed & Breakfast
1.9 mi away
Causeway Hotel
Causeway Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bushmills
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bushmills Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bushmills Hostel

Address: 49 Main Street, Bushmills BT57 8QA, Northern Ireland (Formerly Mill Rest Youth Hostel)
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Bushmills
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Bushmills
Price Range: £16 - £43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bushmills Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bushmills Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bushmills Hostel Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing