We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Distinctly average”
Review of Harry's

Harry's
Ranked #3 of 9 Restaurants in Cushendall
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Downstairs was fairly crowded when we arrived - fortunately we'd booked and we were immediately told to go upstairs where we waited for a minute before being shown to our table. Our enjoyment was not enhanced by being seated next to a party with a clearly overtired toddler (perhaps the reason children in some other countries are better behaved in restaurants is due to their siesta).
Unfortunately, my companion's vegetables were not to her liking, being distinctly 'al dente'. The staff offered to replace them but the replacements were exactly the same. They said this was due to them steaming all their veg - however, the chef clearly knows better than the customer what is wanted. The waiting staff clearly wanted to please and so brought some asparagus spears - still 'al dente' but more acceptable.
We were disappointed: Harry's was recommended by previous visitors to our accommodation and we felt it did not live up to its billing.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TimPinBowling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarrysCushendall, Owner at Harry's, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I take all customer feed back and comments seriously.
Unfortunately we have little control of other guests children who visit our restaurant but this is not normally a problem. We would have moved you to a different area in the restaurant if you had informed us?
Regarding your vegetables as I explained at the time we steam all our vegetables and serve them fresh and slightly crunchy as this is most popular. We did our best to replace the dish to your liking without you have to wait. It's a pity when you and your guest were checked that you did not inform us that your were still disappointed as we would have tried to ensure your food was up to the standard you expected?
I hope you will give Harry's another try if you back in the area?


Regards


Paddy Mc Laughlin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (617)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

341 - 345 of 617 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014

Nice surroundings, good choice of food chowder first class, prices good, no hesitation in recommending to fellow travellers

Thank merrymcsherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarrysCushendall, Owner at Harry's, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Thanks for taking the time to write your review. I am delighted you enjoyed your visit to my restaurant.
Hope to see you again if your in the area.


Kind Regards


Paddy Mc Laughlin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

A good restaurant with good food - it certainly does the job. We enjoyed the seafood particularly. It's not particularly atmospheric - more of a pub really. Service was good, but it's a little on the pricey side.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Wyvernian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarrysCushendall, Owner at Harry's, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Thanks for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your visit to my restaurant. I take on board you comment regarding prices but you must remember our price include 20% VAT which we have no control over. We use quality local produce prepared daily. The vat issue is very difficult for all restaurants - every £10 you spend of your hard earned money £2 is going to the government! This is something the industry is trying to change.

I hope you will call again if your back in the area.


Kind Regards


Paddy Mc Laughlin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The menu was great, both of us had something different from the specials board and both of us loved our meal which we felt was quite reasonably priced. Make sure you book in the busy season as we could not get a table on the Friday so booked and went on the Saturday night. Lots of good seafood choices were on the menu as well and the deserts were yummy!

Thank Macca_Maz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarrysCushendall, Owner at Harry's, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Thanks for your review. Delighted you enjoyed your visit to my restaurant and our freshly prepared food. Our daily specials are very popular. Booking is advisable at busy times of the year as we have limited space, but we will always try and accommodate our customers.

Hope you will call again if your in the area.



Kind Regards

Paddy Mc Laughlin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

If you want decent food and a great welcome, then Harry's is the place for you. There is a varied menu, good wine and the service is good, even on a festival night. This is the hub of the town and popular with tourists also.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Ruth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarrysCushendall, Owner at Harry's, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and your kind comments. Delighted you enjoyed your visit to Harry's


Paddy Mc Laughlin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Harry's also viewed

Cushendall, County Antrim
Cushendall, County Antrim
 
Cushendun, County Antrim
Glenariffe, County Antrim
 

Been to Harry's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing