We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and friendly”
Review of Ashlea Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ashlea Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Comfortable and friendly”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Unfortunately we only spent one night but wished we had more time there. Finding a laundry after weeks travelling meant we wanted to wash plenty of clothes. Drying was an issue but Tom took the excess clothes to dry back at the main house. Coming from the tropics, we weren't very experienced with the heating but again Tom came to the rescue and made sure we were comfortable. Great location, very peaceful but still close to everything. The tip on using the back road to get to the Giant's Causeway was extremely helpfull. If we ever come back this way, we will definitely be staying here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom H, Owner at Ashlea Cottages, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you so much for your review as it describes exactly what we are trying to achieve ie 'comfortable and friendly'
As you rightly say I don't think we pose a threat to any of the local laundry businesses! but between us we managed to get you 'spick and span' for your onward travels
Hope to see you again in the future for a longer stay!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    17
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
80
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We had a girls weekend away for my sisters birthday in Ashlea cottages and it was just perfect!
Cottage has everything you need and was clean and very cosy! Arrival and check out was very easy and Tom couldnt have been more accomodating and helpful. In a great location for town (£6 in taxi) and peace and quiet! We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fay_W50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom H, Owner at Ashlea Cottages, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Hope you really enjoyed your birthday party and it was a real pleasure to have you stay at Ashlea Cottages and treat it with such respect.
Many thanks for a great review and, hopefully see you again - really appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

just returned after a 2 day stay at ashlea cottage wonderful wee place will return this summer hopefully thanks Tom!!excellent location and brilliant for kids! lots of space inside cottages! great family holiday and would recommend to anyone!!! very happy with my stay!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karenwilson62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom H, Owner at Ashlea Cottages, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and many thanks for the fabulous review, you have no idea how much we appreciate it!
We do make every effort to ensure that our guests have a good experience and so it is reassuring to get such a great review and hopefully see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtownabbey, Northern Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Just back from a weekend in ashlea cottages in portrush. Great place with our crowd, cosy we spot and not far from the town. We will be back again definitely. Sports room with pool table, table tennis and stuff, BBQ area aswell and I recommend it to anyone, great spot :)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clarkey1690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom H, Owner at Ashlea Cottages, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Really pleased you enjoyed your stay at Ashlea Cottages and thanks for the great review and for leaving the cottage very tidy - not everyone does!!
Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2014

From start to finish we had a great experience at Ashlee cottages. Tom couldn't have been more helpful from booking to allowing us to put up banners and balloons ! Had beautiful scones and jan awaiting us! Lovely accomodation cozy sitting room and loads of room! Would def recommend only 5 min drive from Portrush! Next time we will bring the dog! Thanks again!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 44taz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom H, Owner at Ashlea Cottages, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
We really appreciate your great review and so glad that we helped your husband's 'very important ' birthday go so well. Hopefully see you for many more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

lovely wee cottage, home from home, close to amenities, far enough from hussle and bussle. Great for young famlies. Only problem was dog hairs! They were on the mat, sofa, bedding, pillows, even some moulded in the frezzer! However it is a pet friendly accomadation, so what can I say. Dog hairs are almost impossible to remove completly.. We didnt complain as the owners were so nice and even let is stay the afternoon after with no extra charge. There were also some dead flys on the window sill. However this review is coming from a person who is slightly obsessed with cleanliness, however there was cleaning materials provided which is good. Its wasnt dirty at all, as I said just the dog hairs. All n all a good place and friendly owners so im happy enough and it didnt ruin my stay.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 71stacys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom H, Owner at Ashlea Cottages, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thanks for a really great review, as you say, we are pet friendly but we do appreciate that not everyone is and so we do make every effort to try to remove dog hair and also to persuade our guests who bring their pets not to allow them up on furniture or beds.
We will continue to try to improve this and thanks for bringing it to our attention.
We greatly appreciate your comments about our service and welcome as it is most important to us that our guests 'feel at home' during their stay.
Hope to have you back with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

Another last minute option, but turned out to be a great base for Causeway coast. Tom was very friendly and explained anout the cottages, where to get the best pint of guinness in northern ireland (Harbour Bar if you're asking - along with the best flame-cooked steak I've had in years) and lots of other useful info. Tom was also very happy to put the heating back on and un-winterise the cottage even though I was just staying for a few nights (with dog). Some renovations are scheduled to modernise cottages that wouldn't go amiss - but very happy overall: a great base for this beautiful area!

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom H, Owner at Ashlea Cottages, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Hi Tim,
Many thanks for the excellent review and as you say you very nearly caught us on the hop with the lead time! Glad we were able to oblige and hope to see you again in the future, maybe for longer next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portrush
1.2 mi away
Inn on the Coast
Inn on the Coast
#2 of 8 in Portrush
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
1.5 mi away
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
#4 of 8 in Portrush
4.0 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
1.5 mi away
Adelphi Portrush
Adelphi Portrush
#1 of 8 in Portrush
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Magherabuoy House Hotel
Magherabuoy House Hotel
#5 of 8 in Portrush
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Port Hotel
The Port Hotel
#7 of 8 in Portrush
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashlea Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashlea Cottages

Property: Ashlea Cottages
Address: 39 Magheraboy Rd, Portrush BT56 8NX, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Portrush
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Portrush
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashlea Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run, NITB 4star excellently appointed holiday cottages overlooking Portrush and central to Causeway Coast area.Free fibre WiFi,Laundry,indoor playroom,Children's play area,trampoline,9-hole putting course and tennis court(equipment provided).2cottages have full wheelchair facilities and we are pet friendly(1 dog/cottage).There is a barbeque area and ample private parking.Ideal for family holidays, enjoying the world class sporting activities available or simply relaxing and enjoying the beautiful scenery. Golfers paradise!With 4 beautiful links courses within 10km radius(Royal Portrush Golf Club(Irish Open 2012)1.5km).Superb surfing on local beaches(1.5km) and excellent sea, coarse or fly fishing nearby.Very scenic walking and cycling tours are available locally.Supermarket approx 300 metres and larger stores in Coleraine(6kms)or Portrush(1.5kms).The Historic city of Londonderry/Derry(City of Culture 2013) is approx 55kms and Belfast City is approx 90kms with excellent Ferry and Airport access.We are situated right in the middle of the wonderful Causeway Coastal Route which meanders around the spectacularly scenic coastline and through small villages from Belfast to Londonderry.The Giants Causeway(8kms) is an iconic landmark where you can marvel at the unique rock formations, immerse yourself in the Myths and Legends of Irish Giants or simply enjoy the scenic experience. Bushmills Distillery(Ireland's oldest licensed distillery)is a'Must visit' along with many other local landmarks eg Carrick a rede rope bridge,Dunluce Castle etc etc.Portrush(1.5kms)and Portstewart(5kms) provide very good(and reasonably priced!)restaurants and entertainment and local taxis are plentiful and reasonable(Portrush £3.50).Public Transport(both train and bus) is available to Coleraine(bus stop 200ms from cottages)and beyond to Belfast and Londonderry.We will happily provide 'welcome packs'if requested and pick-ups from airports or ferry/train terminals can be arranged with prior notice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ashlea Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashlea Cottages Portrush, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing