We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ballylinny Holiday Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 10 October 2008

My husband, daughter and I stayed at the cottages for 2 weeks in September this year. My daughter and I had stayed last year for 10 days in 2007. We really enjoy staying at Ballylinny Cottages. Alan the owner is very much hands on and couldn't be more helpful. His staff are also very helpful and receptive to any of our needs. The location and views are amazing and each cottage/loft apartment is well equipped with everything one needs. We stayed in the loft apartment for one week and moved to a cottage for the second week. We found the loft apartment to be extremely modern and comfortable, the cottage was also but it had obviously more of a cottage feel. Overall we were delighted with our stay and intend to go back next summer with the rest of the family. The new cafe on site is a welcome addition and although we did not eat there the sandwiches and soup etc looked fantastic. On one of the weekends there was a large group in for a music festival, the place was full up and frankly I was a little concerned that it would be noisy and rowdy. On the contrary we didnt hear a thing and that seems to be the case with the rest of the guests. Many golfers stay there as it is a great location with many great surrounding golf courses. Overall a wonderful visit and we will definitely be back.

  • Liked — very comfortable conditions
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank weenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    30
    7
    1
    4
See reviews for
62
23
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worthing
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2008

The accommodation was clean, spacious and comfortable and it was in a fantastic location with wonderful views and access to a lot of other attractions. Had a wonderful holiday!

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy010276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehaven
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2008

I booked the stay as a weekend getaway with my girlfriend though wasn't really sure what to expect. I had been to Ireland before, but never stayed up at the Gaints Causeway so decided now was the perfect opportunity. After browsing a few websites I booked one of the new barn lofts and was seriously glad I did. The loft was amazing, beautifully furnished, clean with perfect amenities. The cottages location are perfect, a 15min walk from the causeway itself, with beautiful views out over the sea. Being a young couple we weren't too bothered about cooking for ourselves, so the onsite cafe was an added bonus with a beautiful restaurant only 10mins away. We had an amazing stay and I can't recommend this place highly enough, I just wish we'd stayed longer.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimmifen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisburn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2008

Something different for for a short break in Feb during the Saint Valentines week.
I live in Northern Ireland and decided to do something just a little different for my wife over the Valentines day period. The weather forecast was looking exceptionally good and at short notice a mid week break was arranged.
Booking the accomodation could not have been easier -just a simple phone call. We had been recommended the cottages by friends who had thouroughly enjoyed the experience. At the last minute another 2 couples who are close friends decided to join us.
What a wonderful break, on arrival we were offerred the bungalow simply because of the expanded size of our party , the bungalows availability and its wonderful vistas. The standard of the accomodation was first class in terms of cleanliness,size decor and warmth not to mention the helpful staff .The weather of course added to the scene but the views particularily at sunset were magnificent. Local bars and restaurants added to the enjoyment and in Northern Ireland parlance the "craic" was good.
So all in all if you want superb short or indeed longer holiday I would highly reccommend this friendly accomodation.

  • Liked — The views and the friendly staff.
  • Disliked — We could have had more bathroom accommodation considering the size of our party but on the other hand it was our chose to pick quaility of the views over bathroom availability.
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TomLisburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2008

The Bungalow: - We had the best week of weather northern ireland had to offer but unfortunately the promised 4* accommodation of The Bungalow didn't come up to scratch. The whole place was old fashioned and dirty. The beds were uncomfortable, the carpets were dirty, wallpaper was falling off the wall and the fridge and cooker didn't work properly. The advert states there are 2 bathrooms, well one of them consists of a toilet, basin and tumble dryer!! There are actually 4 bedrooms, but the 4th is so disgusting you wouldn't want to sleep in it. Having stayed in two of the other ballylinny cottages in previous years and been more than happy with them this was a shock, it was just as well the weather was good. The acclaimed view would normally be at its best from the Bungalow but because the windows were so dirty/faulty you could barely see out. On our departure a sock not belonging to our party was found in the bottom of one of the beds, it makes you wonder how clean all the linen was! Unless you can ascertain that a complete refit has been carried out since April 2007 I wouldn't advise staying there. We ended up getting the week for the deposit of £50 because the owner knew what we meant when we complained about the standard. A letter to the NI Tourist Board fell on deaf ears. The 4* rating only relates to the existence of certain features within the property not what state they are in!

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EmPowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managementbushmills, owner at Ballylinny Holiday Cottages, responded to this review, 20 February 2008
This family stayed at Easter 2007 and previously on about 3 occasions.
I emphasised to the woman, during the booking process, that the Bungalow is not in the style of a cottage and was built in 1982.
On day 2 or 3 she told me that she was unhappy with the Bungalow but did not specify the exact nature of the problem. I immediately offered a refund and promised to find alternative accommodation nearby. Easter is the busiest time of year so it was difficult to find another cottage however I succeeded.
The family inspected the alternative but decided to stay at the Bungalow.
I received no further complaints and they seemed to be happy.
Following the complaint to Northern Ireland Tourist Board I responded to NITB.
A thorough inspection was then carried out by N.I.T.B and the defective window was replaced.
In my 14 years in tourism this is the first time I have received a complaint of this nature.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2006

We stayed in one of the 4 bedroomed cottages last month. The cottage was excellent, really clean and spacious, with amazing views over the Causeway Coast. It was really warm, with a lovely fire in the living space. It's in a great location near the Causeway, and some nice pubs for meals. It's about 1 mile from Bushmills which has a few small supermarkets, stop here on your way through for tea, coffee, milk, etc, as those are the nearest shops, and no welcome packs are provided. Excellent value for money, with very good service. We'll be back!

  • Liked — Size and location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Pick up treats on the way!
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca-H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, Uk
Level Contributor
73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2006

Our party of 5 adults stayed here for a long weekend mid October, primarily to visit the Causeway. Our cottage had 3 bedrooms, each with an en-suite and an upstairs living area with lovely views of the sea and the Causeway Visitor Centre. We could not have wished for anything more from our cottage, it was perfect.

The cottages are situated a 15 - 20 minute walk from the top of the Causeway and a 10 minute drive to the small town of Bushmills which has shops, cafe's, pubs etc.

We will definately be returning to this area again and would have no hesitation in staying at Ballylinny cottages.

  • Liked — Location/Comfort
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank 1pink_lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bushmills
0.6 mi away
Causeway Hotel
Causeway Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bushmills
732 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
1,744 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bayview Hotel
Bayview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portballintrae
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
The Fullerton Arms
The Fullerton Arms
#1 of 2 in Ballycastle
261 reviews
0.5 mi away
Finn McCool's Giants Causeway Hostel
0.3 mi away
Carnside Guest House
Carnside Guest House
#10 of 27 in Bushmills
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballylinny Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballylinny Holiday Cottages

Property: Ballylinny Holiday Cottages
Address: Causeway Rd., Bushmills BT57 8SU, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Bushmills
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Bushmills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballylinny Holiday Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ballylinny Holiday Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballylinny Holiday Cottages Hotel Bushmills
Ballylinny Holiday Cottages Bushmills, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing