We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“xcxxxxxxxxxxxxxx”
Review of The Village B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Village B&B
Ranked #6 of 10 Cushendall B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 August 2012

vvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvveeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeerrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrryyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy ggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooodddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddd!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnSimpson7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
There are newer reviews for The Village B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2012

Fantastic B&B, close to all the amenities and the famous Johnny Joes I have now stayed her twice within the last three weeks

Alex the owner is a fantastic host and runs an excellent clean and tidy B&B.

Breakfast is superb and sets you up for the day

Will defo be back and hopefully very soon.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kerrymcewan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Initially booked in for 2 nights with a party of 3 people
Found the proriters wife to be rather unprofessional with greeting addressed me by my surname
Proceeded to rooms just dropped backs and came back that night found it unusual for no tea/ coffee making facilities in room but they were on landing
No tv in rooms strange in this day and age but yet it was on landing again
Found the owner to be rather uncomfortable with us
Viewed room that night found rooms to be untidy and a duvet cover on a guests bed burnt is never a good look
Smell of fry around house is not inspiring
Left the premises the next morning

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nikon700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
horses129, Manager at The Village B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

This is the second attempt by a member of the same party to post a negative review.
Dealing with the issues raised in this review :
1. It is standard practice industry wide to use the surname as the lead name in bookings and arrival confirmation. This element of his review has no grounds.
2. It specifically states on our website that TV and tea/coffee facilities are available in common areas. It does not state that these facilities are available in guest rooms.
3. Cooking commences at 8.00am and is over by 10.00am. The reviewer gives the impression that there is the constant smell of cooking at other times. This is definitely not the case.
4. No guest is ever shown to an untidy room. As you can see from all our other reviews cleanliness and tidiness is of paramount importance to us.
5. There was a slight ironing mark on his friend’s duvet in another room but none on his. He implies that there was.
His approach to these issues displays an agenda to discredit The Village B & B and as none of the issues he raises have any foundation , I consider the poor rating he has given be totally undeserved. This is so completely at odds with all our other reviews as to be ridiculous.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Sorry Alex, meant to do this ages ago.

My friend and I stayed at The village for 2 nights back in June. We are seasoned walkers and have stayed at many B+Bs over the years and can only say an enormous thankyou to Alex whose duties to us as host could not be surpassed.

We had an arrangement to meet him half way along the Moyle Way at a certain time from whence he would drive us back to the B+B. The weather had been horrendous so we had walked very quickly We were drenched but arrived at our meeting point a hour and a half early expecting a long wait in the rain. Alex had noted the poor conditions and decided to look for us early and arrived just as we walked out of the trees.

And then once back at Cushendall, we were treated to irish coffee and carrot cake to warm us up!

We would thoroughly recommend The Village. It was everything a friendly and comfortable B + B should be - but our host's recognition of our needs was wonderful. That will take some beating. Thankyou Alex

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We have recently returned from a three night stay at the Village B&B and had the most lovely experience! The room was spotless, warm and comfortable with plenty of fresh towels. The owners - Alex and Margaret are fantastic hosts - very warm and welcoming, and the breakfasts are of a very high standard. We would thoroughly recommend this B&B to everyone and will definitely return to the Village B&B.
Cliff and Laura McKay

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cliffmckay2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Totally at odds with 'Horrifying experience'!!!!

Myself and friends stay here regularly when we play music in Johnny Joe's bar directly across the street. That review appears to be from someone who has a grudge as it couldn't be further from the truth.

The owner, Alec is a gentleman and he and his staff are very friendly and meticulous about their cleanliness and hospitality. I have recommended so many people to Alec's including my own relatives visiting from Oz. It's a great spot!!

As for 'only tea and toast'. Nonsense! A full Irish breakfast is offered (and needed after the night before in Joe's!!). There is NO way that a guest would only be given tea and toast!!!

My mates and I have booked for the weekend of the Cushendall Festival. If you can make it to the Village from the 4th to the 12th of August you are guarenteed great craic and a fantastic welcome from Alec and all!!!!!

Ignore that negativity, read the other reviews and get over to Alec's as soon as you can!! See you in Johnny Joe's and for a big fry in the Village next morning!!!

Room Tip: All good!! Been in most of them!!
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank johnnyjoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

This is an absolute gem of a little hotel. me and my fiancee have stayed here twice now and each time the experience had been perfect. We love the large double room with fantastic power shower in the en suite and the fried breakfast was again 2nd to none. All in all we will be back again, most likely this year. Ps we cant get enough of johnny joes amazing original old school pub close by.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank eaglepearse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cushendall
11.1 mi away
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
#2 of 2 in Ballycastle
681 reviews
6.8 mi away
Londonderry Arms Hotel
Londonderry Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carnlough
540 reviews
14.9 mi away
Ballygally Castle
Ballygally Castle
#1 of 1 in Ballygally
1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Riverside Bed and Breakfast
1.0 mi away
Cullentra House
Cullentra House
#1 of 10 in Cushendall
259 reviews
0.3 mi away
Glendale Bed & Breakfast
Glendale Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 10 in Cushendall
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village B&B

Address: Mill Street, Cushendall BT44 0RR, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Cushendall
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Cushendall
Price Range: £64 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Village B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Village B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village Hotel Cushendall
The Village Bed And Breakfast
The Village B&B Cushendall, County Antrim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing