We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place for a break”
Review of The Village B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Village B&B
Ranked #6 of 10 Cushendall B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Cushendall is perfectly situated in the heart of the Antrim Glens ~ the scenery is breathtaking all along the coast and up into the mountains. We stayed with Margaret and Alex for 4 days and were made to feel so welcome. Their breakfasts were delectable and kept us sustained all day on our jaunts. I can always rate a good breakfast by the quality of the sausage! The accomodation was fully booked at the weekend and we talked to travellers from as far away as Australia. Just across the road was famous Mc Collam's bar (you have to see it inside to believe it!) On the friday night musicians arrived from all around to play tradational Irish lilts ~ there can't be many places like that left now.Our room was spotlessly clean and overlooked the bar but there was no noise to disturb us ~ good quality double glazing.
We certainly hope to return ~ Thank you again Margaret & Alex for your warm hospitality.
Dan & Marg, Somerset.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2012

Stayed here one night on a drive between Belfast & Derry. Booked ahead from the tourist office in Larne based on it being easy to find off the main coast road, & assurance of double ensuite availability. Alex was very nice & showed us the 2 available rooms - one with a double bed against a wall in a small room, the other with 2 twins in a slightly larger room. We opted for the twins, but after dinner discovered we had only one actual pillow, the others being in pillow shams but without cases. The bathroom was the smallest we had during our 3 wk trip, & the fan was on a timer that went on - but not immediately off- with the light. On the upside - there is a good seafood restaurant down the street & a great pub, McCollum's, across the street where we passed a fun evening of sing-alongs in one of the rooms where locals played piano before being joined by a traveling guitar player.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Culverman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We had a successful 2 night stay in a spotless room. Great shower! Large tasty breakfast. Coffee/tea maker conveniently outside our room. Afternoons, we enjoyed having coffee there on the sofa with the couple we were traveling with ... then liked being able to bring our cups of coffee into our room before breakfast as we got ready for the day. Alex was quietly attentive "Is everything allright" and he kept us from missing our bus! Thanks Alex! Also, he has posted great maps with 6 or 7 local hiking trails marked out. One could stay there for a week and enjoy exploring the Glens and area on foot. The little town is a gem as well! Pretty with choices of shops, pubs and restaurants. We would definitely return!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PMBCLFRG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

I, my wife and two children were passing through Cushendall and needed a place to stay for the night. We were traveling with our neighbors from back home who had heard about the Village B&B through their family - what a great call. The rooms were big, clean, and had wifi available; washer/dryer out back for travelers to catch up on laundry. Alex proved to be a great host, even going so far as to walk over to Mc Collams Bar (AKA Johnny Joe's) at a late hour to make sure we had keys to get back in when we returned. By the way, highly recommend Mc Collams. The morning breakfast served was fantastic and a great start to continue on our way. Anyone passing through needing a place to stay, need not look anywhere else.

- M. Raio & Family

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

my husband and i were in belfast for the day and decided to go the antrim coast drive..as the weather was beautiful and there was a festival on in cushendal we decided to stay for the evening, we booked the village bed & breakfast and i must say we were very impressed..very friendly owner rooms were spotless and tastefully decorated. breakfast was very tasty service excellent!
overall it was a memorable stay and we will definately be back again on our next trip to cushendal. :)

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DerryEgormley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Me and my wife stayed over for 4 nights and found it to be a very pleasant experience. Alex, the owner, was friendly and made us feel very welcome, he and the staff and looked after us very well. The rooms were first class, with en suite and modern facilities and spotless, as you'd expect from a first rate B&B and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was filling and of a very high standard and definitley set you up for the day. Is well situated in the center of Cushendall town and easy walking distance to shops, pubs and restaurants. Had an amazing holiday here and will definitely be back, service was excellent and would recomend the village tearooms to anybody looking for a holiday in Cushendall.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

I stayed here on Saturday night 21st July. The guest house was recommended by my friends who have stayed here many times and who were also staying on 21st July. My initial contact, and continuing contact, with the owner, Alex, was warm, welcoming and accommodating. I was very pleased with the room I was booked into, and the room and ensuite were spotless. I went to Johnny Joes that night and returned before my friends to bed. The bed was very comfortable and the room very relaxing allowing for a very good night's sleep with no disturbance at all during the night. The next morning the breakfast was great with cereals, juices, cooked breakfasts, including the fry which we all took, tea and coffee, served by very pleasant staff. There is a lovely, spacious room where guests can sit and relax, watch tv etc. I intend staying here again, possibly over this weekend if I can get booked in, my 3 friends have already booked in for 3 nights.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beachholiday100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cushendall
1 mi away
Cullentra House
Cullentra House
#1 of 10 in Cushendall
268 reviews
0.4 mi away
Glendale Bed & Breakfast
Glendale Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 10 in Cushendall
88 reviews
2.8 mi away
Kilmore Country House
Kilmore Country House
#1 of 1 in Glenariffe
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Cloneymore B&B
Cloneymore B&B
#2 of 3 in Cushendun
38 reviews
0 mi away
The Riverside Bed and Breakfast
1 mi away
Garron View
Garron View
#5 of 10 in Cushendall
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village B&B

Address: Mill Street, Cushendall BT44 0RR, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Cushendall
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Cushendall
Price Range: £63 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Village B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your The Village B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village Hotel Cushendall
The Village Bed And Breakfast
The Village B&B Cushendall, County Antrim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing