We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely lovely place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cullentra House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cullentra House
Ranked #1 of 10 Cushendall B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Absolutely lovely place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

Absolutely lovely place! Great view, wonderful location, friendly hosts ! 

We were offered a pot of nice hot tea and home made cakes when we arrived. It was a nice gesture.

We were given a small(ish) but comfortable room….except for the bathroom. This was winter and the bathroom had no heating. It was freezing and the floor was very cold. On warmer days, this would not be a problem. I hope the rest of the bathrooms in the house don’t have this issue.

The electric shower was a bit tricky. It could have been better. Again wouldn’t have been an issue on warmer days. I can only assume this problem was specific to our room and not the entire house. The room we stayed in had a small shower cubicle. If you are over taller/bigger than average people, I think it might be a problem.

Despite that our stay was comfortable. The hosts were kind and helpful, breakfast was just fabulous and the view from the main living room was breathtaking. Ideal place to stay if visiting the Glens, Rathlin Island and may be even the causeway. You can reach all the important sightseeing places in about 30 mins.
 
Would definitely go back again. Just lovely!

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank archana b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newtowncashel, Manager at Cullentra House, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us even if the weather was not pleasant for this time of the year. Snow and freezing temperatures make it difficult to enjoy the beautiful scenery of the Antrim Coast & Glens.

I am sorry to hear that you found the bathroom cold and lacking in heat. A switch was located on the wall in the bedroom to activate the heater in the bathroom. Pity you did not report the difficulty with the heating during your stay as we are always here to make our guests feel at home and be as comfortable as possible.

We do look forward to accommodating you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    28
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
55
110
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

Olive and John certainly know how to make one feel welcome! Everything was perfect, beautiful rooms, bathrooms, grounds and breakfast. Olive gave us ride to the local pub and then came to pick us and deliver us "home". I wish we could have had more than one night at this wonderful B&B.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Emilion
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

Everything was perfect. A warm welcome with tea and homemade scones. A very quiet place ideally located to discover the Antrim glens. Breathtaking views through large windows. A clean, comfortable, spacious and cosy double room. A lovely typical Irish breakfast. Very helpful hosts.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bchroland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarrytown, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

My niece and I recently stayed at this amazing place. Outside, spectacular views of water, fields, and mountains, brought inside by large windows so you can sit by the fire, enjoy tea or coffee on arrival with home baking, and get this, even get a ride into the village for dinner AND A RIDE HOME!

Olive and John do not miss a trick from the details around the room down to the chocolate on the pillows and lovely towels to the steam shower and glorious oversize tub. Breakfast was lovely and would reccommend this space to anyone spending time in Ireland. Wish we could have stayed longer!

All the best to Olive and John. Thank you for making our stay so memorable.

Room Tip: ours had a bathroom outside the room. Don't let that turn you away. It was spectacular and large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karen e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

Olive, you were just so sweet to us! We had such a great time with you, and how sweet of you to take us to the great restaurant! We just had a great visit there, and it made our stay in your area one of our favorites of Ireland! Thanks for being so hospitable to my mom and I! Love it!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynneseagl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

To begin with, Olive and James were angels in our distress. Having booked a week at a B&B 3.3 miles away in Glenariff we arrived there to find they didn't want our custom. At the last minute Cullentra agreed to take us as they had capacity and what a good thing they did. From the moment we arrived, rather frazzled at the reception in Glenariff, they were charm personified. Tea and cakes were provided, as they were throughout the holiday. The rooms (we used two) were spotless and comfortable and the views over the glen and out to sea (Ailsa Craig off the Scottish coast visible if it wasn't raining) were superb. The breakfasts were more than adequate with fruit juice, choice of cereal and then cooked breakfast from boiled eggs to full Irish (which does not include baked beans). As a centre for the Antrim Glens it could not be better sited, and Bushmills, the Giants Causeway, Ballycastle and Rathlin Island are conveniently close. Even trips to Belfast and Londonderry are well within one day's outing. Cushendall has a few restaurants for evening meals. Our thanks to the Macauleys for a very enjoyable stay, and to Brandy for keeping us entertained.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vapu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Byfleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

My husband and I stayed here two nights on a trip round Northern Ireland. Our hosts, Olive and James, were wonderful hosts and could not have been more obliging. Both charming and friendly. Our room was clean and comfortable. Breakfasts were very good. We were given tips on what to visit in the vicinity and where to eat in the evenings. Olive is a good cook and provided us with tea and cake on our arrival. They had several other guests at the same time who all appeared to be happy with their accommodation. The views from the house are wonderful. A lovely spot from which to explore the Glens of Antrim.

Room Tip: From what other customers were saying, it seems that all the rooms were very nice. Ours certainly w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cushendall
19.2 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,630 reviews
15.5 mi away
Ballygally Castle
Ballygally Castle
#1 of 1 in Ballygally
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Glens Hotel
The Glens Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cushendall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Riverside Bed and Breakfast
2.6 mi away
Glenn Eireann House B&B
Glenn Eireann House B&B
#3 of 10 in Cushendall
5.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
1.4 mi away
Glendale Bed & Breakfast
Glendale Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 10 in Cushendall
5.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cullentra House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cullentra House

Property: Cullentra House
Address: 16 Cloughs Road, Cushendall BT44 0SP, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Cushendall
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Cushendall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cullentra House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Cullentra House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cullentra House Cushendall, County Antrim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing