We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great base for 3 nights”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ballylinny Holiday Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Merimbula, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great base for 3 nights”
Reviewed 8 January 2013

We stayed in the smaller of the cottages called 'Wee Stookan' and has a great stay. Alan met us just after arriving in the area and was very helpful in telling us about the place. We just got in before the higher season closer to Christmas and it was the best value of our whole trip in Northern Ireland, Scotland and England. Having our own kitchen was a bonus along with the opportunity of doing some clothes washing. The bedroom was very comfy and the views over to the coast very scenic. This is a good location to see the Causeway coast but also do a day trip down to the Glens of Antrim.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    30
    7
    1
    4
See reviews for
62
23
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

From the moment we pulled up, the outside appearance of the cottage excited us and when we went indoors we weren't disappointed. Very spacious accommodation, extremely clean with all the modern appliances you could wish for. Oil fired central heating and an open gas fire added to the comfort and luxury. The main bed was sumptuous and exceptionally comfortable and the cottage was warm and cosy. A perfect jumping off point for exploring the north coast and ideal for returning to at the end of the day to relax and unwind. A stones throw from the Smugglers Inn, Giants Causeway and Bushmills village. Alan was very welcoming and helpful, providing details for local taxi's and walks. Cannot recommend the cottages enough. Have told all my family and friends about our experience and we will definitely be back. A big thank you to Alan.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ktulumike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Just back from a 2 night stay in Ballyliiny Cottages. We stayed in the Hawks Hollow. I have to say these cottages are extremely well equipped and very clean.
Location is perfect to explore all of the main tourist attraction. Excellent value for money. Would most definitely stay again

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanciaJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portlaoise, Ireland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012 via mobile

Stayed here with a group of friends (7 in total) and our 5 month old baby for just the one night as part of a quick tour of Northern Ireland.

These are located just a few hundred yards from the magnificent Giant's Causeway just outside Bushmills.

Cottages are amazing, totally clean, spacious, modern but yet with an old style feel. All mod cons included, patio area out back, cleaning products, towels, delf, pretty much everything and not badly priced either.

We really should have stayed 2 nights as was long day from Dublin with Titanic museum and Belfast Murals tour taken in also (both terrific and reviewed also)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoryMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

I took a party of almost 30 friends from all over the world to the Ballylinny cottages to celebrate my Civil Partnership and two weeks later we are still talking about how wonderful the cottages were to stay in!
I rented six properties including the bungalow and there was not a complaint from a single person staying in our group.
The bungalows are very well equipped and so clean. Each cottage is slightly different and it was good to see inside so many and to see that each one was perfectly set up for all our needs.
The Management team from Alan to the cleaners we saw on the last day of our three night stay were all very friendly and efficient - as stated before we had no problems but I feel sure that they would have been sorted out quickly.
The complex of bungalow and cottages sit on raised ground with a wonderful sea view and are an easy walk to the Giant's Causeway and the town of Bushmills. There are some great walks, a couple of decent looking pubs and some great drives further afield.
There is no complaint from me about these cottages and I am certain that we will be booking a return trip very soon.

Room Tip: All the cottages are lovely - check out the website for Ballylinny to see where they are. The bungal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cregaghbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

My husband and I have visited Ballylinny cottages on numerous occassions - albeit usually in the low season/winter months. We have always been very impressed. Great value, very clean and a great location. It is such a lovely part of the North coast! Cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank V T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton on Trent
Level Contributor
89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

We stayed at the Ballylinny cottages in October 2011 as a family of five with three young children aged 6,8 and 10. We stayed in the Bungalow, which was extremely spacious, clean and great value for money. The manager Alan couldnt do enough for us and was around if we needed advice or ideas on what to do. The added bonus to the cottage for our kids was the shetland pony called sammy we had in our garden, our kids must have fed that pony enough apples and carrots to last a lifetime.

The village of bushmills is just a mile down the road with a couple of chip shops and a local chinsese on the high street. The public houses often played irish music and let us in with kids, especially the Bushmills inn and springhill inn in portush.

The activities in the area are fantastic and it pays to become a National Trust member in the longer term in saving money. The causeway, carick a rede rope bridge, Bushmills distillery, carickfergus castle, dunluce castle, portrush, portstewart, cushendall, cushendun and londonderry are definitely a must for you to put on your list to see and do. Also in coleraine there is a a cinema and bowling complex on the riverside park that can entertain kids if there is rain about.

The scenery and people are both fantastic and it was always good to come back to Ballylinny cottages.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debray6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bushmills
0.6 mi away
Causeway Hotel
Causeway Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bushmills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,722 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bayview Hotel
Bayview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portballintrae
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
The Fullerton Arms
The Fullerton Arms
#1 of 2 in Ballycastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
5.7 mi away
Adelphi Portrush
Adelphi Portrush
#1 of 8 in Portrush
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
5.7 mi away
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
#4 of 8 in Portrush
4.0 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballylinny Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballylinny Holiday Cottages

Property: Ballylinny Holiday Cottages
Address: Causeway Rd., Bushmills BT57 8SU, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Bushmills
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Bushmills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballylinny Holiday Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ballylinny Holiday Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballylinny Holiday Cottages Hotel Bushmills
Ballylinny Holiday Cottages Bushmills, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing