We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a great place to visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Johnny Joes (McCollums)

Johnny Joes (McCollums)
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A family-run traditional Irish pub in centre of Cushendall village in the beautiful Glens of Antrim. A place for traditional music lovers to come and listen or join in. Music includes traditional Irish music, ballads. Guitar lessons are offered and practice sessions are welcome.
Broughshane, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“What a great place to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Was attending a friends sons wedding and after the ceremony we all travelled to "Johnny Joe's" for fresh oysters and guinness. You step into this place and it transports you back in time; little bar, and lots of rooms off it. Once all the food was served and drinks in hand the owner Mrs Blaney was kind enough to show me around. The kitchen had a lovely warm stove blazing for those who were cold.She then showed me what i would call the parlour with a piano where you can enjoy a "session" at the weekend. They have cleverly covered over the backyard and you can sit and enjoy a pint or two. The old Bottling Store has been turned into a very comfortable lounge with the centrepiece being a huge open fire. It's a really relaxed place with friendly owners and staff. A MUST if you are visiting Cushendall. Oh, lest i forget..... the Guinness is relly good.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    7
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
belfast
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Fantastic little pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Love this place

Always meet new folks


Everyone is so friendly

The Guinness and service is as good as the atmosphere

If only more pubs were like this.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ciarán R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
83 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“What a gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

The Guinness is just first class and the little kitchen is a blast from the past. Friendly people and a great atmosphere.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank littlesisterWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“What a super evening :D”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

We started our evening eating in the restaurant upstairs. When we went downstairs we instantly fell in love with how the rooms of the former house had remained in the same style and character. The locals we got chatting to were all super friendly, and great craic. And the live traditional music was just what we were hoping for. Had only I'd known it was going to be as good as that in Cushendall I would have tried to organise the road trip slightly differently; so that we could have stayed more than just the one night. Cannot recommend this place (& this town) highly enough. :)

Checklist: Stairs / lift --> Stairs=Yes; lift=No

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank neevio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Will be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

terrific, atmospheric Irish pub with a lovely landlady. Just a shame there was no Irish music the night we visited but the welcome was great anyway. Definitely marked this one down to go back to when the fiddlers are in!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank jamorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Johnny Joes (McCollums) also viewed

Cushendall, County Antrim
Cushendall, County Antrim
 
County Antrim, Northern Ireland
Ballymena, County Antrim
 

Been to Johnny Joes (McCollums)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing