We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic value for money weekend”
Review of The Glens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Glens Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cushendall
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic value for money weekend”
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

One of Three couples and we all agree that the staff from Jackie the Manager to the breakfast staff Philomena, all made us feel right at home and looked after us well with warmth and comfort. We booked a meal for the Saturday evening and had large thick steaks to varied tastes, with a broad range of chips, potatoes and veg. You would not of got a better 4 course meal anywhere for any money and this for a price tag of £20 per head. The rooms were clean and tidy and plenty of heat all day long. We will make this an annual event. Well done to the staff, you work so hard at making sure every person has a good experience.............................. From Weekend 28/3/14 guy without the booking documents, sorry Jackie

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Gerard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    35
    21
    24
    33
See reviews for
40
83
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Arrived on St Patrick's day. Not surprisingly the hotel and staff were very busy though that didn't prevent us being greeted warmly and dealt with quickly and efficiently, booking confirmed, room ready, even a helping hand up the stairs with the cases. It's a family run hotel, and they run it very well and very efficiently. It has an ambience, not some plastic pretence. The room was comfortable, clean, everything you'd require in a bedroom, at least I thought it was, maybe some of the hotels detractors were plannng an evening of ballrom dancing or silent meditation in theirs. The food and service couldn't be faulted, and believe me I can find fault anywhere. The natural warmth of the staff towards my wife and myself made my very first trip to Ireland one to carry very good memories of for a long long time.

Room Tip: Just ask when you book if you have any special preferences, they'll be honest with you, they'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank George L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Stayed at this Hotel March 2013 - it was the time of the heavy snow - but the staff were very good at making us feel comfortable. There was karoke in the bar and they made you feel very welcome. We enjoyed our stay - and came back for another one night stay March 2014.
The rooms are small but adequate. The food is amazing and everyone so friendly.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2getawaydeals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

just back from a fantastic valentines and friends anniversary weekend break, firstly a big thank you to the staff, Philomena, Jackie , Nicola and Malachy who made our stay a ball, as it was our friends sparticus ana aphrodites anniversary they were upgraded to the honeymoon suite a very nice gesture on behalf of the hotel, very pleasantly surprised with the hotel as some reviews wernt that complementary but I couldnt find fault with the hotel, rooms a bit on the small side but were very clean and comfortable and decorated to a very good standard and warm and cosy, what do you expect from a small family run hotel in a small seaside village, we stayed 2 nights b&b and a valentines gala dinner with mr&mrs quiz & disco unbelieveable value for money, the breakfasts were to die for and plenty of choice, the valentines 4 course dinner was awesome ive been to some nice and fancy priced restaraunts but ive never had a steak like the one served at the Glens massive thick and juicey cooked to perfection, plus it didnt come with a £5 supplement as you see in many eateries nowdays, our friends also enjoyed thier choices not one complaint , the entertainment afterwards was a good laugh with Sparticus & Aphrodite winning Mr & Mrs and then dancing the night away to the wee small hours thanks to Malachy my mate the Gentoran barman supplying the beverages which wernt that expensive. all in all I would reccomend the Glens Hotel for a couples romantic break or a group of friends away for a weekend bit of craic.
Thanks to Martin and all the staff for making us feel so welcome as nothing was to much trouble we will defo be back. Daddy G

Room Tip: "Ask if the honeymoon suite is available" but our rooms were fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisburn
Level Contributor
122 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

Out for a run round the north coast and stopped at the glens hotel for lunch. The menu was very comprehensive. We had prawn salad and a roast beef dinner. The food was good and the portions were very generous. The waitress was friendly and helpful. This was a good choice.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co Armagh
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We have just returned from a weekend break.It is a small country hotel on the Antrim coast,ideally located for travelling the coast road - to Larne or to the Giants Causeway.The staff were very friendly and obliging, opening doors and carrying bags etc. The food was good honest and cooked good and the portions were huge, The rooms were warm,clean, colour co-ordinated with a large fs tv and the bathroom stocked with toiletries. We really really enjoyed our stay and we will be back soon.

Room Tip: Im sure they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newry
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here 2 nights for New Years Eve and could not fault the treatment we got during our stay. After reading previous negative feedback on this site we were very apprehensive, but any doubts were quickly dispelled. We were greeted at reception by a very helpful Leah, and enjoyed friendly banter during with a gentleman in lounge area, who we later learned was the owner Martin. We were shown to our room by very courteous staff who took our luggage upstairs for us. The bar and lounge area is spotless, and ably served by Malachy, Edel, Leah and colleagues. Gala dinner was superb with generous helpings of everything, served in a pristine function room, complimentary champagne to celebrate 2014 was in abundance. Rooms are basic but clean and comfortable and seem recently decorated. Yes double glazing would greatly improve bedrooms, but overall very pleased especially with food as breakfast was mouthwatering especially those locally sourced sausages.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank NewryVatman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cushendall
6.7 mi away
Londonderry Arms Hotel
Londonderry Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carnlough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
14.8 mi away
Ballygally Castle
Ballygally Castle
#1 of 1 in Ballygally
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,283 reviews
11.1 mi away
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
#2 of 2 in Ballycastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,722 reviews
18.1 mi away
Galgorm Resort & Spa
Galgorm Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Ballymena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,859 reviews
15.9 mi away
The Fullerton Arms
The Fullerton Arms
#1 of 2 in Ballycastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glens Hotel

Property: The Glens Hotel
Address: 6 Coast Road, Cushendall BT44 0RU, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Cushendall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cushendall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Glens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small family-run hotel situated in the Heart of the Glens Of Antrim. We are in an area of outstanding natural beauty and best suited for families, couples and the more mature. Walkers will have the time of their life here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Glens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glens Hotel Cushendall, County Antrim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing