We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exciting Relaxation”
Review of Ballyeamon Barn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ballyeamon Barn
Shelton, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exciting Relaxation”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Ballyeamon Barn is a wonderful, rustic retreat near Cushendall, NI. And Liz Weir is an exciting, informed, dynamic host. Our family of three had a most memorable 3-day stay. Great meals, beautiful site-seeing and stimulating conversation with the assortment of International Guests who also found their way to Ballyeamon Barn. This is the place for a lifetime experience in the rolling countryside of County Antrim.

Room Tip: We stayed in the upstairs, family apartment. Spacious, private and comfortable for our weary family...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BackRoadsTeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
11
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitehead, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I love staying at Liz's barn. Nowhere will make you feel more welcome and at home than Ballyeamon. Facilities are excellent and the warmth of the hosts, the friendly atmosphere and the sessions on a Sat night make this the perfect place to stay to visit the North Coast.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TGFusion1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Learn more about Ballyeamon Camping Barn in our
Quicktime Movie





Welcome to Ballyeamon Camping Barn.

Liz Weir the owner of the barn is an internationally renowned story teller who enjoys local culture, music and of course the craic and so this barn has many a tale to tell. Liz organises regular Saturday night music and storytelling sessions which provides a perfect opportunity for visitors to meet some of the locals and enjoy a good helping of some of the finest local trad music, poetry and tales.

Where is it?
The Ballyeamon barn is easily found coming from Ballymena:

Take the A43 (signed Cushendall) though the villages of Martinstown and Cargan. Two miles past Cargan, take the left fork for Cushendall. The barn is .5 mi on the left.

and from Cushendall:

Take the B14 signposted for Ballymena (opposite the SPAR supermarket). Keep going for 5 mi/8km and the barn is on the right.

But what of the barn itself?
Its in a remote and incredibly beautiful place at one with nature close to the Glenariff Forest Park and incredible waterfalls. As an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty its perfect for folk wanting to do some walking, cycling or exploring.
You wont be woken up by loud music or drunken folk slamming doors that is for sure, it will be the sound of bird call that you wake to in the morning.

The accommodation although budget is both cosy and clean and there is a very good shared space indoors and out and is suited to all ages.

I think its also a perfect place to bring a group or to arrange a work away day on a budget. After all fancy hotels are 10 a penny where as fresh air and warm welcome are hard to beat!
I really recommend the barn and suggest you give it a try yourself.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1shamrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 26 May 2014

My cousin and I accidentally ended up at Liz's place 2 years ago. We were researching our Weir relatives and thought that accommodation owned provided by a Weir was too good to pass up. Had a great time. Liz was wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I've traveled quite a lot, and nowhere have been able offer the better host than here. Located at the middle of Glenariff Forest Park in Northern Ireland, it is absolutely warmed up by kind and passionate soul of Liz, the hostess, and other customers from all over the world. Liz just know how to connect people and inspire them, how to take care of people with her kindest welcome. Ballyeamon Barn is just perfect for a long stay, 'cause once you've come, you definitely don't want to leave. I strongly recommend you to add here to you trip plan, resting in the forest for a while, feeling the peace and the kindness of people hearts.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quyen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminster, Colorado, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 October 2013

The Barn is a great place to stay, Liz makes sure you are well taken care of for all your needs. The Barn is located in a beautiful area, being close to Glenariff Forest Park and trails to walk around and see the scenery. The sessions that are put on at the barn are well worth your time. I would recommend the Barn to anyone heading to Northern Ireland.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 September 2013

The Ballyeamon Barn is a gorgeous hostel right on the cusp of Glenariff Forest Park and a stone's throw from the Causeway Coast. The owner, Liz, is a storyteller by trade and is an absolute sweetheart - her concern for me was something I have never before found in a hostel, with Liz very kindly transporting me to and from public transport near the Barn. There is a wonderful retreat vibe about the place, with plenty of opportunity for walking, writing, whatever takes your fancy really. An absolutely wonderful retreat into the Northern Ireland countryside that is sure to warm the heart of any backpacker desiring a place to chill out with a small group of friendly people. All facilities wonderful, comfy beds, plenty of towels and blankets, very clean, a 'home away from home' vibe. Definitely recommend you pay Liz a visit - particularly if you have an ear for stories.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderWomanOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cushendall
0.0 mi away
Cullentra House
Cullentra House
#1 of 10 in Cushendall
252 reviews
0.0 mi away
Finn McCool's Giants Causeway Hostel
0.0 mi away
Bushmills Hostel
Bushmills Hostel
#9 of 11 in Bushmills
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Glendale Bed & Breakfast
Glendale Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 10 in Cushendall
79 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Village B&B
The Village B&B
#6 of 10 in Cushendall
122 reviews
0.0 mi away
Portrush Holiday Hostel
Portrush Holiday Hostel
#2 of 7 in Portrush
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballyeamon Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballyeamon Barn

Property: Ballyeamon Barn
Address: 127 Ballyemon Road, Cushendall BT44 0QP, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Cushendall
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Cushendall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ballyeamon Barn is a self-catering hostel which accommodates 14 people in dorms with bunk beds - all bedding provided. We also have a private apartment with bathroom and double bedroom. Full kitchen facilities provided. We are situated in the Irish countryside with good hiking trails all around us - 5miles/8km from the sea and an easy walk to the beautiful waterfalls of Glenariff Forest Park. We hold music and storytelling evenings every Saturday - free of charge and open to guests and local people. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ballyeamon Barn Cushendall, County Antrim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing