We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chimney Corner Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Newtownabbey
Birnam, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great hotel”
Reviewed 9 June 2011

We stayed in this hotel back in April had a lovely weekend. The staff were very helpful and freindly and the rooms were comfortable and very clean... The food in the restraunt was great we eat here the whole week end. We will defintly be back when we visit belfast again :)

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ems091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    55
    60
    28
    52
See reviews for
39
76
19
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2011

My husband stayed here last for 3 nights last month. Our room and the hotel itself was well maintained. When asked for directions and information about the surrounding area, we found the staff to be very friendly and informative. We had a good experience at the Chimney Corner and will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmilyJohnston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2011

Rooms disgusting with people allowed to run riot in the halls. Was so bad I got a taxi home, 2 other couples we travelled with stayed and did not get one bit of sleep due to noise, when I complained I got fobbed off that a manager would call back, still waiting on someone getting back with a full refund and some kind of compensation, from my experience of this place I don't expect much not even an apology, wouldn't even let a dog stay.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Unhappyguest2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newtownabbey hotels

cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2010

very apprehensive after reading the reviews but I experienced clean rooms, bedding towels and bathroom, (I inspected the bed) T.V tea making facilities, trouser press, & haIrdryer. shampoo and shower gel, residence lounge with small bar, pool table, wide screen T.V comfortable leather seating book case with selection of books. shoe cleaning machine and laundry room with washer, dryer Iron and Ironing board.
the staff very plesant and a decent breakfast served in a brigh airy room.
okay there are some room for improvements, the radiator and skirting boards needed painting. the veiw from the ground floor rear rooms is of a grass bank and the front rooms face a busy road and lorry park. but there is plenty of car parking, next door a pub with very good pub food. I think you would have to go a very very long way to get better value for money.
If you want 5* luxury, glass and chrome Moulton brown toiletries, you have to pay for it.
I would reccomed this Hotel but not if you are trying to impress someone with splendid decor and surroundings.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ejjdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2010

on pulling up to this hotel you are immidiatelky struck with a feeling of dread. old tired motorway side motel sums it up completely. on check in a asked for a non smoking room and was told that all rooms were smoking rooms and it was my choice wether i wanted to smoke or not!! the corridors and rooms stunk of stale cigarettes there are no duvets on the beds just scratchy hospital blankets the tv channels change daily and i had rubbish in my waste bin for my whole stay! on more than one occasion i had to ask for clean towels as the ones provided were coverd in rather dubious stains. one of the most suprising things is that the management were more than happy to tell other residents and people who we were working with that our rooms were in a state and that they would be refusing to clean them!!! when asked to explain this i was told that i had obvously misunderstood!!!do not stay here on a saturday as the night club is open and you will not get any sleep.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank p_land_sherrif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2010

Stayed in this hotel on business for 2 nights, booking done by the office. It looks very much like a travelling salesman's hotel, although the reception is reasonable the corridor to the rooms and the rooms themselves are dingy and smelt of smoking. When asked at reception for a non smokers room I was told "you have a choice to smoke or not to smoke" which when queried meant that there was actually no rooms designated for non smokers! The room needs refurbishing and the mattress should be condemned, apart from the fact that they are a very cheap variety, they are also either old or well used or both!! the springs creak every time you turn over and they stick into you, thus had 2 sleepless nights.

On the plus side the breakfast staff were excellent.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alig99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2009

Enjoyed my stay, staff where great and really helpful, rooms where clean and spacious,
have to say a big thanks to Kevin for the stories, Sue said she will keep her eye out for you kevin. The only downfall was the location I found it isolated and if you did not have transport could be quite boring. Big thanks to all the staff.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bluerch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newtownabbey
Corrs Corner Hotel
#1 of 3 in Newtownabbey
389 reviews
Loughshore Hotel
#2 of 6 in Carrickfergus
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Hotel Etap Belfast
Hotel Etap Belfast
#32 of 45 in Belfast
1,328 reviews
Dunadry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dunadry
727 reviews
Dobbins Inn Hotel
#3 of 6 in Carrickfergus
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chimney Corner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chimney Corner Hotel

Property: Chimney Corner Hotel
Address: 630 Antrim Road, Newtownabbey BT36 4RH, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Newtownabbey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Newtownabbey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Chimney Corner Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Chimney Corner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chimney Corner Newtownabbey
Chimney Corner Hotel Newtownabbey, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing