We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”
Review of Cullentra House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cullentra House
Ranked #1 of 10 Cushendall B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We had a lovely stay at this B&B, and Olive and James are such a hospitable couple. We arrived in Cushendell late that day and wanted somewhere to eat - when we rang the B&B, they recommended a lovely restaurant (the golf club) and even booked a table, all in the time we were on the phone to them! We had a superb meal - would recommend it to others. Even though we didn't arrive at the B&B until 10pm, Olive still made us coffee and brought a big plate of homemade cakes. Definitely a good place to stay if you're in the area.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newtowncashel, Manager at Cullentra House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to write this wonderful review. We were delighted to be in a position to accommodate you and know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do hope you can recommend us to your friends should they visit this area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (268)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 268 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2012

Nice clean b&b. The halls were a bit echoey which resonates through the door to the room, they have a dog that barks a lot, and the sheep next door can get a little noisy so not the quietest place we stayed on our trip. However, the location does offer a beautiful view and watching the lambs play in the field next door was so much fun! Breakfast was standard. The bed was soft and tall, the room was the smallest we stayed in but not so small we couldn't get around each other. We were not bowled over by hospitality as others have stated, but it could have been an off day as we were only there one night. Wi-fi was adequate for checking emails, but not quite fast enough to stream anything, just go watch the sheep instead!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TessnoLess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newtowncashel, Manager at Cullentra House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2012

I am sorry to hear that you were not bowled over by the hospitality offered at Cullentra House. We make an effort to strike a happy medium allowing the guests to have their own space whilst at the same time offering our Irish hospitality in the form of a welcoming cup of tea/coffee on arrival as well as suggesting places to eat and sites to see around the area.

We also advertise ourselves as Country House accommodation so one would expect to experience country life and this includes the sheep, cows, dogs, etc., which are typical animals one would see as you travel around Ireland. I am once again sorry if this is not what you expected but most people who stay with us enjoy the hospitality on offer and the peace and quiet of the countryside as opposed to the hustle and bustle of the city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Cullentra is a good combination of hospitality and comfortable facilities. We stayed with James and Olive three nights and used it as a centrally located base for exploring the northeast. On our first night of arrival James drove us into Cushendall to an Irish Folk Music festival. It was a great opportunity to view a local event and so accommodating of James who picked us up when we were finished with dinner. Cullentra house is just up the hill from the main road and offers wonderful views and yet access to nearby Cushendall. Wifi access was a little weak from our end room but easy to overlook when balanced with all the pluses.

Room Tip: If wifi is important simply choose a room closer to the entry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nuuanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newtowncashel, Manager at Cullentra House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the location an ideal base for exploring the area. It was also nice to hear that you enjoyed the music festival which no doubt gave you a flavour of the Irish culture and music on offer in this beautiful part of the country.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

We booked this place rather last minute based on the excellent reviews from previous visitors. We certainly weren't disappointed. Olive and the rest of the family couldn't do enough to make us feel welcome and we had a very enjoyable time there. We were on our honey moon and a bottle of wine and congratulations card were waiting for us on arrival which was a nice touch.

Breakfast was fantastic with cereal, cooked Irish breakfast, toast, fruit, yogurt and juice/tea/coffee.

The guest house is a little way out the village which was not a problem as we were kindly given a lift every evening.

When we returned each day, a pot of tea and homemade, delicious fruit cake were ready in minutes for us to enjoy.

I could not recommend this place enough. We have recommended it to all of our friends and family.

Thank you Olive for a lovely stay.
Rebecca and Ed Welch, Newcastle

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bexbooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newtowncashel, Manager at Cullentra House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

Many thanks for your kind words. We were only too happy to accommodate you on your special trip to N. Ireland. I hope you have fond memories of your visit as you begin your married live together and that you will return sometime again in the future. Best wishes to you both for many years of happiness together in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

During our two week trip to Ireland we stayed in 5 B&Bs and 3 self-catering and by far Cullentra House was the most welcoming, cleanest and had an outstanding breakfast. James and Olive, our hosts, cound not have been more hospitable, with our tea and coffee with cookies on arrival to making reservations for us at their local Golf Club for dinner. You can not go wrong with a visit to them. Sincerely, Alabama travelers who know hospitality

Room Tip: If the King room is available it was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newtowncashel, Manager at Cullentra House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

Many thanks for your kind review. Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you experienced the warm Irish hospitality that is part and parcel of a visit to Ireland. Hopefully we can be in a position to welcome you back again sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Stayed 12/52012
Best b&b good value very clean lovely family !
Even over faced me with the top notch breakfast !
Even recorded BGT while we went out to eat James olive and imelda recommended we ate at the golf club close by which turned out to be all six of ours nicest meal we had eaten
Thanks again

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daveclark10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newtowncashel, Manager at Cullentra House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. We hope you enjoyed your stay with us and that you will return again sometime in the near future. Hope you were not too disappointed with the outcome of B.G.T., there is always the opportunity to put yourself forward next year and we will all vote for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

We followed a Lonely Planet recommendation and were overwhelmed. We wanted to stay 2 nights in a twin room. However, for the first night Olive only had a double room but offered a twin room for the second night. The double room was modern in black and white decor, tiled floor, modern bathroom, clean, comfortable bed, but was a bit on the small side. A lovely touch was an after-eight-chocolat on the bed. The second room for the next night was huge, had a double and a single bed, carpeted and furnished in a more standard-English bedroom fashion. Beds were very comfortable to sleep in. Breakfast was delicious - a choice of cooked breakfast and other alternatives. Great.
Olive obviously loves looking after her guests. When we arrived she offered us tea/coffee and cake. In the evening her husband drove is into Cushendall and collected us later again, so that we didn't have to drive. Everybody was very friendly and we felt welcome and well looked after. We didn't want for anything.
Cullentra House lies a bit outside Cushendall and it is sign-posted off the A2 on the way to Cushendun. From the House and the rooms looking out at the front you have a wonderful view down to the sea and to the mountains. Breathtaking.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front of the house have a wonderful view down the hill towards the sea and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juliane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newtowncashel, Manager at Cullentra House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. W e endeavour to make all our guests feel at home during their visit and we offer a warm welcome to everyone that stays at Cullentra House. We always love to meet new people and it was a treat for us that our paths have crossed. We wish you good health and happiness to enjoy your travels for many years ahead and hopefully we can meet again sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cushendall
24.6 mi away
Inn on the Coast
Inn on the Coast
#3 of 8 in Portrush
714 reviews
10.4 mi away
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
#2 of 2 in Ballycastle
704 reviews
15.5 mi away
Ballygally Castle
Ballygally Castle
#1 of 1 in Ballygally
1,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
1,929 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Village B&B
The Village B&B
#6 of 10 in Cushendall
125 reviews
2.6 mi away
Glenn Eireann House B&B
Glenn Eireann House B&B
#4 of 10 in Cushendall
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cullentra House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cullentra House

Address: 16 Cloughs Road, Cushendall BT44 0SP, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Cushendall
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Cushendall
Price Range: £43 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cullentra House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cullentra House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cullentra House Cushendall, County Antrim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing