We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pristine cottages - everything you need and nothing you don't”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ballylinny Holiday Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2010

Ballylinny cottages are in an area with lovely views of the gorgeous Antrim coast. They are a 15 min walk or few minutes drive to some of the loveliest beaches that I've seen, its a great location. A 10-15 min walk will take you to a lovely pub, The Nook, just at the Giant's Causeway which is a super sight. 5 min walk is a tiny steam railway that our kids loved. The cottages are in a cluster but despite proximity to other cottages feel private and we didn't have noise issues. They are simply furnished but with everything you need (e.g. hairdryers, hoover, washing machines...) - think whitewashed walls and pine floors rather than flowery carpets/curtains and nic-nacs. If you want lovely scenary, great walking and beaches and a clean uncluttered house to come home to, this is for you. Alan, the owner is super, extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SarahCSBoston_MA_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2009

We stayed the August bank holiday weekend at Ballylinny cottages. The cottage we stayed in was well maintained, comfortable, clean and had all the services and appliances you could hope for in a self catering cottage. The scenery was beautiful and the location in relation to all the local attractions was superb. The village of Bushmills is under 2 miles away should you need anything during your stay. I would highly recommend these cottages to anyone interested in a break on the North Coast. The manager / owner Alan is friendly and couldn't be more helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FionaRice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2009

I visited Ballylinny Cottages as part of a group of 14 friends visiting Ireland. The cottages provided an excellent base for seeing the Causeway Coast region. Located within easy walking distance of the Atlantic, the Giant’s Causeway, and the town of Bushmills, the cottages have plenty of room, contain most modern appliances, and are very neat.

The manager, Alan Laverty, proved to be very helpful to us on several occasions (including upgrading us to larger cottages as our group grew in size). The only drawbacks we had were with the wireless internet on site (sometimes a little spotty with reception—but it was for no extra charge) and the washer/dryer—the machine washed well, but had to be one of the slowest dryers in the world.

If you are looking for clean, spacious accommodations in a relaxed setting for a reasonable price, I highly recommend Ballylinny Cottages. I have been there twice and thoroughly enjoyed both visits.

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HeelDawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2009

This was our second time to Ballylinney and again we had a wonderful relaxing time. Alan was on hand at any time if we needed anything and the accomodation ticks all the boxes for those with young children. Scenary is breathtaking and we intend to be back soon.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BK1Glengormley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2008

having been to ballylinny cottages a good few times for around the last 5 years, we decided to opt for the bungalow as our family has grown to 5 since we first started going here. we decided to spend christmas there this year and
the main reason we chose the bungalow was for space, which is in abundance, especially if you have small children, as we have.
the bungalow is set a few yards apart from the other cottages, which also gives a more private feel. the bungalow has four bedrooms, 1 double, 2 twins and a single, the living area also has a sofa bed which is useful if you have guests.
the kitchen area is huge with a large dining table which seats 6, and also has a dishwasher, large fridge, and ample storage for food and supplies. the living area has 3 sofas, tv, dvd player and best of all a large open fire which is great on cold nights. there is a seperate dining room with another large table and chairs and a small chest freezer. a small utility room is situated in the long hallway and comprises of a toilet and a washing machine, which is great if you there for a week or so. the bathroom comprises of a bath/shower, bidet, sink, and toilet.
the outside garden is very spacious and is for the guests of the bungalow only, great in the summer if you want to bbq, which is supplied also.
i would not hesitate to reccommend ballylinny, whether it be the cottages or the bungalow, as i have stayed in both, and cannot fault either.

5  Thank CJ_Ards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2008

We stayed at Ballylinny in "Bennadonners loft" and couldn't recommend it highly enough. It is very contempory, warm and comfortable in one of the most stunning areas of the country. We found Alan, the owner, extrememly helpful and we had one little problem but it was dealt with immediately. The cottages are on the main road to the Giants Causeway which is easily within walking distant (no pavements though- If walking down to the causeway I would take the slightly longer route passed the railway museum- virtually no traffic.) We would also recommend eating at the "Nook" a lovely pub serving good food- much better value than the over-priced Bushmills Inn.
We will definitely come back to Ballylinny, anytime of year!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank AliMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2008

My husband, daughter and I stayed at the cottages for 2 weeks in September this year. My daughter and I had stayed last year for 10 days in 2007. We really enjoy staying at Ballylinny Cottages. Alan the owner is very much hands on and couldn't be more helpful. His staff are also very helpful and receptive to any of our needs. The location and views are amazing and each cottage/loft apartment is well equipped with everything one needs. We stayed in the loft apartment for one week and moved to a cottage for the second week. We found the loft apartment to be extremely modern and comfortable, the cottage was also but it had obviously more of a cottage feel. Overall we were delighted with our stay and intend to go back next summer with the rest of the family. The new cafe on site is a welcome addition and although we did not eat there the sandwiches and soup etc looked fantastic. On one of the weekends there was a large group in for a music festival, the place was full up and frankly I was a little concerned that it would be noisy and rowdy. On the contrary we didnt hear a thing and that seems to be the case with the rest of the guests. Many golfers stay there as it is a great location with many great surrounding golf courses. Overall a wonderful visit and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank weenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bushmills
1.3 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
2,001 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bayview Hotel
Bayview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portballintrae
724 reviews
5.7 mi away
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Causeway Hotel
Causeway Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bushmills
838 reviews
3.5 mi away
Causeway Lodge
Causeway Lodge
#1 of 2 in Dunseverick
157 reviews
0.4 mi away
Smugglers Inn
Smugglers Inn
#8 of 27 in Bushmills
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballylinny Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballylinny Holiday Cottages

Address: Causeway Rd., Bushmills BT57 8SU, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Bushmills
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Bushmills
Price Range: £66 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballylinny Holiday Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ballylinny Holiday Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballylinny Holiday Cottages Hotel Bushmills
Ballylinny Holiday Cottages Bushmills, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing