We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, friendly staff, good value!”
Review of The Port Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Port Hotel
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Portrush
Certificate of Excellence
Randalstown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good location, friendly staff, good value!”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

While the communal areas are a little dated and if you have a room at the top of the stairs be prepared for the hike (no lift!), the room we stayed in had been fairly recently redecorated and the bathroom and room were very clean and comfortable. We had a room with a view to the street and had no issues with noise. Staff were friendly and helpful and the hotel is right in the centre of main street so a great location to walk everywhere in the town. We booked last minute so our options in the middle of summer were limited but had no complaints with the Port Hotel. Not luxury but we didn't pay for luxury!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    79
    33
    15
    32
See reviews for
66
103
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We arrived on a wet Sunday afternoon and were well pleased with our rooms and the welcome we received. We ordered our evening meal from a reasonably priced and varied menu and our food was delicious. The dining room staff were friendly and efficient. The building is old but our rooms were tastefully decorated and our beds were very comfortable. The breakfast menu offered a choice of fruit, fruit juices, cereals and a selection of cooked breakfast. Our waitress was excellent with a really good memory as each of us ordered a different breakfast and she gave each of us exactly what we ordered without having to check. We would have no hesitation in booking this hotel again.

Room Tip: Unsuitable for people with mobility problems as there is no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aileen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craigavon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Spending a weekend with the family and stopped for some lunch after a busy day at the amusements. Kids were starving. 4 adults and 2 children and a baby in total. Arrived and were directed to the back of the room without even a hello so made our way up and were given our menus by a friendly enough girl.

After a few minutes a boy came over to take our order...no smile...no chat...nothing. We ordered our drinks which arrived at our table promptly. The same guy then took our order as we had a baby with us we asked if he could have two sausages and we were told no it comes as a meal (which was £4.95 I think possibly £4.50) as the child is just 1yr old we knew he would not eat a meal - when asked could he not just have the sausages we were told no again very promptly and told we would have to pay for the full meal - we said forget about it we would take off our plates to feed the child - took our menus and placed the order.

The restaurant was not overly busy and maybe only 4 more tables arrived while we were there - we waited 30 mins for our order and our order was even brought to the wrong table before it was brought to ours. The girl apologised which was fine - easy mistake to make to be honest we were not annoyed at that at all - the girl asked could she get us anything else and told us to enjoy - she was very friendly.

The food was average - kids enjoyed their meal - I myself ordered the chicken and ham pie which was chicken, ham in a sauce with a pastry lid on top no bottom to the pie at all - it would definitely not make me go rushing back for.

When finished we asked a girl for the bill - we waited ten minutes and decided she must have forgot - so we went to the till and asked for it - the bar lady asked did we want our bill and presented it to us asked us was everything ok and i did say it was ok - not lovely, not great just ok and that seemed satisfactory to her - meanwhile the girl who we asked for the bill came up beside us and didnt even acknowledge that she didnt bring our bill.

Overall a mediocre experience from somewhere that during the summer months I imagine would be extremely busy however not on this day which makes things worse that a waiter cant even smile or even check if the chef is happy to feed a 1 year old sausages alone.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, MO
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Visited N. Ireland for the first time this June for an amateur golf tournament and stayed 6 nights at the Port Hotel in Portrush. The hotel is centrally located in town and is walking distance from the harbor area where we ate dinner and enjoyed N. Irish hospitality in the pubs each evening after golf. The staff at the hotel were very accommodating and friendly. The room was average sized and was well-maintained although it is an old building with uneven creaky floors and narrow hallways. My room at the front of the hotel was right above the street so there was a lot of ambient noise and the windows needed to stay open for temperature control. Breakfast was served every morning downstairs and was adequate if not sumptuous. The small pub in the hotel is a nice place to relax over a Guiness (or 2) and one night they had an excellent live singer and acoustic guitar player.
Worst part of the stay was due to a fight between a couple staying at the hotel who had a loud, drawn-out shouting match in the middle of the night which was not silenced by the hotel staff. Luckily they were asked to leave the next day so there was no repeat performance.

The hotel is not as modern or luxurious as the Ramada down the street but is also much less expensive. It served its purpose for a meal and a bed for 7 days of links golf in the surrounding area and its central location was very good. Wifi was available only in the lobby and common areas downstairs despite their claim that it is available in the guest rooms.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kctravelguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Londonderry, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Enjoyable stay in this comfortable little hotel on Friday night past. We had room 1, a large comfortable room with a great big double bed and a single too! The room is a little dated but extremely clean with; lovely fluffy towels, good sized bathroom, plenty of wardrobe space and hangers, loads of biscuits and tea and coffee facilities. No real view to talk of but as we were only staying for a brilliant night out in Portrush, it didnt really matter. All staff really friendly and helpful,amazing breakfast in the morning, oh and I forgot to mention brilliant atmosphere at Crazy Davy's karaoke. Thanks Port hotel we had a great night, hope to visit again soon

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ddsmc12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wappingers Falls, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Pros: everyone was very friendly. There's dining right in the hotel. You're situated right in the middle of town. Cons: there's no elevator so you have to lug your luggage up (although we were offered help). The rooms are a bit outdated. There was a neon sign outside of our room which made the drape situation annoying. Wifi was iffy in the room but available at the bar. This strikes me as more of a business or commuter hotel rather than the home style B&Bs that so many people on holiday in Ireland become accustomed. All in all, it was a pretty clean room and a relatively comfy bed. I don't think I'd spend more than a night or two here if only because I prefer the family atmosphere offered in B&Bs.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megsterz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Visited the Port Hotel with my partner and Mum & Dad for a relaxing evening meal.
Great choice of food for a family dinner which proved to be plentiful and well cooked. Two of us had steaks which were properly cooked to order and tender. Two had roast beef which also proved to be cooked to perfection. The Port Hotel provides honest to goodness food at a realistic price that I hope, ensures that it is supported by visitors and locals alike.
A touch more diligence by the staff would result on an excellent rating.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portrush
0.0 mi away
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
#4 of 8 in Portrush
4.0 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
1.2 mi away
Inn on the Coast
Inn on the Coast
#2 of 8 in Portrush
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.0 mi away
Adelphi Portrush
Adelphi Portrush
#1 of 8 in Portrush
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Magherabuoy House Hotel
Magherabuoy House Hotel
#5 of 8 in Portrush
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
1.8 mi away
Royal Court Hotel
Royal Court Hotel
#3 of 8 in Portrush
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Port Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Port Hotel

Property: The Port Hotel
Address: 53/57 Main Street, Portrush BT56 8BN, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Portrush
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Portrush
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Port Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The Port Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Hotel Portrush
The Port Hotel Portrush, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing