We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Friendly and Welcoming Hotel”
Review of The Glens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Glens Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cushendall
Reviewed 6 September 2013

A lovely hotel who looked after our group of 23 walkers on half board for 7 nights. Spotlessly clean, superb food, comfortable bed, very very helpful and friendly staff. Excellent location for our walking week in the Antrim Hills, shops nearby plus other pubs if needed but not by us as we were perfectly happy with al aspects of the Glens. Good value bottles of wine, free wifi, plenty of visitor information. Very efficient reception - room numbers allocated in advance which made check-in very quick. Canot believe some of the poor posted comments - none applied to us we only have good comments and good memories.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2013

My wife and I stayed hear last bank holiday weekend so decided to go back for this one and had another great time good value good food small rooms but clean and all you need is in them and friendly staff what more can you ask for.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MK500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Would chose alternative rather than stay, smell in our room dirty carpets, spiders and webs in bathroom, shabby furniture like something from the 80. No food available in hotel and just told to find alternative place to eat. Just awful stayed for 1 he then left .

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank kimwilly5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We had stayed in the Hotel back in February as part of a large group staying on a group on deal. We all had a great weekend food was great and really enjoyed it. While there we won a complimentary nights stay with B&B. So we decided to book it for this weekend Saturday night, on arrival we where given our room key very quickly and on asking if we could book an evening meal we where told no as there was a large wedding taking place so basically they had no time for us. We got to our room and it was absolutely terrible bad smell, dirty carpets, stains on the bed sheets, spiders web with spider in the bathroom really was awful like something from the 1980 era. We did complain and where offered another room but declined, and during this conversation where told that they couldn't see what was wrong with the room well all i can say is their standards must be pretty low. Unfortunately after leaving in February suitably impressed we returned home feeling badly let down. Wont be returning anytime soon.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Daniel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

If you like toilets that smell like they haven't been cleaned in weeks and food that's mediocre at best then it's great.

On entering the hotel you're greated by a dismal wonky sign directing you to the bar that makes you realise you're in something akin to Fawlty Towers. It rightly sets the tone for the rest of your visit.

This hotel should be great, given the location, but it falls far short.

You can do much better by travelling on a few extra miles or opting for a guest house or self-catering.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank HighStandardsBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

My partner and I stayed for one night at the beginning of the festival. Very small room at the top of the building, dusty and fusty! The friendly young man who helped carry the bags even introduced our room as 'nothing special'. The bed was extremely uncomfortable also! Breakfast was bog standard fry up. Sought alternative accommodation for 2nd night.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nichathain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I stayed here on valentines day\night ,we had one room and it was clean had shower in it ,food in the evening was lovely and breakfast was very good service was excellent we were above bar not much noise coming from down stairs,I would recommend this hotel if you we're staying in this lovely village of Cushendall .

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Smelly22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cushendall
11.1 mi away
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
#2 of 2 in Ballycastle
690 reviews
6.7 mi away
Londonderry Arms Hotel
Londonderry Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carnlough
549 reviews
14.8 mi away
Ballygally Castle
Ballygally Castle
#1 of 1 in Ballygally
1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
Causeway Hotel
Causeway Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bushmills
806 reviews
18.3 mi away
Tullyglass House Hotel
Tullyglass House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Ballymena
917 reviews
15.9 mi away
The Fullerton Arms
The Fullerton Arms
#1 of 2 in Ballycastle
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glens Hotel

Address: 6 Coast Road, Cushendall BT44 0RU, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Cushendall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cushendall
Price Range: £75 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Glens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small family-run hotel situated in the Heart of the Glens Of Antrim. We are in an area of outstanding natural beauty and best suited for families, couples and the more mature. Walkers will have the time of their life here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Glens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glens Hotel Cushendall, County Antrim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing