We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOG CABINS extremely disapointing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portrush
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hilltop Holiday Park
Dungannon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“LOG CABINS extremely disapointing”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

to say it sleeps 5 people this would need to be reviewed ok just to lay your head (couldnt swing a cat in it), charging £1 to use the shower is reasonable if it had hot water the toilets closing at 11PM is shocking booked too stay two nights stayed one and left the next morning for £90 you just expect alittle more for your money extremely disappointing and too expensive for what is on offer will not be returning

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank cnwd2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    21
    9
    14
    25
See reviews for
66
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Loved our weekend up in one of these caravans. The staff was really friendly and the whole site was kept clean and tidy. The caravan was great there was everything ya needed it them. The decking round it we were able to sit out and watch the air show il definaly be back up to it very soon. It's real value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andrew445040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

We have had a few bad experiences of camp sites that are just too noisy at nights and no security at nights. This camp site was brilliant in that a strict curfew is enforced at eleven o clock, I very much appreciated this as I need my sleep, as do my kids. We had a tent and pitched on a very very windy hill, hence the name hilltop. The wash facilities were small but clean and modern. The play park is basic but the location of the park is convenient to the town and there's a good lidl across the road for lovely fresh breads in the morning. I had heard a few snobby reports about this site being in the middle of a rough housing estate. Ok, u have to drive up the hill past an estate to get into the camp site but this is certainly not the end of the world. Don't listen to these people, you don't even know the estates there once you are on site. Good value for money campsite, quiet at night, good location. Can't complain.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank jane j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I just spent 3 nights on the site in a motorhome and the touring site is very badly designed with uneven pitches and they are very close together. One pitch is even up close to the chemical toilet block but thank goodness we didnt get this. The site is noisy with traffic non stop and even after the gate was closed we discovered people were driving to the toilet block at all hours of the night. On the 2nd night we were in bed and children were banging the motorhome and my neighbour had the same problem. I reported it next day and was told we should have phoned security which we weren't informed about. The toilet and shower block is not big enough for the number of people using it although it was spotless. There were big queues every morning. We have stayed in many other sites in the area which are better so i wouldn't recommend this site if you have a caravan or motorhome. Considering how many people are buying motorhomes now it would be worth spending money on improving the facilities as the site is in a lovely area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank shoeshoppat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Portrush hotels

Greenisland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I've stayed here a few times in my touring caravan and would say this site is pretty average. There are two many static, tourers and tents on the site at any given time and it smacks of ram them in and get as much money as you can. It is simply to over crowded and if you are looking for a quiet time away this is not the place. The touring pitch is in the centre of the park and literally on a hill. Be sure to bring a spirit level and plenty of bricks as you'll need it to level your caravan. The toilet/shower block is clean and tidy but is simply to small to serve the number of people using it. I give up last time and just showered in my own caravan. You also get charged a £1 for the use of a shower. The play park is decent but could do with a makeover. If you are pitched up on the bottom field be sure to tell your kids its a 10 minute walk away. There is a cafe on site now which I haven't tried so can't comment. All in all this site is not my cup of tea and is always a last resort when everything else is booked out.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

This was my second trip here to stay in one of six camping cabins. It was a child free and husband free weekend with the girls, clean cabins with electricity and your own outside table with stone for bbq. 34 in a taxi into town. Clean showers and toilets and great security. No noise at night, super for all types of visitors. Would definately reccommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Somecatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the geodomes/cabins July the weather was beautiful and so was portrush.
Geodomes overall very good bit tricky getting in and out of but the heater was fantastic in them when it got chilly at night.
Cabins overall lovely inside mattress was quite uncomfortable would recommend bringing an air bed to put on top of the mattresses.
I was however disappointed on the Sunday morning when a neighbour came over and said was this my car I said yes and he said some teenagers had been throwing sticks around In the middle of the night and he saw them damage our car we had a big dent pushed in her.
We told reception but they said they weren't responsible of any damage. And never done nothing about it but take my number. Also was abit noisy at night while trying to sleep. Especially when it said quiet time between 11-8am
Toilets also I would recommend even bringing a portaloo. They where so far to walk especially in the night if you needed to go.
Overall I had a great time in portrush always do and wanted to try something new. But I am abit worried at the min if I want to come back especially when my car got damaged. And the distance to the toilet.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Char2177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portrush
1.6 mi away
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
#4 of 8 in Portrush
966 reviews
0.9 mi away
Inn on the Coast
Inn on the Coast
#3 of 8 in Portrush
670 reviews
0.3 mi away
Magherabuoy House Hotel
Magherabuoy House Hotel
#5 of 8 in Portrush
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Port Hotel
The Port Hotel
#7 of 8 in Portrush
266 reviews
1.5 mi away
Adelphi Portrush
Adelphi Portrush
#1 of 8 in Portrush
694 reviews
6.6 mi away
Causeway Hotel
Causeway Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bushmills
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilltop Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilltop Holiday Park

Property: Hilltop Holiday Park
Address: 60 Loguestown Road, Portrush BT56 8PD, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Portrush
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Portrush
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the Hilltop of the coastal town Portrush, Hilltop Holiday Park offers a relaxing break away to the seaside in a family oriented site. It is a 2 minute drive and short walk into the town centre of Portrush and is literally minutes away from the nearest local beach. Hilltop offers Luxury Hire Vans, Camping Cabins, Geo Domes, Touring Pitches and Tent pitches to rent. There is a Coffee Shop on site which serves breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea,dinner and takeaway. There is a children's play park and a complimentary Summer Club for children which is full of fun activities and trips. Hilltop Holiday Park is the ultimate family get-away on the North Coast! Whether it's a relaxing weekend away in a Luxury Caravan or an action packed holiday in a Camping Cabin or Geo Dome, your trip will certainly not disappoint! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hilltop Holiday Park Hotel Portrush
Hilltop Holiday Park Portrush, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing