We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent cottages - highly recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ballylinny Holiday Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ballylinny Holiday Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent cottages - highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

My husband and I have visited Ballylinny cottages on numerous occassions - albeit usually in the low season/winter months. We have always been very impressed. Great value, very clean and a great location. It is such a lovely part of the North coast! Cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank V T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    28
    7
    1
    4
See reviews for
57
23
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burton on Trent
Level Contributor
89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

We stayed at the Ballylinny cottages in October 2011 as a family of five with three young children aged 6,8 and 10. We stayed in the Bungalow, which was extremely spacious, clean and great value for money. The manager Alan couldnt do enough for us and was around if we needed advice or ideas on what to do. The added bonus to the cottage for our kids was the shetland pony called sammy we had in our garden, our kids must have fed that pony enough apples and carrots to last a lifetime.

The village of bushmills is just a mile down the road with a couple of chip shops and a local chinsese on the high street. The public houses often played irish music and let us in with kids, especially the Bushmills inn and springhill inn in portush.

The activities in the area are fantastic and it pays to become a National Trust member in the longer term in saving money. The causeway, carick a rede rope bridge, Bushmills distillery, carickfergus castle, dunluce castle, portrush, portstewart, cushendall, cushendun and londonderry are definitely a must for you to put on your list to see and do. Also in coleraine there is a a cinema and bowling complex on the riverside park that can entertain kids if there is rain about.

The scenery and people are both fantastic and it was always good to come back to Ballylinny cottages.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debray6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

We like to just go and relax here and get away from everyday things back at home. This is the place to come! There a cottages to choice from, our favourite one is Portnaboe because it has a view.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank KinkyK85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed in Weirs Snout and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. This is our second time back although it did take us 11 years to get back! (Shame on us) As before everything was clean and tidy with everything you would need crockery and cutlery wise, however make sure you bring your own tea/coffee/sugar etc with you. The views are spectacular with the Giants Causeway literally a stones throw away, and our three kids (11,8 and 6) really had a ball, so much so they did not want to come home. So much to do and see and yet such a relaxing chilled out break. You cant go far wrong with Ballylinney and with Alan on hand to answer your questions you'll have a great time.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank linda s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuurne, Belgium
Level Contributor
83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed 3 nights at Ballilinny Cottages. Manager Alan is a nice and helpful man. We stayed in weird's snout. 3 bedrooms and 2bathrooms. The cottage is nice, but certainly not 5 star.The kitchen is very nice and all comfort present. Nice little fireplace. Bedrooms ok. The shower downstairs en the bathroom upstairs need redecorating. For the price we payed, we got our money's worth. It is an excellent base to visit the coast . 1.5 hour ride to Belfast and 40 mins to Derry. If you are not looking for a luxurious stay, i would certainly recommend these cottages.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MANI_DIVER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letterkenny
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights and had one of the most relaxing and pleasant breaks by the sea! I stayed at Lacada cottage which was beautiful, warm and cosy with all the mod cons available. Everything is provided here as part of a self-catering vacation. Scenery is spectacular, the views look out to the sea and Giants Causeway. The host, Alan, was welcoming and friendly. My experience from start to finish was a very positive one and i would highly recommend staying here to anyone considering this magnifent location.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SophieLetterkenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2011

We stayed at one of the loft apartments at Ballylinny, and used it as a base to explore the Causeway Coast.

These cottages are terrific value for money, and have everything you'd need if you were coming with family or friends.

The cottages have been renovated to a good standard - though some of the furniture is probably ready for replacing!

The only thing missing would be the nice touches that would have made a difference. For example, just having some teabags or coffee (rather than having to go straight out to the shop 2 miles away to buy some), would have been nice.

In summary, these were great value for money cottages. If you're looking for somewhere to stay near the Giant's Causeway - they're perfect.

Room Tip: Each cottage is different. So search the Giantscauseway website to find the ideal cottage for your n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelexpertdotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bushmills
1.9 mi away
Causeway Hotel
Causeway Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bushmills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,631 reviews
3.3 mi away
Bayview Hotel
Bayview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portballintrae
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Adelphi Portrush
Adelphi Portrush
#1 of 8 in Portrush
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
1.8 mi away
Finn McCool's Giants Causeway Hostel
2.2 mi away
Causeway Lodge
Causeway Lodge
#1 of 2 in Dunseverick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballylinny Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballylinny Holiday Cottages

Property: Ballylinny Holiday Cottages
Address: Causeway Rd., Bushmills BT57 8SU, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Bushmills
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Bushmills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballylinny Holiday Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ballylinny Holiday Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballylinny Holiday Cottages Hotel Bushmills
Ballylinny Holiday Cottages Bushmills, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing