We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Molly’s cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Molly's Cottage

house from the field
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
house from the field
View from the private patio area at the rear
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
house from the field
View from the private patio area at the rear
The front of the cottage
Cosy woodburner
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Bushmills, County Antrim, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
SamanthaJ...
1 review
“Molly’s cottage”
Reviewed 11 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Lynda was very accommodating and was also very helpful when I had made a booking error with the ferry! Molly’s cottage is in a fantastic location, very close to the Giant’s Causeway! We would love to stay again in the summer and we will definitely recommend Molly’s cottage to family and friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2018
It was a pleasure having you both to stay. I hope to see you again later in the year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
18 Oct 2017
Thank you for your review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, it was lovely to meet you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
lynne c
Brigg, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage with both sea and countryside views”
Reviewed 15 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The cottage is next to the owner's house in quiet location. A car is needed although restaurants and shops are nearby. Giants causeway is just a few miles away. The cottage is well equipped although there is no oven or washing machine (did not worry me as I had no intention of cooking much or washing!) The only negative was the bed we both found it very uncomfortable (maybe due to our age). However the location was great.
Both the Smugglers Inn and Bushmills Inn serve excellent food and the service was good. If you are a fan of Games of Thrones seek out the doors made from the trees at Dark Hedges (The Kings Road). There are four nearby (10 in total). Dark Hedges itself is well worth a look ( the door is in the golf club house bar).

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W
1 review
“Lovely Cottage”
Reviewed 11 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Molly'S cottage is prefect stay in N.Ireland , very quiet and cosy cottage love the wood burning stove. Very close to Gaints causeway, also worth visting is Carrick-a-rede-bridge some lovely views from hear. ,and the Titanic in Belfast .about 1 hour away .

went to the flash in pan fish and chip shop in Bushmills lovely food to take away.

Lynda who owns the cottage is very friendly .

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jun 2017
Good to hear that you enjoyed your stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martyn C
Netherfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Outstanding host and accomodation”
Reviewed 6 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

It's true; you do need your own transport if you're staying in this part of the country. I didn't, but was blown away with the kindness of local people and in particular, Lynda, the owner of the cottage. This was perfect for the solo traveller or a couple, and the log burner, cosy rooms and close by facilities gave me a long weekend to remember.
There's Smugglers Inn less than a mile away and town is perhaps 1.5 miles. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend staying here and would love to visit again and enjoy more of this wonderful coastline.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The host and cosy nature of the cottage
Liked least: The weather, which was hit and miss!
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter G
Knottingley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in a fantastic location.”
Reviewed 19 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Molly's Cottage is perfect for a stay in Northern Ireland. It is close to the Giant's Causeway and many other attractions are only a short drive away, making it the perfect base for sightseeing.

It has a wood burning stove - always a plus for us, and the views are stunning. It is quite remote, so you won't be disturbed by revelers or passing traffic. It is located at the rear of the owners home, so if you need anything all you have to do is knock on her door!

The negatives are:
Internet connection is very hit and miss.
There's no cooker, so if you want to cook your meals you need to plan things that can be cooked on the hob, or in the microwave.
The Smugglers Arms is the nearest pub/restaurant, it is within walking distance, but there are no footpaths, so realistically you need to drive there.
The mattress could do with replacing, I found it quite uncomfortable. Although, my wife reckons this is because our mattress at home is the Rolls Royce of mattresses!
The only access to the bathroom/toilet is through the main bedroom, so although a sofa bed is provided in the living room, I wouldn't recommend this property to anyone other than couples.

None of the above negatives spoiled our stay, and we had a really enjoyable two weeks stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: Unreliable internet connection
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great cottage in lovely location”
Reviewed 10 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Enjoyed our stay at this cottage very much,nice and quiet with a lovely view from rear.very clean and comfortable..nice owner. Lots to do in the surrounding area.,easy to get about.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jun 2016
Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. It was good to meet you both, you are welcome back at any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing