We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“HMCE” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Portrush Atlantic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Portrush
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
“HMCE”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Arriving in Portrush on a sunny and mild day after a 6 hour drive, was a good start. The welcome at reception was excellent and informative. The well furnished sea facing room was comfortable and easily accessed. Dinner in the restaurant just lacked something although the staff were attentive and pleasant. I don't like having to pay extra for chips with my fish and chips and the fish platter was disappointing both in content and quality. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice from the cold and hot buffets.

Overall the staff were pleasant and welcoming and an asset to the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank GHCMcE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RPortrush, Director of Sales at Portrush Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed our sea facing room and good breakfast. Our staff appreciate your kind comments. We have noted your remarks. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Mary O'Neill Group Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    372
    298
    128
    51
    56
See reviews for
182
416
20
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ballymena, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

The Ramada Hotel, Portrush is comfortable, clean and welcoming. We found the staff to be very pleasant and helpful. The hotel is well placed for walks around Portrush and is only a few miles away from Portstewart, which I find to be a more pleasant resort. There are plenty of beaches nearby both resorts, along with a number of great eating places. Breakfast at The Ramada was excellent. I don't think I have ever eaten an Ulster fry which was so devoid of gease. Delicious.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glynis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RPortrush, Director of Sales at Portrush Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed our excellent breakfast and the walks around Portrush and Portstewart. Our staff appreciate your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Mary O'Neill Group Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

I love this hotel! I have been here numerous times for short breaks with my husband and 3 young kids. The reception staff are helpful, pleasant and friendly. The rooms are comfortable, clean, warm and quiet. The breakfast is vast and the service of the morning waiting team was very attentive especially as we have 3 little ones! Nothing was a problem. The evening food menu offered a great choice and the waiting staff were more than helpful making our mealtimes so much more enjoyable as we didnt feel under pressure having the wee ones; we do pre-book a quieter table which works out really well and the food was fresh, tasty and plentiful! It is in an ideal location on the main street just a short away from the main attractions and excellent beach. Our room views were always of the car park but that wasnt a problem as we didnt specifically request a good view and there is a lovely green area with beautiful views of the ocean just across the road from the front door of the hotel. We cant wait to go back again!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valowry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RPortrush, Director of Sales at Portrush Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your repeat visit to us with your husband and 3 young kids and that you love the hotel. Our staff appreciate your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Mary O'Neill Group Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strabane, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

I stayed in the Ramada last week 31st March 2014, on business for one night. The food was grand, had breakfast , lunch and dinner over the course of my 2 days, (breakfast very good). The staff were all absolutely lovely, from reception, to waiting and bar staff. My only gripe was that when I went to my room, it was absolutely stinking of smoke. I rang reception immediately, and I have to say the receptionist I spoke to was absolutely wonderful. When I went back downstairs, she apologised profusely, and immediately moved me to another room . I was fortunate in that the hotel wasn't fully booked, otherwise I would have been stuck with the aroma of stale tobacco smoke. Portrush is not where I would go for a break, more of the wilds of Donegal type person, but would I recommend it for a budget stay, yes, would be a good base to explore some of the beauty of the north coast, given it's location . So primarily, I have to say, based on my experience of all the staff, the location, and the clean but basic and comfortable rooms I would recommend a stay at Ramada if you're looking for a good value break in and around the north coast.

Room Tip: Try and ask for a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie25111965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RPortrush, Director of Sales at Portrush Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed our very good breakfast. Our staff appreciate your kind comments. We have noted your remarks. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Ramada Portrush.
Mary O'Neill Group Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Went a stayed here recently, it had been recommended to me by a friend and we had seen good reviews on trip advisor. Was seriously disappointed by the stay though and won't be back! Room was okay, horrible view of a car park even though a sea view had been requested. We rang and spoke to reception and they said they weren't able to move us as they were fully booked and could do nothing more for us. The rooms were basic and moderately clean other than a few dirty hairs lying about! There was no parking available, the tv didn't work in the rooms, neither did the windows. The breakfast was nice the next morning and the location was super! So handy to everything, which bad up for some of the other things. When we checked out of our room the girl at reception asked if everything was okay, now I wouldn't be one to complain but we mentioned a few of our issues in a gentle way to the receptionist and all we received in return was a defensive and passive aggressive retort back to us, which really stunned us! Especially when it wasn't meant as a complaint really! But overall it was very disappointing ending to a nice getaway!! Sad to say we won't be back.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nana1608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RPortrush, Director of Sales at Portrush Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for your review. We are sorry you were unable to have a sea view room on your visit to the hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed our super location and nice breakfast. We have noted your other comments.
Mary O'Neill Group Marketing Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killyleagh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed the atmosphere and ambience of the Ramada bar. Great service and very pleasant helpful staff. I would happily visit again and recommend it to others. Prices were reasonable, the furniture was comfortable and the big screen telly was great for catching up on the days news

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank sexgodjimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RPortrush, Director of Sales at Portrush Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed the atmosphere and ambience of our Counties Bar and found the prices reasonable. Our staff appreciate your kind comments.
Mary O'Neill Group Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braunton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

We stayed as a group of 12 golfers from Thursday to Sunday, playing Royal Portrush, Castlerock and Portstewart.

We will certainly be back next year, we were made to feel very welcome. Staff at reception always willing to help with information or directions etc. Our room was big, clean and we had a lovely view of the sea.

If there are booking options with or without breakfast, you must go for the breakfast option, it was awesome!!

Room Tip: Make sure you sample the breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stuartsmith100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RPortrush, Director of Sales at Portrush Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased your group enjoyed their golfing break and our awesome breakfast. Our staff appreciate your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to Ramada Portrush.
Mary O'Neill Group Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portrush
0.0 mi away
Adelphi Portrush
Adelphi Portrush
#1 of 8 in Portrush
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
1.9 mi away
Royal Court Hotel
Royal Court Hotel
#3 of 8 in Portrush
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
1.2 mi away
Inn on the Coast
Inn on the Coast
#2 of 8 in Portrush
4.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Magherabuoy House Hotel
Magherabuoy House Hotel
#5 of 8 in Portrush
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Port Hotel
The Port Hotel
#7 of 8 in Portrush
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portrush Atlantic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portrush Atlantic Hotel

Property: Portrush Atlantic Hotel
Address: 73 Main St, Portrush BT56 8BN, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Portrush
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Portrush
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Portrush Atlantic Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portrush Atlantic Hotel is situated in the centre of town overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. 69 Bedrooms, lift, Free WiFi and in room safe. Ideal venue for golfing, conferences or visiting the Giants Causeway, Bushmills Distillery or Carrick-a-Rede Rope Bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Portrush Atlantic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Portrush Hotel Portrush
Hotel Comfort Portrush
Portrush Ramada
Comfort Hotel Portrush
Portrush Atlantic Hotel Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing