We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm, welcoming, lovely guest house - hidden gem in Portrush”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Shola Coach House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shola Coach House
Ranked #1 of 30 Portrush B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Warm, welcoming, lovely guest house - hidden gem in Portrush”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stayed at Shola Coach House in July (sorry for the overdue review!!).

Sharon and David welcomed us to their beautiful house when we arrived. Almost immediately we joined the other guests (just one other couple) in the living room and were served home-made cakes and teas for afternoon tea!
The house itself is very spacious and nicely decorated. Living room has a few lovely sofas and guests can relax and chill in there. I can imagine it being very cosy and warm in the winter.

David has the important role of cooking hot breakfast every morning (awww) and Sharon would serve us lovely home-made bread, fruits, yogurt and juice. Sharon and David were so nice and friendly it almost felt a little strange for them to make us breakfast! From the dining area you can walk out to a paved courtyard that extends to the garden (unfortunately it was raining when we stayed).

We stayed in Lavender Room. Room is big, with pretty chandelier and needless to say, clean, and with a large en-suite. View from the window was a raised field and sometimes we could spot the (neighbours'?) ponies. We found the in-room information pack Sharon and David put together very useful, perfect if this is your first time visit to N.I / Portrush. Portrush will be another review but I recommend to include Harbour Bistro as one of your dining options - Sharon and David will tell you all about restaurants and places to visit :)

It was our first time in N.I. and we spent long hours out and about - when I go back next time I will definitely spend more time in the house!

Room Tip: Buttercup room has a little balcony, maybe we will try to get that room next time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flyingpeko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon S, Owner at Shola Coach House, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you very much for posting this lovely review, and better late than never! We are really pleased that you enjoyed your first visit to Northern Ireland and that you felt welcome at Shola. It was a pleasure to host you and we look forward to welcoming you in winter where you can relax and stay warm in front of the cosy log fire.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    469
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
343
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
County Antrim, N. Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

We spent a night with friends at Shola, and we all really enjoyed our visit. Having previously read the excellent reviews, I thought this place is too good to be true. But it was everything we expected and more. Sharon and Dave are very open and witty, and are natural hosts, and made us all feel very welcome in their lovely home. The house is full of character, with tasteful modern decor and spotlessly clean. The breakfast was excellent, with tasty local produce and homemade breads. The little extras add to the whole experience....the nicely worded and personal emails prior to arrival, a personal welcome, the homemade fruit cake and chat, giving us a lift to the restaurant, the personal thankyou email after our stay. This B &B is deserving of it's number one status, and we will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon S, Owner at Shola Coach House, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Thank you for posting such a lovely review and we are thrilled that Shola lived up to your expectations. We are already looking forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Spent two lovely nights at the Shola Coach House. Sharon and Dave are great hosts. Our welcome was warm and inviting, and you truly felt you were guests in someone's home (without it feeling overbearing or uncomfortable). The rooms are spacious, and the bathrooms are wonderful (especially after two weeks of every other kind of bathroom imagineable!) They make a great breakfast with many options, and did a great job with one member of my group's special dietary needs. Overall this was our favorite place of the half dozen or so places that we stayed on this trip. Not only would I stay there again, but it's the kind of place that winds up guiding future travel plans. Cheers to Sharon, Dave, and the Shola Coach House!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SactoJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon S, Owner at Shola Coach House, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
We are delighted that you recommend Shola as a great place to stay and we really appreciate you taking the time to post this great review. We would love to see you and your friends back here one day, it was an absolute pleasure to share our home with you all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

We stayed a night at Shola Coach House on our trip to the coast of North Ireland. Everything of Shola was perfect! Sharon and David walmly welcomed us who were the first Japanese visitors there (it is really our great honor!), so we could immediately feel confortable. We were able to relax and enjoyed talking with Sharon, David and other guests. The bed room and bathroom are spacious and beutiful.
Not only booking a dinner for us at Jackman & Pye, Portrush, Sharon but also could taking us there by her car. Thanks to her, we were able to enjoy delicious sea foods, as well as wine and beer!
We hope we will visit Shola some day again. And we are looking forward to seeting Sharon and David at 2020 Tokyo Olympic. We will be the host at that time!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MasakiAbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon S, Owner at Shola Coach House, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Thank you very much for posting this lovely review and we were equally honoured that you chose to stay with us in our home. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back to Shola and Northern Ireland again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

We spent 3 perfect days & nights at Shola Coach House at the end of July and did not want to leave. We had already spent a week on our bikes and a few leisurely days in Scotland before coming to the Portrush area. We could not have asked for a more perfect conclusion to our vacation. We stayed in the serene Buttercup room – the bed and bath were perfect – they have thought of every detail. At the Shola Coach House you are welcomed like guests in a home with friends. The garden, the house, the food – it was all spectacular. We were blessed with warm dry weather and spent our time wandering throughout the town and the surrounding areas each day. We hope to visit again someday in a different season. Sharon and Dave are wonderful hosts with lots of great stories and suggestions. They run a phenomenal B&B and we cannot recommend the Shola Coach House highly enough.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon S, Owner at Shola Coach House, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Thank you very much for posting this lovely review and for recommending Shola. We are delighted that your days and nights here at Shola, and on the North Coast, were perfect, they were for us too and we would love to see you back here anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

We only stayed here a night on our way to Donegal but wish we could have stayed longer. We stayed in the Lavender room which was gorgeous, a fantastic size bed (we love big beds!) and spacious bathroom (with a great shower) which were both so comfortable we didn't want to leave.
The house is in a great location, close enough to town for dining but far enough away to feel like you're in the country side. We had lovely weather for our stay which is always a bonus but reckon this spot would still be lovely in not so great weather as you could curl up in the sitting room with a good book in front of the fire and help yourself to the sweet tray.
Sharon & David were great hosts and we really appreciated the welcome 'tea', particularly the homemade carrot cake, always a favourite of ours. It was great that they took the time to chat and interesting to hear about their adventures before moving into the B&B business.
Breakfast was another treat, homemade museli, fresh baked bread and jam and of course the full Ulster fry to set us up for the day. It's clear that the hosts make a great team and care about their visitors comfort and stomachs :-) during their stay.
All in all a great place and we would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for somewhere to stay in the area. We'll certainly go back if we get the chance.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Batkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon S, Owner at Shola Coach House, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Thank you very much for posting this lovely review of your first time in the North of Ireland. We are delighted that you enjoyed Shola and would love the opportunity to welcome you back to our home again, and for longer next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haworth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

My cycling friend and I arrived at Shola Coach House having cycled 49 miles. We were warmly welcomed by Sharon and David and immediately given tea and lovely home made cake. By prior arrangement our bikes were given under cover accommodation and the powerful shower in the Lilac room eased our aches and pains. Not wishing to cycle any more miles, David very kindly offered to drive us into Portrush for dinner, which we accepted. The following morning we had fresh fruit and a professionally cooked Ulster Breakfast to build us up for our last bit of cycling before we returned to England. As we both have other cycling friends who will I am sure want to cycle, as we did from Belfast on the A2 via Glenarm to Portrush, we will without hesitation, recommend that they stay at Shola Coach House.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon S, Owner at Shola Coach House, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post this review. It was a pleasure to host you and your bicycles and we look forward to welcoming you and your cycling friends back to Shola and the Causeway Coast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portrush
1.7 mi away
Adelphi Portrush
Adelphi Portrush
#1 of 8 in Portrush
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
2.0 mi away
Inn on the Coast
Inn on the Coast
#2 of 8 in Portrush
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
#4 of 8 in Portrush
4.0 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
1.6 mi away
Royal Court Hotel
Royal Court Hotel
#3 of 8 in Portrush
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
4.0 mi away
Bayview Hotel
Bayview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portballintrae
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shola Coach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shola Coach House

Property: Shola Coach House
Address: 110A Gateside Road, Portrush BT56 8NP, Northern Ireland (Formerly Shola Cottage)
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Portrush
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Portrush
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our award winning 5-star B&B (rated 2nd best B&B in the WORLD in the 2015 Travellers' Choice Awards, winner of the best Serviced Accommodation in the Northern Ireland Tourism Awards 2014, and TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence winner in 2015 & 2014) is a beautifully restored home dating back to c.1860. It is set within a secluded and private rural location on the outskirts of Portrush a mile from Royal Portrush Golf Club on the Causeway Coastal Route. The Giant's Causeway, Dunluce Castle, Carrick-a-Rede rope bridge, Old Bushmills Whiskey Distillery and miles of golden sand and surf beaches are all within minutes.The four spacious and elegant luxurious en suite bedrooms decorated in soft, neutral shades with a mix of antique and contemporary furnishings and fabrics are complete with super king-size beds, FREE super-fast WiFi, flat screen HD TV, DVD, hair dryer and tea & coffee making facilities. There is ample free car parking on site for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Shola Coach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shola Coach House Portrush, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing