We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My favorite B&B of the trip!”
Review of Cullentra House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cullentra House
Ranked #1 of 10 Cushendall B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Austin
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“My favorite B&B of the trip!”
Reviewed 28 July 2012

I loved this B&B! Olive met us, showed us to our rooms, and provided hot tea and cake. She was very warm and cheerful. We were interested in seeing the Dark Hedges, so she gave us some tips and also provided a large binder with tourist info. She also had some hints about where to go for a piece of pie/crumble or other treats. The setting of the Cullentra House is charming and peaceful. The living room is open, comfortable, and relaxing. A blazing fire going!
The setting is modern, clean, and well furnished. A cute tray with all the fixings for tea in the rooms. The only B&B to provide a washcloth, which was a welcome, unexpected touch. Big, soft towels! A very comfy bed. A wide array of tourist info, including a couple DVDs on local attractions, and some handy maps. We sat on the big couch and planned out our next day, plugging things into our GPS.
Breakfast was an Ulster Fry and I discovered I like brown sauce!
I really wished we could have stayed longer. We felt so welcome and cared for. Everything we needed was provided. I would recommend and I would come again!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AprilDvonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newtowncashel, Manager at Cullentra House, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with on your travels throughout Ireland. I hope you have fond memories of your visit which you will cherish for years to come. There are many scenic landscapes throughout the Glens of Antrim and Ireland as a whole which we hope you will share with your friends with a view to visiting this beautiful part of the country sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    29
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
55
115
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2012

My husband I and two friends stayed here for 5 days for the Irish Open at Portrush. We were greeted by Olive and Jim with Tea/coffee, homemade cake and biscuits their hospitality was second to none. Olive gave us one of her fruit loaves to take with us to the golf which was really appreciated and also one to take home - thank you Olive. Jim also ferried us to and fro Harry's fish restuarant this was delicious. Rooms were impeccably clean with fresh towels every day. This was our first experience bed and breakfasting and our first time in Ireland and cannot recommend it more highly except for the rain.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poppypower123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newtowncashel, Manager at Cullentra House, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Many thanks for the wonderful comments. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and visit to the Irish Open Championships. We do hope you will pay another visit in the future to take in the scenery and play a few rounds of golf on the many excellent courses in the area especially Royal Portrush.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

My husband and I stayed here for the Irish open in portrush, we stayed for two nights. Olive and James are fantastic hosts. When we arrived we were offered tea/coffee and cakes, our room was beautiful and so comfy.
The service this couple offer is out standing and they are very aware of all your needs, they recommended the golf club in cushendall for dinner and it was amazing they even drove us there and picked us up on both evenings.
I have recommended their lovely home to family and friends.
We have booked our return trip in August for three nights (cant wait)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karenmc08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newtowncashel, Manager at Cullentra House, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
A special thanks for your lovely comments. It was a pleasure to accommodate you and we look forward to welcoming you again sometime in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martinsville, Indiana
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

My husband, son, and I stayed at Cullentra House during our recent trip in Ireland. After a long and rainy drive to Co. Antrim, we were pleasantly surprised with the personal welcome. It was quite late when we arrived, so Mrs McAuley arranged for us to have dinner at the local golf club. Our room was comfortable and clean. Breakfast in the morning was delicious. Our son had gotten in the habit of having hot chocolate with his breakfast, but there was none in the kitchen. Although we protested that it was not necessary, Mrs McAuley actually went to town, bought hot chocolate, and had it steaming on the table in no time. Delightful! If we are fortunate enough to visit Ireland again, we will definitely stay at Bramble Rock.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilybramble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Cullentra House, responded to this review, 30 June 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. It is always nice to note that people appreciate the effort that we make to ensure that all our guests have a memorable stay. It was a pleasure to accommodate you and we do hope you will pass on your experience of staying with us to friends should they visit The Glens of Antrim in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We spent 2 nights here on our trip round Northern Ireland and out of the 6 B and B's we stayed at this was definately the best. 12/10 for effort. The house was refurbished to the highest standard, and the family were lovely people and nothing was too much trouble. We were greeted on both days with tea and cake when we first arrived at the house, fresh fruit was provided in the room and breakfast was excellent. Well done, when we go back to visit the North again we shall definately stay here.

Room Tip: See if you can book the 6 foot bed. That is a great room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daryl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Cullentra House, responded to this review, 30 June 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to write this wonderful review. We were very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we stood out from the crowd in the vast number of B&B's to choose from when visiting Ireland.

We hope your will cherish your fond memories of your visit for many years to come and that perhaps you will return again sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We had a lovely stay at this B&B, and Olive and James are such a hospitable couple. We arrived in Cushendell late that day and wanted somewhere to eat - when we rang the B&B, they recommended a lovely restaurant (the golf club) and even booked a table, all in the time we were on the phone to them! We had a superb meal - would recommend it to others. Even though we didn't arrive at the B&B until 10pm, Olive still made us coffee and brought a big plate of homemade cakes. Definitely a good place to stay if you're in the area.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newtowncashel, Manager at Cullentra House, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to write this wonderful review. We were delighted to be in a position to accommodate you and know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do hope you can recommend us to your friends should they visit this area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Nice clean b&b. The halls were a bit echoey which resonates through the door to the room, they have a dog that barks a lot, and the sheep next door can get a little noisy so not the quietest place we stayed on our trip. However, the location does offer a beautiful view and watching the lambs play in the field next door was so much fun! Breakfast was standard. The bed was soft and tall, the room was the smallest we stayed in but not so small we couldn't get around each other. We were not bowled over by hospitality as others have stated, but it could have been an off day as we were only there one night. Wi-fi was adequate for checking emails, but not quite fast enough to stream anything, just go watch the sheep instead!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TessnoLess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newtowncashel, Manager at Cullentra House, responded to this review, 9 June 2012
I am sorry to hear that you were not bowled over by the hospitality offered at Cullentra House. We make an effort to strike a happy medium allowing the guests to have their own space whilst at the same time offering our Irish hospitality in the form of a welcoming cup of tea/coffee on arrival as well as suggesting places to eat and sites to see around the area.

We also advertise ourselves as Country House accommodation so one would expect to experience country life and this includes the sheep, cows, dogs, etc., which are typical animals one would see as you travel around Ireland. I am once again sorry if this is not what you expected but most people who stay with us enjoy the hospitality on offer and the peace and quiet of the countryside as opposed to the hustle and bustle of the city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cushendall
19.2 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,722 reviews
15.5 mi away
Ballygally Castle
Ballygally Castle
#1 of 1 in Ballygally
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,285 reviews
15.1 mi away
The Fullerton Arms
The Fullerton Arms
#1 of 2 in Ballycastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Riverside Bed and Breakfast
2.6 mi away
Glenn Eireann House B&B
Glenn Eireann House B&B
#4 of 10 in Cushendall
5.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
1.4 mi away
Glendale Bed & Breakfast
Glendale Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 10 in Cushendall
5.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cullentra House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cullentra House

Property: Cullentra House
Address: 16 Cloughs Road, Cushendall BT44 0SP, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Cushendall
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Cushendall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cullentra House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cullentra House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cullentra House Cushendall, County Antrim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing