We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Irish Charm”
Review of The Glens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Glens Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cushendall
Newtownards, United Kingdom
1 review
“Irish Charm”
Reviewed 20 November 2012

On arriving in Cushendall it was hard to chose between the friendly and helpful staff and the stunning surroundings as to who gave us the best greeting to this very scenic coastal town. The hotel offered us exactly what we were looking for.at the end of a busy week, comfortable room with ensuite, great food and a warm and relaxing atmosphere. We will definitely be returning in the very near future.

Big thank you to all the staff for making our stay memorable.

D & J Boyd

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    35
    21
    24
    33
See reviews for
40
83
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 November 2012

From the moment I contacted the Glens Hotel to arrange accommodation for a family reunion I was reassured that all would be well. They are efficient and welcoming and went out of their way to cater for all ages , The rooms were mixed ,some were very good and others did need some updating but the food was excellent and the children had great freedom as we had taken all of the rooms in the hotel . Nothing was too much trouble Thanks to Jackie,Philomena,Sally Anne, Mary, Aiden and Laurence for their patience and good humour. A memorable stay in Cushendallfor our family reunion.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WarkworthCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ballymena
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

on sunday the 11th nov 2012 my wife and decided we would go to the glens hotel for a meal when we arrived about 3-30 pm for sunday carvery , the receponist greeted us as we
entered the foyer she ask us if were here for the carvery and took our money £27.00 for the two(old age pensioners ) another waitress showed us to our table . When we went to collect our food i could not believe my eyes there was nothing left but a lot of scraps. i personally wanted to ask for my money back, but my wife decided we would make the best of it and have turkey which i do not like.
when we started to eat the meal the potatoes and veg were cold , while we were eating i noticed
there was nobody else but our selves in the dining room,
it was then a waiter informed us we were a bit late and carvery finished at 3-30pm
my wife and i dined several times in the hotel with no complaint, but this was the worst meal i ever sat down to
Gerry & Angela
ps Wont be back

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gerry e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cushendall hotels

Donegal Town, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

I stayed two nights in the glens hotel and had great stay, we were warmly greeted before being shown to our lovely decorated room, clean and comfortable. the food in the hotel restaurant was amazing with very good service and its good location, great sights near by,yes overall a lovely stay for great value.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amanda o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast,
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Found staff to be very helpful. Room needed to be up dated mattress of very poor standard. Will not be back to stay. Was very happy with the food as we had two meals over the two days that we stayed. Tv in room very small no phone in room so every time you wanted a member of staff you have to go looking for one not suitable for people with disables as there no lift or phone in room

Room Tip: Don't stay if looking a good night sleep!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

The Hotel is very welcoming and the staff are fantastic, however we went for something to eat. I never normally eat anything 'foreign' to a restaurant i.e. I would never order an Indian meal in a Chinese restaurant for instant. Sadly we broke this rule, my wife ordered Sweet and Sour Chicken while I went for a Moroccan style chicken dish. Both meals were heavily thickened with corn starch, mine more than my wife's I seen thinner wall paper paste, they tasted about the same although mine was a little spicier. As I sadi the pub is great just don't eat there! Go to the Largha Lounge about 5 miles away instead!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank noonan101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 20 September 2012

When entered we waited 10 mins before we received a menu or drink order chef had to ask if we were in for food. When we were gave our jug we were given two mis matched stacker glasses to drink from they weren't same. The table was really dirty dried potato and gravy! Had to wait then another 10 mins before our order was taking. The waiter seems to be new and inexperienced not fair being put under tht pressure. Meal still not out after 20 minutes. But the food was nice wen it arrived!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ciarafitzsimons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cushendall
11.1 mi away
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
#2 of 2 in Ballycastle
644 reviews
14.8 mi away
Ballygally Castle
Ballygally Castle
#1 of 1 in Ballygally
1,321 reviews
15.9 mi away
The Fullerton Arms
The Fullerton Arms
#1 of 2 in Ballycastle
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Londonderry Arms Hotel
Londonderry Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carnlough
519 reviews
20.3 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
1,777 reviews
20.9 mi away
Causeway Hotel
Causeway Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bushmills
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glens Hotel

Property: The Glens Hotel
Address: 6 Coast Road, Cushendall BT44 0RU, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Cushendall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cushendall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Glens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small family-run hotel situated in the Heart of the Glens Of Antrim. We are in an area of outstanding natural beauty and best suited for families, couples and the more mature. Walkers will have the time of their life here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Glens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glens Hotel Cushendall, County Antrim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing