We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My brother and I were given a trip to Ireland by our wives.It was our first trip”
Review of Cullentra House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cullentra House
Ranked #1 of 10 Cushendall B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
“My brother and I were given a trip to Ireland by our wives.It was our first trip”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

My brother and I were given a trip to Ireland by our wives.It was our first time to ireland
and thanks to James and Olive will be not our last. Olive greeted us with tea and pastries
to a warm fireplace .We were given a fantastic breakfast every morning and James even
plotted travel routes for us.Their home is beautiful and immaculate with absolute Irish charm.
The views from the house are breath taking and over the 6 day period in which we stayed,
3 times we came home very late and had no problem getting in.If you want a "Quiet Man"
ambiance with all the modern amenities then the Cullentra House is where you want to stay.
Their home was our home and the people of Cushendall are the heart and soul of Ireland.
We had wonderful dinners at Harry's in town and were invited to a Folk concert with lovely
music, book readings and irish dancing.With the local harbor and village Church were we met James and his daughter at morning mass it was everything and even more than I hoped for.
Let me finish by saying "My Irish eyes are smiling". Biil L

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billlafty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newtowncashel, Manager at Cullentra House, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
A sincere thanks for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit and had time to take in some of the wonderful sites along this famous stretch of the North Antrim Coast.
Apart from scenery I note you had time to sample some if the fine cuisine that the Irish are famous for and that you will bring back family and friends to this most beautiful part of the world.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    30
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
57
118
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed at Cullentra House over the October bank holiday weekend. Views are spectacular from the front of the house, and James and Olive were kind enough to drop us into the village in the evening. It was a bit disappointing though that they didn't offer us a key for the front door then when we returned on Sunday evening we were locked out and had to wait for their son to return to let us in. We did ask on our arrival and were told the front door would be left unlocked. No matter how nice the views are, it's important to be able to get into your room when you return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geraldine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newtowncashel, Manager at Cullentra House, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Many thanks for your review. We are sorry to hear that your stay was not up to your expectations. Due to unforeseen circumstances (mother unwell) we had to lock up our home for a brief period. We did intend to let you know before you left in the morning for your day out but unfortunately you left without letting us know. We did however send you a mobile phone message to let you know about our circumstances and at what time we would return.
I understand when you arrived back early that you contacted us by phone and we made arrangements for our son to return to the house to let you in. He informed us that he was back at the house within 5 minutes so I am very disappointed to hear that this was such an issue considering the extra mile we went to accommodate you at no extra cost.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon, B.C.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

A great B&B just a few minutes drive to Cushendall centre. We stayed 4 nights using the B&B as our headquarters while we did day trips to the sights along the coast of Northern Ireland. We were welcomed with tea and cookies upon arrival. James and Olive were very congenial hosts. We had a wonderful view of the glen from our well appointed bedroom. One could really order what ever they wanted for breakfast and they were delicious and ample. The place to go for dinner is Harry's.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthur7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newtowncashel, Manager at Cullentra House, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Many thanks for your kind words, it is people like you that make our job worthwhile. Hope you can make a return visit sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We received a very warm welcome from Olive and James to their beautiful home in a lovely setting. There was excellent parking, we had a beautiful, clean and comfortable room and stunning views. The tea and home made cakes on arrival and the full Irish breakfast next morning were delicious. Our hosts were extremely helpful - nothing was too much trouble - James even ran us into the village for dinner at a very good restaurant he had recommended and picked us up afterwards and Olive recommended and booked for us our next night's stay on our onward journey. I cannot recommend this establishment too highly. We shall certainly stay there again if we return to the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newtowncashel, Manager at Cullentra House, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
It was a pleasure to have you stay with us during your visit to N. Ireland and we hope you can make a return visit sometime again in the future.
We strive to make all our customers welcome and it is rewarding to hear that in this case we ticked all the boxes in making your visit such a wonderful experience.
Many thanks for your nice comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middleburg, FL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2013

A lovely place to stay with excellent views. Olive made us feel very comfortable and welcome even though we arrived late. The rooms were very nicely decorated and had all we needed. Olive served a delicious breakfast, and offered advice for our visit. I highly recommend as a place to stay when in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newtowncashel, Manager at Cullentra House, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
A very special thanks for the wonderful comments. It is very rewarding to know that our customers are happy with the service provided. We do try our best to make a stay at Cullentra House a pleasant experience. We do hope you can return again sometime in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We Stayed at the Cullentra House for the first time on a weekend break,The scenery was stunning from the house James and olive were perfect hosts and we were very well looked after. The rooms were beautifully decorated and cosy and the breakfast was also very nice .A lovely kind family couldn't ask for better we will definitely be back and would highly recommend anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaz544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newtowncashel, Manager at Cullentra House, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
It was such a pleasure to accommodate you on your recent visit to The Glens of Antrim. We enjoyed our conversations with you, arriving as strangers leaving as friends. Hopefully we can be in a position to accommodate you sometime again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mons, Hainaut, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We were greeted at the front door with tea, biscuits and homemade cake, such a welcome after the very breezy, blustery day at Giant's Causeway. Olive was out, but James took great care of us and said she has trained him well! The room was so cozy and breakfast was to die for. I thanked him for feeding us both breakfast and lunch! He recommended we eat at Upstairs and Joe's for dinner, and I definitely second that recommendation!

Room Tip: Room 4 was great - can't speak for the other rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank labhc8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newtowncashel, Manager at Cullentra House, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
A special thanks for your kind comments. It was a pleasure to accommodate you and we are delighted to hear that the service offered was to your pleasing. Should you pay a return visit to N. Ireland in the future please do not hesitate to contact us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cushendall
19.2 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
1,748 reviews
15.5 mi away
Ballygally Castle
Ballygally Castle
#1 of 1 in Ballygally
1,302 reviews
10.4 mi away
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
#2 of 2 in Ballycastle
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Riverside Bed and Breakfast
2.6 mi away
Glenn Eireann House B&B
Glenn Eireann House B&B
#4 of 10 in Cushendall
96 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sleepy Hollow Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cullentra House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cullentra House

Property: Cullentra House
Address: 16 Cloughs Road, Cushendall BT44 0SP, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Cushendall
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Cushendall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cullentra House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cullentra House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cullentra House Cushendall, County Antrim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing