We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“never again”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The Glens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Glens Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cushendall
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“never again”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Would chose alternative rather than stay, smell in our room dirty carpets, spiders and webs in bathroom, shabby furniture like something from the 80. No food available in hotel and just told to find alternative place to eat. Just awful stayed for 1 he then left .

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank kimwilly5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    35
    21
    24
    33
See reviews for
40
83
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We had stayed in the Hotel back in February as part of a large group staying on a group on deal. We all had a great weekend food was great and really enjoyed it. While there we won a complimentary nights stay with B&B. So we decided to book it for this weekend Saturday night, on arrival we where given our room key very quickly and on asking if we could book an evening meal we where told no as there was a large wedding taking place so basically they had no time for us. We got to our room and it was absolutely terrible bad smell, dirty carpets, stains on the bed sheets, spiders web with spider in the bathroom really was awful like something from the 1980 era. We did complain and where offered another room but declined, and during this conversation where told that they couldn't see what was wrong with the room well all i can say is their standards must be pretty low. Unfortunately after leaving in February suitably impressed we returned home feeling badly let down. Wont be returning anytime soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Daniel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cushendall hotels

Belfast
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

If you like toilets that smell like they haven't been cleaned in weeks and food that's mediocre at best then it's great.

On entering the hotel you're greated by a dismal wonky sign directing you to the bar that makes you realise you're in something akin to Fawlty Towers. It rightly sets the tone for the rest of your visit.

This hotel should be great, given the location, but it falls far short.

You can do much better by travelling on a few extra miles or opting for a guest house or self-catering.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank HighStandardsBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

My partner and I stayed for one night at the beginning of the festival. Very small room at the top of the building, dusty and fusty! The friendly young man who helped carry the bags even introduced our room as 'nothing special'. The bed was extremely uncomfortable also! Breakfast was bog standard fry up. Sought alternative accommodation for 2nd night.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nichathain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I stayed here on valentines day\night ,we had one room and it was clean had shower in it ,food in the evening was lovely and breakfast was very good service was excellent we were above bar not much noise coming from down stairs,I would recommend this hotel if you we're staying in this lovely village of Cushendall .

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smelly22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

This is a shabby pub with rooms rather than a hotel. The room was dirty, and there was no plug in the sink; we had to pay £10 deposit for the TV remote, and there was a sign on the stairs which said, " Management reserves the right to enter rooms at any time"! Not sure why such a sign is needed.

There are lovely villages along he coast which appeared to have good looking hotels - which we acknowledge we did not visit - but the can only be better than The Glens Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank London A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Called for Sunday lunch whilst touring Northern Ireland-Food fantastic-so decided to book in for the night before traveling further. Payment asked for before being shown the room but as the dining area and reception looked lovely I had no hesitation in paying up front.
Then after being shown to the room which was lovely as first glimps as so bright looking. Then on closer look found broken and rusty window locking handing-bathroom basin taking over 5 mins to drain-as time went on a bad drain smell appeared-smell in wardrobe-newly wallpapered room but other parts of room needed attention.
Following morning large water leak from a room down into reception which night porter advised it was shower tray in another room but with the problems in our bathroom and smell made me wonder if there was a problem with the plumbing.
Reception staff also had to double as restaurant staff so long wait when returning to reception to advise of probs with room. Notice in bar area advertised MUSIC in bar that night-turned out to be taped back ground music. The best part of staying here was the food and the guy behind the bar who was very friendly with stories of Ireland and sport-rest of staff to busy to chat.

Room Tip: Can only advise not to stay in room 9
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cushendall
6.7 mi away
Londonderry Arms Hotel
Londonderry Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carnlough
492 reviews
14.8 mi away
Ballygally Castle
Ballygally Castle
#1 of 1 in Ballygally
1,254 reviews
11.1 mi away
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
#2 of 2 in Ballycastle
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
1,682 reviews
18.1 mi away
Galgorm Resort & Spa
Galgorm Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Ballymena
2,767 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cullentra House
Cullentra House
#1 of 10 in Cushendall
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glens Hotel

Property: The Glens Hotel
Address: 6 Coast Road, Cushendall BT44 0RU, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Cushendall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cushendall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Glens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small family-run hotel situated in the Heart of the Glens Of Antrim. We are in an area of outstanding natural beauty and best suited for families, couples and the more mature. Walkers will have the time of their life here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Glens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glens Hotel Cushendall, County Antrim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing